Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
2,358 ratings

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script Module 2: Learn how we store data in our programs Module 3: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 4: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Top reviews

MM

Jul 29, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

AN

Jan 25, 2022

I took up this course as a refresher after a long hiatus, but this would be amazing if I was an absolute beginner too! Kudos to Dr. T and I'm excited to complete the rest of the specialization! 😍😍🤩🤩

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 683 Reviews for Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

By Muhammad M

Jun 8, 2020

Every concept is explained well by Dr.T, His teaching style is fantastic. The course isn't rushed either. I like the fact only basics of c# programming introduced and time isn't wasted on things like arrays, how to call methods etc. The foundation is instilled and that's all that a good course would want.

By SAMIT P B ( i C

Aug 17, 2020

This is a fantastic course for starting game development through Unity and C#. Dr. T's enthusiasm is absolutely motivating and the presentation keeps you going and and retains your motivation throughout. The sequencing is excellent too. Highly recommended to anyone interested in entering this field.

By Essam A

Dec 1, 2020

Thanks a lot Dr.T

Thanks a lot Coursera team

i learned a lot as I'm a beginner in programming , this course encourages me to continue learning game programming , i enjoyed it very much , the smooth way of teaching that Dr.T have simplified every thing , of course there is struggling, but very fun :)

By Yuri K

Nov 3, 2022

I liked this course very much. I recommend the course for those who do not speak English very well, like me, for example. Dr. T teaches very well, explains simply and clearly. Lecture material and practical assignments are excellent. Examples with a Teddy bear are made with ease and pleasure.

By Pongsasin S

Nov 30, 2020

The learner will get 2 valuable programming language skills both C# and unity without prior knowledge require which is great to recommend this course for beginners.

You will get both the idea and the practical approach to solve basic game development programming problems.

Definitely recommend.

By Bryan W

Apr 14, 2022

Even though I had some experience in using Unity prior to this course, I've learnt quite a number things and concepts and most importantly, the importance of reading documentation. Thank you Dr T for being such a wonderful lecturer and I look foward to attending your next course :)

By Zheyuan Y

Feb 19, 2022

Dr. Tim is a wonderful professor. First, he made this course fun. Second, he made this courses into several small pieces of video and each video always end at the right place, so I can learn it without keep focus for a very long time. Third, he shared his personal experience.

By Dennis A

Nov 17, 2020

I'm pretty sure; you either like Dr. T's quirkiness or you don't.

Every step throughout the course contains all the information you'll need,

to complete the given tasks which are 'just enough' out of reach...

to give you a sense of accomplishment after figuring them out.

By Helene P

Jan 24, 2023

I am an experienced programmer (not in C#) but I was struggling with another Game Development course using Unity and C#. This introduction was great. Dr. T explains all the concepts really well and he takes it slow. I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone!

By alejandro m G m

Aug 29, 2018

It was fun and great, I am going to take a short brake from code to finish my creative writing. But immediately after I am coming back to finish this specialization. Thank you so much Dr. T. Thank you so much Coursera for all the opportunities to keep on learning.

By Mehmet E

Jul 11, 2023

This course is a good option for those who don't know about c#, unity, or even programming. I had some experience with java so the course was not too challenging to understand concepts for me but beginners will not die when they learn with this course too.

By Kartik B

Jun 18, 2020

This is an excellent course to get started with gaming. The only negative thing I can say is that it is a little hard for people who have no background in programming, but, if watched carefully, someone with no programming knowledge can also learn a lot.

By Usman A

Sep 7, 2021

very cool course if you ask me! you might wanna watch some brackeys and freecodecamp tutorials on youtube if your stuck and the assignments are really easy if you know what your doing. The black jack assignment was weird... Overall its an okay course

By Alejandro P

Apr 8, 2018

It's a well structured course. Starts really slowly at the start, but then it pushes you to learn more and search up on the web to understand better the libraries. The first course for now has been amazing, i'll be sure to continue it.

By muriduru

Apr 3, 2020

I faced a few problems here and there trying to figure out how to make things work while doing the assignments.. but the course is very well structured so I can't blame it for me not knowing some of the very basic things beforehand.

By Kelsey S

Mar 28, 2019

Excellent professor! I really enjoyed the videos and the reference tools given. There were a lot of headaches, screaming at monitors, and rage quitting... but in the end I learned something to help me further myself in a new path.

By Nicole B

Oct 29, 2020

Professor T is awesome, very friendly, professional and patient. His lessons are informative and his textbook was a good addition to the course. Definitely looking forward to the rest of the courses within this specialization.

By Emilio d J L C

Jun 12, 2020

Really good course. I recommend it a 100%. But the most important (apart from knoledge) is that Dr. T is a really good teacher. He gives the special human touch to each and every class. I really recommend to do this course.

By Scott L C

Mar 7, 2023

This course begins with the basics of C# and of Unity and builds. You won't feel like a master of either at the end but like a first semester course in just about any subject, you'll feel prepared to move forward in both.

By Yevhenii S

May 29, 2020

Cool Unity Introductory Course! Very charismatic teacher! Comfortable feed. Probably requires at least minimal programming knowledge to complete, but it is possible to do it from complete zero! I recommend this course!

By Wojciech G

Jun 7, 2023

Very good introductory course, especially when it comes to C# programming. And a nice instructor as well! However, some topics may be troublesome if you don't have any previous programming/computer science experience.

By Yasser A

Apr 27, 2022

A detailed Explanation of The Basics of Unity 2D & C# that is really helpful for Beginners, would recommend it to anyone who want to start with Video Game Development using Unity Game Engine with no prior Experience.

By Owen Z B

Jul 11, 2022

It was a uphill battle, starting from nothing, but I was ready since we were told of the battles to come. I have learned a lot taking this class. I am considering taking part 2 but not 100% sure. I Would retake it.

By Kim H (

Oct 10, 2022

Ffor me, who learned python, it was beneficial to set up and start understanding the concept of unity and c#. So I will take the next level that the professor uploads in Coursera. Thank you for the information!

By Joseph M

Jun 17, 2023

Great intro to C# and unity games.

Lectures are clearly explained, not too long, and delivered with enthusiasm. Crucially includes considerable amounts of hands on practice with exercises that are auto marked.