Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
28,428 ratings

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Professor Bloom has quite engaging style of teaching and the animations in this course provided nice visual reference.Overall, it's a nice course if you want to learn basic introduction of psychology.

SA

Invalid date

To be honest, it was an overwhelming course for me. It has expanded my eyesight and way of thinking. Hopefully, the acquired knowledge from this course will help me in my personal and practical life.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 6,232 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Pragya

Sep 21, 2021

This is my first among hopefully a series of courses which I intend to take in the coming future....and I am floored. Honestly, I am in love with the subject but this wonderful teacher takes the learning to a whole new dimension. Thanks to the teacher, Mr.Bloom and Coursera for giving us this opportunity to learn. All I can say is that those students are very lucky who actually study in the classroom with this teacher present.

By Shelamay M

Oct 15, 2020

Mr. Bloom, you are amazing! You made me fall in love with Psychology again. I took this course even though I already have a Psychology degree just to get a refresher on what I still remember, and I must say, I learned a lot in these 6 weeks lesson than in my 4 years in college. Not kidding at all! Thank you for putting up the fun and entertaining animations, as well as for thoroughly explaining everything as simple as you can.

By Margarita K

Apr 9, 2019

I profoundly enjoyed the course. Professor Bloom's explanations are clear, examples interesting, and delivery engaging. Over the course of just a few hours of lectures, he offers a great foundation for anyone interested in the field of psychology, gives a comprehensive overview of different areas of research and schools of thought, and points towards some great resources. Thank you for putting together such a wonderful course.

By Amiya B

Jun 29, 2020

As someone who has always wanted to dip a toe into the field of Psychology, this course provides students with interesting information, insightful examples and the regular testing ensures that the learners understand the contents of the course. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and would highly recommend it. From Freud and Skinner to Happiness and "The Good Life", this course builds a strong foundation for all of it's students.

By Noah T

Jun 14, 2023

Great course. Much more engaging than the other "Introduction to Psychology" course I had begun with edX. I wasn't wild about the turn towards evolutionary psychology re: emotions, or the ending on positive psychology (feels like a great way to cheapen so many of the other more interesting takeaways), but there's no doubt that I would recommend this course to someone else pursuing an online course in introductory psychology.

By vandana p

May 23, 2022

Thank you, from bottom of my heart . I have been wanting to study Psychology ( systematically) for last 10 years. With this free online very interesting and informative course, I have started it. It ha sbeen easy on my time schedule. It was great pleasure and I have learned tremendously. Once again , I really appreciate, coursera, Dr Bloom and his team for taking the painstaking efforts to create and offer this course. 🙏

By Stephen C

Apr 3, 2023

I feel that the course content was delivered in an excellent, well organized, and highly engaging manner. I honestly feel that this was the best course that I have ever experienced in my 61 years of existence. I learned so much and I know that I will reference back to the course materials in the future. Thank you for your enthusiasm and for providing learners with such a high standard of well structured course delivery!

By Monic G

Sep 5, 2021

Good mix of lectures and recommended readings. Some of the topics could have been expanded in terms of lecture length, but overall there were very good takeaways from the course: thinking scientifically, falsifiability of data, the philosophical roots of psychology being some of my favorites. I'd recommend this to anyone who's just getting started with the topic and to those who would like a refresher on the fundamentals.

By David S F

Jun 9, 2020

Really interesting! I was surprised that the videos were so amusing and provided such a clear overview of the topics at stake. Though only providing with a glimpse into the world of psychology, this course summarizes all of its basic notions and make students capable of exploring concepts further. Overall, I had great fun taking this course and I feel my knowledge with regards to this research field has increased greatly.

By Oliver L

Nov 28, 2020

Brilliant introduction to most aspects of psychology. I have no background in this space, yet I come away with a basic understanding of how the mind works in every day life. If everyone had this level of knowledge we'd understand ourselves and our biases so much better and ultimately be more compassionate to others. Paul Bloom is very clear to listen to and the readings are an excellent source to deepen understanding.

By Wonderz05 A

Apr 10, 2024

For most people, having a certificate after taking a course could be a great boost for their career and gaining skills. For myself, someone who never went to college, This could be a life altering experience no matter how small. Its a refreshing start, dipping your toe kind of thing. I'd like to think that after what i have accomplished this past few weeks has showed me that there is more and no stopping from here on.

By Shruti C

Jan 6, 2021

It was my first course on Psychology. I belong to machine learning domain, and hearing about the architectures of neural networks and people bring out fancy slides of brain to map them, got me interested in this course. But after going through it, it has opened a new path and direction of learning for me. It made me fascinated, surprisingly now it has nothing to do with why I started with te course. Endings do matter :)

By Priyanka R

Oct 19, 2020

This was my first time using coursera. I really enjoyed taking this course. Professor Bloom did an incredible job explaining or my say introducing Psychology to all of us in most interesting manner. Course helped me to enhance my problem solving, abstract thinking, analytical thinking, critical thinking and reasoning. Moreover Yale University has inspired the minds that inspire the word. Thanks for wonderful experience.

By Arianna M

Aug 3, 2020

It's the perfect way to know a generalized view of Psychology, I loved it! Some day I want to be a Psychologist and this course truly reinforced that feeling, also, it helped me learn a lot more about some topics I have already studied a bit before and I learned so much new stuff, so, I think that for someone who doesn't know much, if they're willing to soak in all the information here given, it's a great introduction.

By Anita C

Jul 23, 2021

I love how professor brings ideas in and try relating everything to our life. It has always been my dream studying abroad for psychology but I never had had a chance to do that before and this is a really special opportunity for me to learn what psychology really is and how things work. I believe this course is a great start for my road to succeed in the field of psychology. I will keep moving on the achieve my goal.

By mark s

May 20, 2020

I absolutely loved this course, and I have gained so much from it - thank you especially to Prof Paul Bloom for making the content so compelling and interesting throughout. I now intent to do the course a second time to really cement what I have learned and also catch what I have probably missed(!). A truly excellent experience all round - thanks in abundance for making such quality learning available to the World!

By Moyeen M

Apr 5, 2023

I took this course to fulfill my curiosity and desire to learn about the study of the human mind, how and why it works the way it does and also why we do the things that we do, and I completed the course achieving exactly that. Professor Bloom was very engaging and i liked listening to him very much, and the video animations were great too. I would recommend it to anyone interested in the study of the human mind.

By gina a i

Feb 13, 2023

really mind blowing! I hold a degree of bachelor of Psychology in 2004 but this course is a real deal. It's has new and refreshing point of view in studying Psychology. Especially the part about false memories. We don't have that 20 years ago. I really like how Yale University giving these many free courses in Psychology. I must say Thank you Yale team, best regards for all your hardwork and team effort.

By Jennifer E

Sep 27, 2022

I thouroughly enjoyed taking Intro to Psychology. I enjoyed the lectures that Professor Bloom taught and I really feel that I'm walking away with a better understanding of Psychology, how the brain works and I plan on incorporating what I've learned so far with this course into my every day life. I look forward to taking more courses on Psychology to better understand the mind and how we think. Thank you so much!!

By Suyash R

Jan 3, 2022

A very informative course on psychology. Well for me, it helped me to get a better understanding of the psychology field, also it helped me understand the very basics of this subject. I really wanted to know more about psychology as per my interests, to know if I can understand this subject well enough or not. overall this course is really good for beginners and one having some interest in this filed of psychology.

By Susan B

Apr 28, 2021

This was a terrific course! The lectures and readings were interesting and engaging. I really liked the professor. Because I enjoyed his lectures so much, I plan to take the other one he teaches as well.

I took this course as a refresher of general psychology, as I have taken it and other psychology courses n the past. It also covered a lot of new research.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who is interested.

By Jen E

Apr 16, 2021

ABSOLUTELY loved this course! Never thought I would ever be interested in this but since my brain injury 5 years ago I have not only become very interested in anything to help me understand my brain but my love for learning has increased 10 fold! Professor Bloom is funny, makes things very interesting and keeps you engaged! I'd love to know if he does any others. I am currently doing the morality course! Amazing!!!

By Lucia O F

May 16, 2020

Me ha encantado este curso, sobre todo gracias al profesor Bloom. Ha conseguido engancharme desde el primer momento y animarme a seguir aprendiendo más del mundo de la Psicología (probablemente estudiando la carrera). Es un curso muy bien estructurado que te dará conocimientos iniciales sobre este campo y te dejará con más ganas de indagar en los temas que personalmente te hayan interesado más. ¡Muchísimas gracias!

By Kiryl F

Mar 26, 2021

As a person who took the course out of curiosity as a pastime, my expectations were more than met. Professor Bloom was an excellent guide through the many facets of psychology, ranging from neuroscience, major thinkers, and therapy to behaviour, emotions, and the science of happiness. There's a lot to reflect on, and the combination of lectures, videos, readings, and quizzes has proven to work great for retention.

By ece d

Sep 2, 2020

I enjoyed every detail of this course. It was like finding oasis in the desert. I recommend it to anyone who has a tiny or big interest on how our mind works. Thank you coursera for introducing me Paul Bloom and this class. It made my day, week-year. It was really awesome experience in this COVID period. I appreicate the knowledge that i been learnt i am looking forward to use and adapt to them. cheers to all. ece