Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by Yale University

4.9
stars
28,459 ratings

About the Course

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Professor Bloom has quite engaging style of teaching and the animations in this course provided nice visual reference.Overall, it's a nice course if you want to learn basic introduction of psychology.

GK

Invalid date

I cannot wait to enrol for my next course !! I feel like a different person, much more enlightened and educated. I cant begin tot hank the designers of this course and our very sweet professor Bloom.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 6,246 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Andrés A V

Jun 22, 2020

El curso es maravilloso, el profesor y su actitud a la hora de hablar hace que sientas que quieres mas.

yo cuando lo inicie he sacado todos mis apuntes a un archivo de Word.

en los examenes, como yo no se ingles me toco traducir cada examen al inicio de cada curso para estar preparado para las preguntas.

lo recomiendo ademas es muy agradable y es muy satisfactorio lo bien que esta hecha las animaciones.

By Allyson D d L

Aug 26, 2023

The course is very very good and interesting. I learnt a lot about all the subareas in the psychology. But I didn't imagine how much the Evolution Theory was used in this field. I really don't believe in such a theory and the teacher used weak arguments to justify its used in Psychology. I was thinking that this area was more serious than that when proposing explanations to explain how brain works.

By XIA W

Sep 17, 2021

This course helps a lot to understand people. Why we are doing certain things, what problem do I have and how to adjust my thought. it is the perfect time to learn the course and I have realized things that I did not pay attention to. I think I need I bit time to digest the content and try to think like a psychologist in the future, so that I will find my happiness in my life. Thank you Professor!

By Faisal R

Feb 25, 2020

Great course from Yale, simply world class and it is great Professor Bloom did not believe much in Freudian theories himself (course a little lengthy and content needs to be reduced to one third for being an 15 hour course perhaps...In depth discussions are good though and provide comprehensive analysis from some scientific perspectives (subject to change with better understanding and developments)

By Kethaka S A

May 26, 2022

This's perfectly stuctured and begiiner friendly course. You'll learn about history , child development , emotions , self and other ppls , happiness etc.. And also professor Bloom is a clever teacher at explaining thing with freindly manner :) , not boring at all with some nice animations and external resources. If you want to put first step to your psych. journey this's the best course to start.

By Claudio G

Jun 18, 2019

It wraps up lot of fascinating topics as Foundations of Psychology, Learning & Memory, Intelligence, Individual and Social Psychology, Personal Traits, Mental Health and Illness, and my favourite: PWB (Psychology of Well Being). I think it's a clear example about the future of learning, with amazing animations during the lectures!

EXCELLENT! Congrats to Coursera Yale team and Prof. Paul Bloom!

By Romy V

Apr 23, 2019

I found the course to be very informative. It was a great way to be introduced to Psychology,especially if you know very little about the subject. I always thought that Psychology was mainly about Mental Illness, but it is way more than that. I enjoyed the fact that the professor was in Avatar form. That and the artistry around it was really cool and helped me to remember detail of the course.

By Dwi T A

Dec 19, 2022

I am very happy and grateful to be able to take this course. Besides learning the basics of psychology, I also got more physical knowledge about psychology through this course.

I think there will always be a psychology lesson I will learn, whether through a course or something.

Thank you Coursera, thank you Yale University, thank you Advisor. Hopefully there are always good things for all of you. ♡

By Shahrukh K A

Jun 3, 2020

I just want to start by talking about professor Bloom, Probably the best teacher of my life. And this course taught me so many new new things, I am having a feeling that I have discovered a universe. Also having a feeling that I should've choosen Psychology as my major instead of Law. Anyways, There is a way to feel happy in every situation, and all is well that ends well, learned from Mr. Bloom.

By Antonietta B

May 4, 2020

I found the course highly stimulating and even though I have always worked more in the field of literature, I found that I was able to follow and understand the course. The Professor made it interesting and fairly easy for me to follow. Extremely satisfied with the whole courese and I will certainly try to read some of the books which the Professor has suggested.

Very best wishes,

Antonietta Barone

By Anjali V

Jul 28, 2020

This course was phenomenal in introducing us to something-about-everything of psychology.The creative animated method of teaching was effective in delivering seemingly complex theories for non-psychs.

Professor Paul Bloom has an amazing cordial energy and wit combined with effective explanation skills.

For me,this course has definitely built a strong foundation in vast discipline like psychology.

By Urvi P

Apr 13, 2020

Very engaging and insightful course. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in exploring various segments in psychology. The best part about the course is how Professor Bloom has used animation which makes even difficult concepts interesting! The external readings and books mentioned in the course are very helpful for providing in depth information about the concepts covered.

By Maximiliano L

Feb 16, 2024

Este curso te enseña lo que muchos pueden pensar y saber acerca de la psicología, pero también muchísimas cosas más, y en su mayoría, que van a ser nuevas para la mayoría de personas sobre esta ciencia que estudia los procesos mentales. Además, el curso para ser una introducción a esta profesión, es más que excelente y ordenado para dar a conocer de una buena vez los bastantes temas que trata.

By Rapunzel L

Feb 24, 2021

I am deeply grateful to Professor Paul Bloom for such a good course. Lectures are funny, informative, humble, and striking a nice balance in coverage. (But personally speaking, the Open Yale Course version for this course is better in terms of interestingness and comprehensiveness, which is hosted by Professor Paul Bloom as well. If you want to review the course, maybe you can try this one.)

By Fomba R

Nov 14, 2020

its fascinated to observe that time waits on no one and all it take just a little dedication this course will help to understand how people brain work, its will also help you to put your self in some else position in order to have they point of view then make them understand what is right from what is wrong . am advising everyone to take this course serious especially if you have a family .

By Rosanna O

Oct 30, 2020

El curso estuvo muy bueno, aprendí muchas cosas, sobre el dearrollo y el comportamineto humano, las diferencias enter los aprendizajes de niños y adultos, el lenguaje, sobre la memoria, la conducta, la influencia de las diferentes grupos sociales en el comportamiento, diferentes teorías sicológicas, el positivismo y las emociones, y también sobre las enfermedades. Realmente lo recomiendo.

By Ionela T

May 19, 2020

This was my first experience taking an online course, and I could not have asked for a better experience.

This course has inspired me to dive even deeper into this areas, and hopefully tie them into my next career steps.

Professor Bloom's lectures are engaging, clear and provide relevant and comprehensible examples that have made the content covered something I don't think I will ever forget!

By Kameryn V

Dec 12, 2023

I've been interested in psychology on the side from my main studies and it has helped me understand not only others, but myself. By learning behavior, mental health, thoughts, and being able to read yourself and others in a better way, this course has helped me think better on a daily basis. The mind is a mysterious thing and this is a deep breakdown of how it works. I enjoyed this course.

By Yanely V

Sep 3, 2021

I started my psychology journey not knowing much about the subject, other than what I saw in film and media. I'm currently in high school as a junior and decided to try this course for my later career. This course has allowed me to learn of what to expect in the psychology field. I'm in AP psychology this year and this course will definetly help with the class. Thank you professor Bloom!

By Christinas W

Feb 2, 2021

This course by far exceeded my expectations! The concept was very good, I really enjoyed the video / presentation style and Professor Bloom is very engaging.

It covers a wide array of topics and gives a great overview of the different aspects of psychology. This was my first psychology class ever and I definitely learned a lot.

If you are still pondering about it - just take the course ;-)

By Florencia T M

Jan 10, 2021

I completed Introduction to Psychology successfully. The videos and readings are excellent. The transcript below the video is very helpful. Concept integration is clear and coherent. Assessment enhances learning. Questions in the quizzes measure not only the what but also the depth of knowledge. The course is user friendly. I achieved my goal in completing this course

Thank you very much.

By Katheryn R R

Jan 10, 2021

Dear Sir,

A warmth greetings!

Thank you for this free course. I do apologize I didn't quite do well in this studies I deserved those grades. I was busy taking good care of my niece during weekdays and and even weekends do some household chores while studying and left open my laptop. It has been also busy this last holidays. Thanks for your considerations. A happy healthy new year to all!

By madelynne h t

Sep 25, 2020

This course was very interesting and my first online experience of being or attending a full classroom of people in front of a university professor even if it was just drawings and animation, it made it feel more engaging and interested me. It was my first time thinking about the mind and learning about what makes people unique like how people with disorders are different from others.

By Isaura V G T

Sep 12, 2020

Wonderful course. I am very happy I found it, thank you Yale University, Professor Bloom and Coursera for this amazing opportunity. I am a First Year Undergraduate Psychology student, and this course has helped me strenghten some concepts and theories. But the best is, it made me confirm I am in the right path and motivated me to engage more with this field of knowledge and expertise.