Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to TensorFlow for Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Deep Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to TensorFlow for Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Deep Learning by DeepLearning.AI

4.7
stars
13,188 ratings
2,796 reviews

About the Course

If you are a software developer who wants to build scalable AI-powered algorithms, you need to understand how to use the tools to build them. This course is part of the upcoming Machine Learning in Tensorflow Specialization and will teach you best practices for using TensorFlow, a popular open-source framework for machine learning. The Machine Learning course and Deep Learning Specialization from Andrew Ng teach the most important and foundational principles of Machine Learning and Deep Learning. This new deeplearning.ai TensorFlow Specialization teaches you how to use TensorFlow to implement those principles so that you can start building and applying scalable models to real-world problems. To develop a deeper understanding of how neural networks work, we recommend that you take the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AS
Mar 8, 2019

Good intro course, but google colab assignments need to be improved. And submitting a jupyter notebook was much more easier, why would I want to login to my google account to be a part of this course?

RD
Aug 13, 2019

Great course to get started with building Convolutional Neural Networks in Keras for building Image Classifiers. This is probably the best way to get beginners into Deep Learning for Computer Vision.

Filter by:

2176 - 2200 of 2,787 Reviews for Introduction to TensorFlow for Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Deep Learning

By ankit k

Apr 21, 2019

good

By Ashok R A

Apr 3, 2019

Good

By Mohamed M

Sep 30, 2020

<3

By keshav b

Jul 12, 2020

<3

By Srijeet C

Mar 30, 2020

N

A

By 林韋銘

Aug 16, 2019

gj

By Ruben M

Aug 27, 2019

I

By Raman M

Aug 3, 2019

i

By Richard H

Sep 13, 2019

Great introduction to using Tensorflow to implement convolutional networks.

I took the Stanford course by Andrew Ng first, so many of the concepts were very familiar - in some cases, the detail was just a little bit shallow - probably to avoid interfering with getting on with implementation - but this course certainly had references outside the course to some more detailed information on topics like how convolutions help identify features or the learning factor.

The jupiter notebooks were great in that you don't need to worry about the environment much - it's already set up - a big worry for me for many of these types of courses. But there were quirks, and a few times I (and some of the other students) could get tripped up for a little while. If you are a developer like I used to be, then troubleshooting and debugging environment/code issues is a small hurdle though.

Kudos to the instructors and those that set up the course - this is otherwise very hard material to teach and set up good "hands on" evaluation, which they did really well, a couple kinks aside.

By César R P

Aug 19, 2020

The course is a great introduction to the use of tensorflow. Keep in mind, this course is a practisioners guide to Deep Learning, so there's not much theory involved, you just get an intuition to how things work. I'd say this is a great start to the specialization, which I feel will probably compliment Andrew Ng's specialization greatly (that one delves into the theory, but the code you make isn't really what one would use in day to day ML projects).

The only thing I didn't like (why I docked a star) where the programming assignments. Too easy, and the autograder barely checks anything. You need to explore thigs by yoursefl and be disciplined, as the programming excercises let you get away with anything. That said, that seems like it only happens in this first course (maybe as a way to encourage people to keep moving forward), and the excercises get better in what I've seen of the next course.

All in all, great course. Mr Moroney is one of the best teachers I've ever see, and communicates his knowledge and pasion with great ease.

By narendra@live.com

Oct 1, 2019

This is a great course with very useful lessons that helps the students feel confident about implementing Deep Learning solutions. It is a perfect follow up for Deep Learning Specialization which lays down the theoretical foundations. The instructor is great, and he talks about real world problems (not just Fashon MNIST but non centered, colored and large images) and explains them very clearly.

There is some amount of lack of attention to details in the course which manifest itself specially in the code (typos, code and code comments not agreeing with each other, and entire lessons which are slotted for 10 minutes or more but dont have any action other than pressing the "mark as complete" button, which makes you feel that you are missing something. Also the discussion board isnt as responsive (especially moderators) as the other Deeplearning.ai courses have been in the past.

By Ilya R

Jul 31, 2020

I like Laurence's teaching style. This isn't the first his course I've taken. It's nice that he has some interesting datasets of his own and some research questions. But I have a couple of suggestions to this course.

First of all tensorflow documentation has a lot (and I mean A LOT) of good tutorials so I'd expect some of them to be included in the course. That what you can expect of Google's developer advocate to do. I really need some help in understanding those tutorials.

The second suggestion - the course is far too basic. That's probably OK but we really need a follow-up course to dig much deeper into tf.data.Datasets, image processing and custom metrics and losses as an example. It's really not enough background to really reproduce results from say AI for medicine courses that you may get from this series.

By John S

Aug 4, 2020

The course does a good job of teaching basic TF functionality. It doesn't go deep into actually how NNs work which I supposed is fine if you already have that knowledge. The exercises are a little finicky when it comes to grading. My biggest hangup is that the time they calculate for each week is extremely over-estimated. Half the modules are "Readings" which they allot "10 minutes" for and most of these are a single paragraph or just a rehashing of what was just said in the previous video. The exercises also shouldn't take anyone near 3 hours to complete. So, keep in mind that each week's material can be completed in probably 30-45 minutes at most...not 6 hours!

By Avinash M

Sep 6, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and programming various CNNs on TensorFlow. However, in certain lectures (especially the ones with the horse/human data sets), the instructor could spend some more time explaining the process of downloading and storing the training and validation images. It took me some effort and quite a lot of Googling to figure out those parts of the code. While that might not be directly related to the task at hand (binary classification) it is, in my opinion, necessary to understand some of these ancillary tasks as well. Perhaps these explanations could be included as optional videos for those who wish to understand these features of TF.

By Kaustubh D

Jul 28, 2019

This is an excellent course to get hands-on. Keeping some tasks as repetitive like those of the callback functions help make the person strongly hands-on and remember them. Just the way, every week's programming assignment involved writing the callback function, if there would be other TF functions/methods that the coder gets to implement and override and other TF abstract classes to extend from, that would have been cherry on top!

Drilling down from the bigger picture of model definition to model.fit seemed extremely useful.

And since there are tons of courses on theory of ML and DL, thank god this one just focusses on coding it out.

By Egor E

Aug 2, 2019

I like structure and content of this introdactory course. And like the easy and clear way Laurence Moroney told about all this stuff. Particulary, I like clear formulated exercises. During course we got great bulk of working examples in jupiter notebookes, containg full lecture, notes, likns to supporting materials!

What I would improve in course it is the change a litle bit a balance from solving problems to technical implementation. We learn a lot of using CNN for image recognition. However, it would be great to listen in more details about calculating the shape for input and outputs for layers.

By Aditya L

Aug 15, 2020

Course in concise and to the point, I was hoping to learn more about TensorFlow than Keras. It is a good course to dive into deep learning without much knowledge in data science. The instructor is motivating and explains the concepts fairly well. I want him to improve the explanation of the parameters (e.g steps_per_epoch vs epochs vs iterations) in Keras as the course is quite applied and making these explanations better will significantly improve the course. I hope to learn more TensorFlow in the next courses in the specialization. The examples were really good and explained the concepts well.

By Renee S R

Jun 24, 2020

Very good material and enjoyed the short videos, sample code, and ease of moving through the materials.

I like how it is broken into 4-weeks and the amount of effort seems appropriate.

I did experience some frustration with the exercise submission process. Seems whenever I clicked on the link to see my submission, more often than not the submission was not stored and I had to rewrite my solution multiple times. In the end, by clicking 'ok' in the submit response box (rather than the link), I had better luck, as it allowed me to return to the notebook and save it.

By Devansh K

Feb 10, 2020

I loved the instructors and the content. For the first time, I found a course that actually taught me the practical aspects of deep learning in a fun and interactive way. The content was very good and the right level of difficulty, i.e. not too difficult but also reasonably challenging. One thing I would change about the course to make it better would be to have longer instructional videos that go over all the code in more detail. I did not completely understand some sections of code and I think this would have changed if there were more code explanations.

By João A J d S

Apr 30, 2019

It's a great course! Very well structured, with an amazing amount of jupyter Notebooks (Colab) to work with, in a real hands on approach.

Just one criticism, which is why I didn't classify it as 5 Star: There isn't much of an evaluation. The tests are a bit easy, and it would be good to have at least one extensive assignment (maybe with other datasets...).

It's just that I feel the contents were really good. But if I can just pass the tests easily, I feel it doesn't really count as much of a "quality stamp" (to have passed this course).

By Jennifer J

Jul 14, 2020

Great course, however it was annoying having to "roll the dice" so to speak to get the answers right. Perhaps if it wasn't left to chance to achieve the right grades, it would of been much quicker and easier to get through. I'd say this is also a course for everyone who's had at least some experience in programming. Understanding some deep learning helps, but you definitely need knowledge of how to code in python. If you can code well in Python and are good with math, then this course would be a breeze for you!

By Pawel B

Apr 14, 2020

Overall the course is nice and provided me with some skills. The main drawback is that the course does not demand large amount of student's input. If you are quite familiar with Python and have some basic ML understanding, I guess you can do it in less than 48 hours (including videos, readings and assessments). The tests can be guessed, the coding exercises are better, but also largely rely on the codes provided during the course. Having in mind this was "introduction", 4 stars.

By José D

Apr 12, 2020

Very quick and simple introduction to Neural Network using Keras's Tensorflow high-level API. Simple understandable introductory examples about how to build a neural network or Convolutional Neural Network in a few lines of code. There's no Math in this course. The downside is you won't understand how it works under the hood, and why it works (or doesn't ;-)). If you want a deeper understanding, you must study "DeepLearning Specialization" and/or "Machine Learning" course.

By Bruce B

Feb 27, 2020

A great starter course. My only suggestions:

In the code completion exercises, a note or two indicating what is expected to be done, would be helpful. You kind-of have to go back and look at the previous problems to guess what is being asked of the student.

A complete slide deck would be very helpful, if only to be able to write notes onto the slides. And it would allow the student to do less scribbling, and more pondering of the problems being discussed.