Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analytics by IBM

4.7
stars
404 ratings
98 reviews

About the Course

This course presents a gentle introduction into the concepts of data analysis, the role of a Data Analyst, and the tools that are used to perform daily functions. You will gain an understanding of the data ecosystem and the fundamentals of data analysis, such as data gathering or data mining. You will then learn the soft skills that are required to effectively communicate your data to stakeholders, and how mastering these skills can give you the option to become a data driven decision maker. This course will help you to differentiate between the roles of a Data Analyst, Data Scientist, and Data Engineer. You will learn the responsibilities of a Data Analyst and exactly what data analysis entails. You will be able to summarize the data ecosystem, such as databases and data warehouses. You will then uncover the major vendors within the data ecosystem and explore the various tools on-premise and in the cloud. Continue this exciting journey and discover Big Data platforms such as Hadoop, Hive, and Spark. By the end of this course you will be able to visualize the daily life of a Data Analyst, understand the different career paths that are available for data analytics, and identify the many resources available for mastering this profession. Throughout this course you will learn the key aspects to data analysis. You will begin to explore the fundamentals of gathering data, and learning how to identify your data sources. You will then learn how to clean, analyze, and share your data with the use of visualizations and dashboard tools. This all comes together in the final project where it will test your knowledge of the course material, explore what it means to be a Data Analyst, and provide a real-world scenario of data analysis. This course does not require any prior data analysis, spreadsheet, or computer science experience. All you need to get started is basic computer literacy, high school level math, and access to a modern web browser such as Chrome or Firefox....

Top reviews

BS
Oct 21, 2020

A great Introductory course by IBM and Coursera to start your career in Data analytics. Learned a lot from this course like what are the skills that are needed in order to become a good data analyst.

MB
Nov 15, 2020

Course is really helped me understand the concept of Data Analytics. The viewer's points explained What, Why, and how Data Analytics. And the final assignment gives an exact idea about Data analysis.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 105 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analytics

By Alexandre

Oct 25, 2020

Great course, highly recommended for beginner in this field. Great structure and information dense. I audited the course and it got me hooked to sign up for the track !

By Samantha C

Nov 10, 2020

A brilliant overview, gave great depth of information that typical intro courses often miss and set a great foundation what what data analytics is and how it is used.

By Carolyn P

Nov 27, 2020

A great overview of Data Analytics that provided enough information for me to know that I wish to continue with the other courses in the IBM certificate program.

By Noor

Nov 3, 2020

Good introductory course. Covers a lot of the software/programming language needed to excel as a Data Analyst. Not too substantive in my opinion.

By Uchanma A I

Nov 19, 2020

Properly structured and well delivered course. This is truly beginner friendly; starts from the basics and builds up to more complex concepts

By Tanuj S

Sep 29, 2020

Excellent content .This course really helped me understand the data analytics field from all perspectives to start my career in this field .

By Hana O

Nov 26, 2020

Excellent course. Teaches you everything you need to know without extra jargon. A great starting course and excellent for time saving

By Anita F

Oct 30, 2020

the course was easy to follow, easily understandable, well-documented. The quiz questions were focusing on the important topics

By Davida B

Nov 27, 2020

A thorough, well constructed introductory course. I liked the peer-graded assignment at the end. Thank you and keep it up!

By Mohammed I

Nov 7, 2020

Detailed, informative for beginners to understand the concept of data analysis before dive in deep into data analyst

By HANS F R B

Nov 27, 2020

The course provides a good overview of the data analysis landscape featuring inputs from actual data analysts.

By Will T

Nov 8, 2020

Good course with relevant learning materials. Thoughtfully presented and with good expert perspectives too.

By Ahmad A

Nov 13, 2020

Gave me a lot of insight and reminded me of so many things I studied in college and forgotten since.

By Tejan J

Oct 28, 2020

Absolutely loved the manner in which things have been explained. Very insightful for a beginner.

By Andrew H

Oct 27, 2020

Fantastic! Loads of information and lots to learn, looking forward to the rest of the courses

By Giuseppe P

Nov 29, 2020

Nice course for getting started with data analysis. It has been clear and well structured.

By Estitxu L E

Nov 20, 2020

Nice and clear introduction to Data Analytics. I have very much enjoyed the course. Thanks

By ADEDAYO K B

Sep 28, 2020

This course was very insightful, it is a very good course to start learning data analytics

By Маричев И С

Oct 13, 2020

An informative introduction to data analytics, the material is presented comprehensibly.

By Faustina A

Oct 2, 2020

Excellent introduction into the complex and fascinating career of a data analyst.

By Joshua B

Nov 15, 2020

Much better than the courses I have taken at university. Concise and efficient.

By Irtija A

Nov 23, 2020

I was a good experience. This course will enable you to know all about data

By Margaret W

Nov 26, 2020

Wonderful course to help you get a feel of what data analytics is about!

By Robert B A

Nov 21, 2020

Great course. Information was presented well and in an interesting way.

By Charles B

Oct 26, 2020

Good introduction/big picture view of what a data analyst is and does.