Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analytics by IBM

4.8
stars
14,953 ratings

About the Course

Ready to start a career in Data Analysis but don’t know where to begin? This course presents you with a gentle introduction to Data Analysis, the role of a Data Analyst, and the tools used in this job. You will learn about the skills and responsibilities of a data analyst and hear from several data experts sharing their tips & advice to start a career. This course will help you to differentiate between the roles of Data Analysts, Data Scientists, and Data Engineers. You will familiarize yourself with the data ecosystem, alongside Databases, Data Warehouses, Data Marts, Data Lakes and Data Pipelines. Continue this exciting journey and discover Big Data platforms such as Hadoop, Hive, and Spark. By the end of this course you’ll be able to understand the fundamentals of the data analysis process including gathering, cleaning, analyzing and sharing data and communicating your insights with the use of visualizations and dashboard tools. This all comes together in the final project where it will test your knowledge of the course material, and provide a real-world scenario of data analysis tasks. This course does not require any prior data analysis, spreadsheet, or computer science experience....

Top reviews

MS

May 3, 2023

A very structured course to give basic and useful insight to the world of data analysis. From zero, one absorbs the possible levels of details and requirements to get into the world of data analysis.

BS

Oct 21, 2020

A great Introductory course by IBM and Coursera to start your career in Data analytics. Learned a lot from this course like what are the skills that are needed in order to become a good data analyst.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 3,126 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analytics

By Veronika S

Apr 6, 2021

This course helped me a lot to understand more what Data analysis is about. I was a complete beginner with no previous knowledge, but now I have the overall understanding of the Data analysis process, which tools and SW are used to perform it, as well as types of Data repositories.

I would like to thank the instructors and Coursera team! Thank you, you are doing great job.

By Joseph J

Nov 17, 2022

This couse is one of the best introduction to data analytics. I like how practical the content is. If you are thinking about becoming a data analyst, I highly recommend you this course. I am now totally convinced that data analytics is my thing. Thank you Coursera, Thank you IBM. On top of that I thank God for the existence of this profession called data analysis.

By Asmita G

Jun 24, 2022

I am not from the field of Science or Engineering. I am from Humanities field and I wanted to learn about the data analysis to learn more about technical communication which I am specializing in. Even for the person like me, who has not spend time much with number for a long time, this course is excellent and desinged in a very simple and esay way.

Thanks!

By natrayan m

Jul 9, 2021

Provided very detailed introduction into data analytics. You can expect someone who has finished this course to be aware of the concepts of data analytics including the ecosystem, high level understanding of the process involved in data analysis, roles and responsibilities of data analysts and career opportunities for data analysts. Good one to start with!

By Shakil A P

Apr 13, 2021

One of the best one. Highly recommended, if you want to know the basic of Data Analysis. Prior to this I had searched on search engine to know what exactly data analysis/analytics is, the information I had received from there was not as handy as the course provided. For a youngster, want to start career in Data Analytics, should definitely try this one.

By John P S

Dec 18, 2020

I am satisfied with the content of this introductory course. It presented in detail the different concepts and terminologies that a Data Analysis professional needs to be aware of in the step by step operations of the field. The thorough contents of the module assured me of the confidence I need in doing the tasks essential for the Data Analysis field.

By Malu F

Sep 25, 2022

El curso da una visión general de cómo llegar a ser un analista de datos y nos proporciona information específica sobre las herramientas necesarias a aprender para iniciar nuestra carrera en el análisis de datos.

Un curso muy concreto en cuanto a conocimientos y con una asginación muy interesante, al finalizar, donde pudimos aplicar todo lo aprendido.

By Giang T T P

Nov 8, 2023

The "Introduction to Data Analytics" course on Coursera is a fantastic starting point for anyone interested in data analysis. The course is well-structured, engaging, and hands-on, allowing you to apply what you learn. Real-world case studies and a supportive learning community make this course a valuable experience for beginners. Highly recommended!

By Yonglei H

Feb 8, 2022

I like the learning content. Before joining this module, I've started yb myself to learn excel and python. However, those are more or less isolated points - I don't have the landscape of Data Analytics process. But in this one I saw it. I also recommend people who are interested in Data Analytics and yet start off - you please start from this module.

By Nghĩa N

Sep 13, 2022

I did gain valuable insights into the data analytic field through this course. It is certainly a worthwhile journey that I am willing to take on. This course gives a complete bird's-eye view of the profession as a data analyst. You will be sure to learn whether you are cut out for this career path after completing "Introduction to Data Analytics".

By YASIR M J

Jul 31, 2022

It's great pleasure for me to complete such an informative and knowledgeable course. I learned very basic and intermediate issues regarding data analysis. All the course material was very well organized and delivered in sequence. I am happy to learn this course. Thanks to all instructors and their support staff for helping me to learn this course.

By Alpesh G

May 25, 2021

This is an introductory course offered by IBM and Coursera to start your career in Data analytics. This course gives an understanding of the career opportunities and future scope of data analytics in all spectrum of industries. The viewpoint section in each module gives a better understanding of what the actual industry expects from data analysts.

By Anav M

Sep 5, 2021

It was a very methodical and well organised course. My only compaint is that the lecture videos, even though short and information - packed, were extremely fast paced. So, I had to keep pausing the videos to turly grasp. However, that could be just me. Overall I am very satisfied with this course so I will be giving it 5 stars as I learnt a lot.

By Jennifer G

May 23, 2024

This is a fantastic introduction to data analytics. It provided a high level overview of the aspects, processes, and needed skills. I love the data analyst interviews that provided a real life perspective of this career. I also appreciated hearing the examples about which programs and tools are used for the different aspects of this role.

By Alex C

Aug 8, 2022

Muy útil como introducción al campo del análisis de datos. Explicación de los conceptos clave, diferenciación entre los distintos roles y especialidades en el análisis de datos y detalles sobre los pasos para el desarrollo profesional en este ámbito.

Además, ejemplos prácticos de las herramientas más utizadas en cada una de las funciones.

By Vicky G

Feb 19, 2021

I highly enjoyed this course! I loved that it included many videos with professionals in this field who frequently gave advice (from personal experience) and whom I found very inspiring. I was amazed that it Data Analytics can be used in all fields and all departments! I'm looking forward to getting started with the rest of these courses.

By Georges L

Oct 20, 2020

Excellent course, I work in IT for a long time with experience in infrastructure, programming and tools and this course helped me connect the dots on data analytics. It presented in a clear way what is Data Analytics, how it is done, what are the careers and the main software and tools used. Very good for those planning a career change.

By ROLANDO P C

Nov 26, 2021

This was very good info to put order in regards what repositories are, what kind of data they can store, what to use according to the use case, all the programs available to process data. In fact, I had an idea before starting the course now I have mental order in regards of what is what and its functions. Very ilustrative and helpful

By Chikezie C U

May 13, 2023

Highly detailed and interesting learning experience. You will learn what data is and its application for telling stories and drawing conclusions about events. You'll see the opportunities in the field of data analytics and how you can become a part of the emerging digital revolution and the tools to help you draw data driven insights.

By Arnold S M

Dec 9, 2020

It lets you understand the significance of Data and how it is used in almost all sectors. It might not always need technical skills but also involves non-technical skills of storytelling and communicating with data. Overall a must study course to anyone who is in touch with data in one form or the other in order to brush their basics.

By Chiara B

Jan 7, 2023

I strongly recommend this course to those who have a null background in data analysis and want to understand the basis of this discipline and the huge opportunities offered. Everything is explained clearly, and many examples are provided. If you want to understand if data analysis is a job for you then this is exactly what you need!

By Angela P H C

Jul 21, 2022

Es un curso muy interesante que permite analizar diferentes campos y herramientas que nos pueden ayudar a mejorar y entender el impacto de los datos la información puede tener en nuestro negocio o desarrollo profesional. Ver de una forma diferente los datos y saber que nos muestran un camino sobre el cual se debe tomar una decisión.

By Olusayo A

Mar 29, 2021

The experience was great!

The highlight of the learning experience is the video as opposed to reading text. I'd leave it on play driving to work. This allows quick access to the opportunity of internalizing the lessons through repetition leaving me with a hunger to get in the door of the world of analytics.

Thank you Coursera team.

By Michelle X

Dec 20, 2020

This course gave a great background of data analytics and the professional landscape. The advice and viewpoints provided by actual data professionals in different industries was also very insightful. Overall, this was a great introductory course to begin the learning journey for aspiring data analysis professionals such as myself.

By MOHAMMAD U

Oct 1, 2023

Just completed the "Introduction to Data Analytics" course as part of the IBM Data Analyst Professional Certificate on Coursera, scoring 98%! 🚀 Highly recommend this course for a solid foundation in data analytics. Engaging content, hands-on practice, and expert instruction make it a top choice. Excited to continue the journey!