Chevron Left
Back to Ready, Set, Future! Introduction to Futures Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ready, Set, Future! Introduction to Futures Thinking by Institute for the Future

4.8
stars
1,010 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to think about the future with more creativity and optimism? Do you want to see what’s coming faster, so you can be better prepared for disruptions and more in control of your future? Do you want to get better at changing what’s possible today – in your company, your industry, your community, and in your own life? This course will introduce you to the practice of futures thinking, as developed and applied for the past 50 years by the Institute for the Future, a Silicon-Valley-based research and learning group founded in 1968. In this course, you’ll build your understanding of what futures thinking is and what you can do with it. You’ll master essential foresight techniques. You’ll meet some professional futurists. And you’ll choose one or more future topics you want to investigate with your new foresight skills. This course is for anyone who wants to spot opportunities for innovation and invention faster. You can gain the skills and confidence to help YOU become someone who makes the future, instead of letting the future happen to you. Many thanks to the Enlight Foundation and the Enlight Collaborative, which provided a grant to support the creation of this course....

Top reviews

TF

May 16, 2020

Excellent overview of foresight studies. Nothing in any of the follow-on courses is technically hard, but I suspect putting it into practice is a bit like the game of Go: the rules are the easy part.

CK

Aug 3, 2020

I really liked how this course was structured with videos, readings, and activities. It has a nice flow, and lots of helpful information. I would highly recommend this for any aspiring futurist.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 359 Reviews for Ready, Set, Future! Introduction to Futures Thinking

By Carlos R

Mar 10, 2021

Thank you very much for giving us this opportunity to learn something more about the future, in other words, knowing how to differentiate it from a prediction.

By Maribel

May 25, 2020

¡Muy interesante! Me parece que pensar en el futuro de esta forma es muy valioso, especialmente ante las grandes incertidumbres que vivimos.

By Kat W

Dec 11, 2020

A really good, well structured and interesting course. Good variation of material, flexibility of working dates and engaging content. Thoroughly enjoyable :)

By Zain I

Apr 19, 2020

This course was excellent. IFTF does a really great job at walking you through the basics and explaining things in ways you can easily understand and apply.

By Tamara E O M

Apr 19, 2021

Good Introductory course for beginners! I would have liked more readings and references, but I suppose that was reserved for the more advanced courses :)))

By Poragjyoti B

Sep 8, 2020

Thank you for creating the insightful course. Surely it will help people like me to a vision of my life and create a future accordingly. Thanks once again.

By Rathmalgodage J U S

Jul 17, 2020

This is an excellent course. Future thinking is a very important concept for everyone. This will help you to change your life and to change the world also.

By Sumaya J A A S

Jun 14, 2020

كانت دورة ممتعة جدا

تعلمت أشياء كثيرة وصطلحات جديدة عن المستقبل وأن المستقبل حسب ما قاله الخبراء يبدأ بعد10 سنوات من الآن

أو قد يبدأ من الغد، شكرا لكم جميعا

By Jorge L O P

Dec 3, 2020

Excellent course and very necessary for any businessman or person who wants to deliberately influence their own future and that of their organization.

By Beatriz W

Aug 31, 2020

Amazing course! Thanks Jane McGonigal and IFTF for the amazing opportunity! One feedback: I would love to exchange in realt-ime with others students

By Erik H

Nov 16, 2021

Great introduction to the Futures Thinking and the specialization of Futures Thinking! I hope to continue along the list of courses for this topic!

By Rafael C B

Sep 20, 2020

Excelente curso para entrar no mundo do foresight, imaginar futuros possíveis e lutar para criar o melhor para o maior número de pessoas possíveis.

By Deleted A

Jan 10, 2021

This is a fantastic introduction to futurist thinking principles, and laid the groundwork for further exploration with solid tools and frameworks.

By Jessa I

Dec 13, 2020

This course taught me the importance of being proactive about the future. We are not mere spectators of the future; we have the power to shape it.

By Petra B

Oct 26, 2020

Very engaging, appreciate very useful visual support to the content shared in the course, and greatly inspirational course reading. Thank you!

By Suren N

Mar 23, 2020

Definitely a course to be undertaken if you are interested in preparing for the future. Jane McGonigal is a fantastic presenter of the course.

By Penny T

Mar 25, 2021

Very interesting topic. Completely new to me - futures thinking and it really has given me a good grasp on how to use this type of thinking.

By Paul S

Nov 23, 2020

Enjoyed the course because it balanced theory with practical tools. I need both to feel confident. Looking forward to the next in the series.

By Thomas C

Jul 11, 2020

This is a very interesting and insightful course which is very well facilitated. The practical assignments are useful and thought provoking.

By Fernando Y

Dec 20, 2019

Excellent instructor, outstanding content, and super relevant subject manner. I am very thankful I found this course. This is phenomenal.

By PLT G L L

Mar 7, 2021

Thank you so much for offering this kind of course. It really help us a lot not only how to plan our future but plan strive for the best.

By Arthur A

Dec 26, 2021

Helpful in setting up yourself for Futures Thinking, does not demand any technical concept. It is useful for everyone and to anyone.

By Allan C

Feb 11, 2021

How i wish i learned very much earlier about this course, it gives new persfective on how I understand what is happening around us...

By Alfredo A E A

Feb 25, 2021

Good course, is very important to learn about how to think about future, this course gave me a good introduction to Future Thinking.

By Kevin L K L

Oct 20, 2020

I like how the course is well planned and with ample explanation. Besides, it gives a chance for us to explore what our peer think.