Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Product Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Product Management by University of Alberta

4.6
stars
6,320 ratings
1,183 reviews

About the Course

This course highlights the importance and role of software product management. It also provides an overview of the specialization, as well as its goals, structure, and expectations. The course explains the value of process, requirements, planning, and monitoring in producing better software....

Top reviews

NK
Jan 10, 2019

The course was very interactive, useful and interesting. I can definitely apply the knowledge that I gained out of this course to my day on day work on Software Management. Kudos to the production and

ED
Feb 18, 2018

Though it is an introductory course, it is packed with great information about managing a software product. I enjoyed the course, and I am moving on with the next course on the SPM specialization.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,157 Reviews for Introduction to Software Product Management

By Scott K

Oct 26, 2015

Very theoretical course. If you don't know much about software management, this course might have some good info, but covers things you probably know if you have been involved in any software management.

By Rahul N

Sep 20, 2016

This course is very theory heavy. Not sure how memorizing concepts from the Agile manifesto will help in becoming a better product manager. I hope further courses are more application oriented.

By ΒΑΣΙΛΕΙΟΣ Η

Dec 25, 2020

I would prefer both weeks 1 & 2 be introductive.

And agile manifesto broke into 2 weeks in another part (Iwould like more examples of it as it seems to be the hole theory of this profession)

By Steven S

Oct 23, 2015

Seemed like more of two week advertisement of the specialization and Agile, rather than a course. Some good information in the video lectures, but very heavy handed on the delivery.

By Alexander P

Dec 12, 2018

A very basic entry level course for people without any background in Product Management, in my opinion should be integrated within follow up courses and not be a standalone course.

By Omar F

Jan 5, 2016

This is good content, but way too broad and general to be considered a proper introduction. The course was too easy for my taste to be considered worthy of a certification.

By Janneke S

Dec 19, 2016

Good intro course on software product management. The interviews with software product managers were interesting, as well as the supplemental materials (TEDtalks, reads).

By Gabriella H

Jan 10, 2020

Not suitable as a course on it's own - definitely more of an introduction to a more detailed course.

Supplementary resources need to be updated as not all links work.

By Lindsay R

Dec 30, 2018

I appreciate the material covered but would have preferred being able to opt out with an alternative "Agile refresher" for people coming from a software background.

By Larisa R

Jan 19, 2019

Questions in quizzes sometimes are not difficult, but confusing (wording itself). So even knowing the correct answer might not help to read the question properly.

By Semeon P

Oct 13, 2015

The course is helpful for covering many aspects of project and product management, still it seems to be to basic which put in question whole specialization.

By Washington d A S F

Jul 2, 2017

Um curso completamente teórico. Pra pessoas que gostam de práticas é um curso "chato". Apesar disso, passa com clareza os fundamentos do assunto abordado.

By Maria F

Sep 22, 2020

Great for complete beginners to understand what is Software Product Management is about. I'd prefer more additional resources and real cases though.

By Vivian N H

Feb 3, 2020

The course could be more direct in passing the information. I liked the extra material provided such as ted talks and links to published articles.

By Nikita R

Jan 9, 2018

Course should be named as Introduction to Software Project Management, not Product Management. Authors and lectors actually mix this concepts.

By Andrei G

Jun 26, 2016

Decent introduction course.

Without the rest it is useless in my opinion.

So only take in case you want to follow the entire learning path.

By Trinh L

Dec 27, 2015

The course was ok, just an introduction for the specialization. I'm looking forward to learn more in next courses in this specialization.

By Travis P

Dec 2, 2015

The information is good, but basic. Even at the reduced price, it seems pricey and this information could be rolled into another course.

By Francisco C

Jun 10, 2017

It is good to get a nice introduction, but it feels like it could have gone a little deeper, since by itself it has very little value.

By Brad H

Apr 29, 2018

It's a bit high level, with not too much actual content. If you've spent any time around software, you can probably skip this course.

By Yuliia K

Oct 13, 2017

Extremely easy course with just introductory information. It may be very helpful but only on the very beginning of the BA carrier

By J. S

May 21, 2016

Useful overview for the specialization....not sure it's the best overview of software product management outside of that context.

By AB

Oct 9, 2020

Not a great course by any means but useful if you’re just starting in this field and want to get a hang of the terminology.

By Walter S

Jun 6, 2017

Good introduction but unnecessarily tricky on some quiz questions with English, not the course content. Re-read everything

By Amit R

Nov 20, 2017

There def can be more value added to this course, more real world examples (high quality cutting edge examples)