Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Product Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Product Management by University of Alberta

4.6
stars
6,634 ratings
1,238 reviews

About the Course

This course highlights the importance and role of software product management. It also provides an overview of the specialization, as well as its goals, structure, and expectations. The course explains the value of process, requirements, planning, and monitoring in producing better software....

Top reviews

NK
Jan 10, 2019

The course was very interactive, useful and interesting. I can definitely apply the knowledge that I gained out of this course to my day on day work on Software Management. Kudos to the production and

ED
Feb 18, 2018

Though it is an introductory course, it is packed with great information about managing a software product. I enjoyed the course, and I am moving on with the next course on the SPM specialization.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,220 Reviews for Introduction to Software Product Management

By LEOPOLDO S

Aug 28, 2018

Very clear in

By Dan S

Mar 19, 2016

Good overview

By Mochammad A M

Apr 22, 2020

nice deliver

By Maulik P

Jan 22, 2020

GOOD COURSE.

By Ovidio S M P

Nov 16, 2020

Good course

By Anup K P

Oct 1, 2020

Good Course

By Sumit G

Mar 9, 2017

Good start!

By Luchko A

Mar 15, 2016

good course

By mukund k

Oct 16, 2015

Good course

By Derek Y

Dec 9, 2015

very clear

By Afriyie S

Feb 23, 2016

Very Good

By Thành N K

Sep 15, 2019

useful

By Akash K S

Sep 30, 2020

Good

By Syed M O S

Jul 22, 2020

nice

By Narendra P M

Jun 7, 2020

Nice

By Arun P S

Jun 6, 2020

good

By Muhammad S A

Oct 2, 2020

ok

By Darren D

Feb 26, 2016

G

By Vikas G

Jan 31, 2016

I

By Freek d B

Dec 22, 2018

It's challenging to teach and learn product management through an online course. You can get an overview of the important topics and learn the theory, but this doesn't enable discussion, exchanging experiences, and forming balanced opinions. A product management does a lot of her/his work by talking (to many different people involved), which is very difficult to train online (it could be done with role playing assignments supported by video conferencing, but I think learning from experienced colleagues in practice is a much better way). The quizzes are often a good way to rehearse the topics that have been explained, but sometimes feel like an extremely simplified black-white view on very nuanced issues.

The best parts of the Software Product Management courses for me were the larger assignments you make that are reviewed by fellow students (getting feedback is very useful and it's also instructive to see what approach your peers took) and the interviews with experienced product managers which offer valuable insights in the complicated situations product managers often have to deal with.

I recommend this course to anyone that is new to software product management and quite new to software development. The course can be a good first step on your path to becoming a product manager, as long as you realize that you will also need a lot of skills that an online course cannot teach you.

By Jimena C

Feb 10, 2018

I really like the themes, but for me, the videos go so fast, and there is not a value added to see the teachers talk, I would prefer to see slides with the content that they are explaining.

Also, in the exams, when I have a wrong answer, I like how it shows why is not right my answer, but also I want to see what is the correct answer.

The discussion forums, have entries so old. And here I would like to have Questions and Answers about each week, or each module ( So we can go in each group to see if somebody else has the same questions).

Thank you!

By ckt0922

Mar 25, 2016

This course provides general introduction to software product management which can help students to pick up founding concepts of a number of how a product management cycle looks like as well as the spirit of agile practices.

As an introductory course, the material do not cover practical tools or details on how the actual product management should carry on. Expect the students should take the full specialization to advance the skills and knowledge to take the knowledge into a practical level.

By Denis B

Apr 9, 2016

Nice introduction, although I don't see any reason to call this "a course", if it's less than 2 hours total (at least it felt that way) while we have to listen to an intro every 5 minutes of it.

Would've rated it 2 stars based on the content, but the level of presentation was really good and I appreciate the effort.

By Paloma J

Apr 21, 2020

I thought the course to be a bit in the superficial side, it could have gone deeper on the subject. Also, too much time was spent in outlining its content. But I do appreciate the complementary resources, especially the TED videos as they help make the course more dynamic.

By Ivo V D R

Dec 6, 2015

Aunque está muy bien producido, creo que lo han alargado innecesariamente; al fin y al cabo, es una introducción, y podría haberse resumido en un video o dos, dejando todo el material que dan (bien poco) repartido entre el resto de cursos de la especialización.