Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Product Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Product Management by University of Alberta

4.6
stars
7,030 ratings
1,308 reviews

About the Course

This course highlights the importance and role of software product management. It also provides an overview of the specialization, as well as its goals, structure, and expectations. The course explains the value of process, requirements, planning, and monitoring in producing better software....

Top reviews

NK

Jan 10, 2019

The course was very interactive, useful and interesting. I can definitely apply the knowledge that I gained out of this course to my day on day work on Software Management. Kudos to the production and

ED

Feb 18, 2018

Though it is an introductory course, it is packed with great information about managing a software product. I enjoyed the course, and I am moving on with the next course on the SPM specialization.

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,293 Reviews for Introduction to Software Product Management

By Joseph S J

Jul 26, 2022

I​ am still in the first part of the 6 part course. I find the references materials is almost a decade old. I am sure, there are new age process and methodologies which have evolved.

By Lei L

Nov 4, 2015

Dry principles without real life examples and exercises. You can passed the quiz by just reading online or have basic project management experience. Disappointed.

By Erick S

Mar 21, 2016

A little disappointed in this course, it would have been better suited for the first part to a larger course other than a week long introduction to th subject.

By Hung

Oct 22, 2017

Informative, but I kind of knew a lot of the material. Was hoping to learn something concrete and useful. I'm hoping the next courses will be informative.

By Dimitrios M

Nov 2, 2020

Too basic even for someone coming from a biology background into programming. It looks like it is targeted for students finishing high school.

By Mathias D

Nov 5, 2019

Very, very basic... more like fishing for customers to apply for the other courses. Yet, still quite the motivated and enthusiastic team.

By Микола Г

Sep 20, 2021

Basically it'a like an advertising for the future courses which will give you deeper information

By Kate B

Jul 22, 2018

Extremely basic. Spent more time introducing the tutors than telling us much about the topic.

By Brian D

Nov 2, 2015

Defiantly the worse MOOC I have taken. Does the specialisation need such a long introduction?

By Dmitry S

May 5, 2020

An extra long introduction and a lot of sales pitch. Quite a limited value for beginners.

By Kirthikka

Sep 12, 2020

Requesting to have in-depth of Agile working process with real time examples

By Amit O

Jan 12, 2022

The materials are old and are not updated. A lot of the link do not work.

By Hameed A

Dec 11, 2016

The quizzes are about the course structure and not product management.

By Igor A

Feb 17, 2016

Not really about Product Management, but about Project Management

By Vaibhav R

Nov 1, 2015

The Course could have been covered in a more interesting way

By MITESH

Nov 7, 2015

Small introduction. I was expecting some thing concrete.

By Peter A

Dec 9, 2020

Informative but not monitored or up to date

By Oleg K

Feb 8, 2018

Low on content. Lacks of specific actions

By BAI X

Aug 24, 2019

Too general without any specific skills

By Mostafa I

Sep 12, 2017

need more examples to be more specific

By Olga G

Aug 9, 2020

Could be more concise.

By Apurva P

Jul 18, 2017

can be better

By durga k

Mar 11, 2018

Fair course

By Roy V

Jan 6, 2016

This is a very old fashion way of looking at development and developers. Where developers are considered resources and minions that need to follow orders. Modern development techniques value developers and allow them to be much more active players. Product Manager is not a MANAGER but a facilitator. This course describes the view that developers are loose canons that need to be managed and that upfront planning and estimation are the right path. I do not agree at all with this view.

Should you happen to agree with this view, the Course is well explained and presented well.

By Suresh S

Oct 22, 2015

Difference between a Software Project and a Software Product - of course it is defined by convention, but it is there and is pretty generally understood. Typical software projects are bespoke applications developed for the use of one organization and typically automates a business process. A S/w product, on the other hand, is built and sold to a range of users in the target group, who can be individuals to large organizations. This course does not seem to address any of the issues faced by a S/w Product Manager. I think this course completely misses the point.