Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP by Google Cloud

4.0
stars
588 ratings
161 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn about the fundamentals of trading, including the concept of trend, returns, stop-loss, and volatility. You will learn how to identify the profit source and structure of basic quantitative trading strategies. This course will help you gauge how well the model generalizes its learning, explain the differences between regression and forecasting, and identify the steps needed to create development and implementation backtesters. By the end of the course, you will be able to use Google Cloud Platform to build basic machine learning models in Jupyter Notebooks. To be successful in this course, you should have advanced competency in Python programming and familiarity with pertinent libraries for machine learning, such as Scikit-Learn, StatsModels, and Pandas. Experience with SQL is recommended. You should have a background in statistics (expected values and standard deviation, Gaussian distributions, higher moments, probability, linear regressions) and foundational knowledge of financial markets (equities, bonds, derivatives, market structure, hedging)....

Top reviews

MS
Jan 29, 2020

Excellent! But, I am missing some of the prerequisites since I just wanted to take a chance and try things out, but feel like proceeding further might lead to some stumbling blocks.

AJ
Nov 20, 2020

I thought this was excellent. Some familiarity with standard SQL is needed to get the most benefit from the materials, and the course is clearly aimed at GCP users.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 158 Reviews for Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP

By Rustom F

Jan 30, 2020

The course seems to be more focused on advertising google cloud platform and there is hardly any focus on how to use ML or AI for trading.

By 欧阳坤

Jan 21, 2020

Too layman. NO real ML techniques for real trading, just some intro that you can easily find on stackoverflows or something.

By Rafiul H N

Jun 2, 2020

The course was great from Google's point but from the "New York Institute of Finance", it was confusing and not helpful.

By Pranesh

May 5, 2020

I expected to understand how we'd interact with the exchanges and then run mdeols in realtime for trading outcomes

By Pranav K S

Jan 26, 2020

This is a good introduction course, fourth week completely different or not aligned with course title.

By Konstantin K

Aug 31, 2020

So many words in that course and so little knowledge. For me, it was wasting time on 80%.

By Angelos L

Mar 20, 2020

Nice theory very poor explaining in application not very useful to make you build a model

By Steve W

Dec 28, 2019

Some good parts, but several sections were cobbled together from other courses I've taken

By Hilmi E

Feb 1, 2020

The relationship between these three topics are somewhat loosely presented..

By Animesh

Jan 18, 2020

Not much learn from them, but whatever is there it's good.

By Jean-Luc B

Jan 11, 2020

Material sometimes seems like a patchwork in random order.

By Juan J M C

Dec 27, 2020

some videos are from other courses.. not exist practice

By Joe M

Apr 1, 2020

Good intro to concepts. Labs could use more thought.

By Alain T

Apr 4, 2020

Good Introduction to Time Series, ML and GCP!

By Sam F

Jan 3, 2020

Had I not read another book on ML, I probably wouldn't understand a lot of material covered here. The course might be a good recap if you already know the material. However for someone who is new to ML, the videos just dumps a lot of definition on you without real explanation in layman term. I ended up having to go to other YouTube videos for explanation.

By Oleksandr S

Feb 2, 2020

The course gives you a very limited introduction to ML for trading. More examples of time series models, basic trading strategies, use of ML methods etc are needed.

By Adrien S

Oct 28, 2020

The course was ok but a bit disjointed, especially week 4 which felt like it was "cut-and-pasted" into the course from other courses and didn't have much cohesion.

By Jonathan S

Sep 13, 2020

Actual programming was nonexistent, the assignments just had you run already-written jupyter notebooks

By Michael K

Jan 23, 2020

Lacks depth of most topics , too brief of an introduction

By Yaron G

Jun 22, 2020

Not sure it is good material for real tradings bots

By Harshit M

Jun 12, 2020

No labs or quizzes for auditing students

By Guillermo B

Aug 7, 2020

Very few real practical exercises.

By Steven K

Dec 22, 2019

The required labs for passing are not uploaded and there is no support in the discussion forums. This means you can not effectively undertake this course without recreating the required cloud systems yourself.

Also, the content is massively outdated and uses an old version of tensor flow which is now deprecated. The course feels like its around 3 years old but only just been uploaded to coursera now.

Very poor experience in my humble opinion and I want my 2 hours of troubleshooting this back.

By Conor W

Jan 21, 2020

A waste of time and money really. Appears to cobbled together from other courses. It doesnt flow, instead jumps around on random topics and none of them link up. It can jump from very basic concepts to suddenly covering complex topics in the in a 2 minute video. The "graded" exercises are pointless. Just following a series of (convoluted) steps and nothing is learned and nothing is actually graded. Dont waste you time with this.

By Allen S

Aug 23, 2020

There could be some useful information in there but even with subtitles, the horrible audio quality makes it much too painful to wade through. I gave up and cancelled the course. I'm very disappointed as my cloud experience is entirely AWS and I was looking forward to learning about the Google Cloud alternative. How could a company as strong as Google produce such a staggeringly poor introduction to their platform?