Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.8
stars
1,331 ratings
523 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

VI

Apr 26, 2022

Wow. What an amazing journey. Engaging, exciting, and as far from broring as it is possible while providing actual knowledge. Perfect balance. The only downside of this course is that is it too short.

NS

Sep 16, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 527 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Daniel S

Mar 8, 2022

I enjoyed this introduction to probability, especially using excel for problems in the last few lectures. It was a little harder to understnad what the TA exercises were at the end of some lectures. I think a little more time and explanation in those exercises would have been helpful. Good overall!

By Max G

Jan 26, 2019

An interesting course in probablity and statistics. In some cases the equations given are not explained clearly enough. I would have preferred a demonstration of how the equations were actually derived, but perhaps that was beyond the scope of this course.

By Ibrahim N

Jan 13, 2018

A very good course, especially if you are interested in the applications of probability theory. The title fulfills itself and this course is kind of an alternative approach to the very popular problem: how to understand probability theory in a better way.

By Antonio P

Aug 30, 2019

Excellent teaching of a well designed introductory course about probability. I’ve appreciated how much can be taught while keeping tough maths out of sight. I’ve also appreciated the connection between theory and non-scholastic, real life applications.

By Nithin B

Sep 25, 2020

From a quick introduction to real-world examples where probability is used gave an overview on the topic of probability. Sharing the raw data and generate a summary in excel or libre office calc would be a good thing to get hands-on experience.

By Tengfei H

May 6, 2017

The course is very interesting. It has taught me a lot about basic ideas/definitions/applications of probability. But the difficulties of the exercises may be raised a little bit to bring a little bit more challenge to this course.

By Rasha A A M

Oct 18, 2020

Thank you very much for this wonderful course mixed with great effort and sincerity by those in charge of it . This course is a great blend of theory and practice with a very interesting presentation of every day life applications.

By Jennifer G

May 3, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course. It was fairly intuitive as it was billed. I had a little difficulty downloading some of the reading materials but the information provided in the videos was sufficient to take the quizzes.

By aineko

Feb 22, 2018

Good and remarkably easy introduction to probability theory. The chosen real world applications really helped me to understand the subject better. Might have to recap some lessons to really grasp the subject.

By shailaja s

Mar 5, 2022

Excellent course. Makes maths interesting. I understood the bell curve which i did not understand in school and lost marks because i did not attempt that question . i feel better now having done this course.

By Jawad

Aug 14, 2021

The passion of the instructor was great and motivating to learn this course.

There were some errors in the transcript. It would have been great if the instructor prepared a pdf format of each lecture note.

By Mayank J

Jun 15, 2017

As written in course introduction this course covers basics of Probability. Instructor is good and explains everything from scratch. Would recommend this course for someone who want to learn about basics.

By Prashant

Apr 15, 2018

This COURSE is quite interesting to learn many new thing which has explained very interestingly by karl

but add more on this as many topics are missing in this course and teach more on excel part

By Shriya S

Jun 5, 2020

This course was pretty amazing! I learnt so I much about how to calculate probability, and Professor Karl gave many examples too, which made me understand the concepts well.

By Marcomini D U

May 25, 2020

This course has been extremely powerful giving a lot of intresting example of ststistics application far away from my previous knowledge on industrial process.

By AJAY H

Sep 19, 2019

This course covers very basic and does not explain how the normal distribution works, the maths behind it, and does not have rigorous exercise for practice

By Prajjwal a

May 20, 2017

I really liked the ease with which Karl taught some of the most intriguing concepts of probability. I would suggest more numerical s to be included.

By Hasan B

Feb 1, 2017

Very nice and entertaining course

Sometimes the quizzes can be a bit frustrating. They could be set better.

Also, often the quizzes are very trivial.

By Roland R

Mar 25, 2020

I loved the practical examples which really helped me to grasped the essence of statistics without becoming confused with theoretical formulas

By Vinod N

Sep 19, 2019

An excellent coverage of topics and good lectures by Karl. My only quibble is that the exercises could be a little more challenging.

By David M

Feb 10, 2022

T​he course is intuitively and well explained. But there are missing materials and there are several typos in the reading material.

By Prasad K

Apr 4, 2019

Very enthusiastic professor. The real world examples were the highlight of the course. Would have liked more math content though.

By Robert C P

Apr 29, 2017

A very nice introduction. The instructor shows a lot of enthusiasm for the subject. The exercises help reinforce the material.

By Crispin R

Mar 29, 2019

Videos were very useful and interesting. This helped me develop my understanding of statistics in my A-Level Maths course.

By Karrtik I

Nov 15, 2019

Excellent intuition till week 4, however week 5 could have been better. Also exercises can be more tougher and rigourous.