Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.8
stars
1,494 ratings

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS

Sep 16, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

SP

Mar 22, 2023

It's a great course, loved the way Prof. Karl Schmedders explains things. However one area of improvement of this course is - the methods adopted in the exercises needed to be covered in the lectures.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 584 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Robert C P

Apr 29, 2017

A very nice introduction. The instructor shows a lot of enthusiasm for the subject. The exercises help reinforce the material.

By Crispin R

Mar 29, 2019

Videos were very useful and interesting. This helped me develop my understanding of statistics in my A-Level Maths course.

By Karrtik I

Nov 15, 2019

Excellent intuition till week 4, however week 5 could have been better. Also exercises can be more tougher and rigourous.

By Shivraj R

Jun 27, 2020

Enjoyed the course. The instructor seemed very involved in teaching and was able to easily impart difficult concepts.

By Vera J

Mar 19, 2021

It would be most welcome to have the course in R. But overall a good and interesting introduction into probability

By ARUNDHATHI N S

Jul 26, 2020

The instructor was awesome.He made it really easy to cope up with the schedule.This course is really worth trying.

By Jeremi S

Nov 29, 2017

Karl has a nice tone, cadence and rhythm. More intuitive than other courses I have taken on the same subject.

By Franco A

Aug 16, 2022

Some things were not clarified during the course.

Definitions and insights into probability were very useful.

By Issam B

Jul 31, 2019

It's an interesting course because it has many applications .Thank you very much to Professor Karl Schmedders

By Mostafa A

May 21, 2020

A very simple, clear and easy-to-understand course about probabilities and their applications in real life.

By Tomasz S

Mar 7, 2019

Very good course, i would like to have more open questions . Explanation was super - very intuitive :)

By Robert D

Oct 11, 2018

Both the professor and instructor made this course enjoyable and helped me like probability more.

By Mohammad A

Jan 14, 2018

Nice and well prepared course. I think it deserve better a assignment methods. Btw, Thanks Karl

By D S

Jul 27, 2022

that was a good and simple introductory course. Some kind of a likbez, which is good to start.

By Jakob P

Jun 10, 2017

A very basic introduction to probability. The lecturer and TA carefully explain all concepts.

By EIRINI M

Jun 10, 2017

Very interesting course, I would like it going a little bit deeper in theoretical level.

By Harshil v

Aug 30, 2020

The discussion forum was not much active . Otherwise a good intoductory course.

Thankyou

By Andrey M

Sep 13, 2018

Nice introduction, especially if you are more interested in applications than math.

By Cris N

May 16, 2017

overview is quite good.

couple of intuitive explanations.

script is more deep.

By Ali H

Jun 1, 2017

Every thing was fine, just I expected a little bit more advanced materials.

By Mallikarjun R P

Apr 6, 2022

It is good course to understand basic probability and normal distribution

By 18_Kalyani K

Sep 18, 2020

Very nice course. This course help me to to increase my knowledge.

By Pritom G

Sep 24, 2021

Great course! I think I have now learnt to love probability more.

By Jason N

May 12, 2019

not bad, not technical enough but applications were interesting

By ayhan k

Jun 5, 2017

very clear explanation, good examples to make better understood