Chevron Left
Back to iOS App Development Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for iOS App Development Basics by University of Toronto

4.2
stars
537 ratings
121 reviews

About the Course

iOS App Development Basics, the second course in the iOS App Development with Swift specialization, expands your programming skills and applies them to authentic app development projects. The topics covered in this course include Xcode basics, Core iOS and Cocoa Touch frameworks, simple user interface creation, MVC Architecture and much more. With a focus on using Apple’s components to access sensors like camera, microphone and GPS, by the end of this course you will be able to create a basic App according to specified parameters and guidelines. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2....

Top reviews

MW
May 10, 2016

Excellent course but allow ample time for the assignment as it is quite challenging, or at least it was for me. I am looking forward to doing the next module.

AC
Jul 6, 2016

This course is the very basics of interface building in iOS, requires lots of self-study as the lectures do not dig deep enough and prior knowledge of Swift.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 114 Reviews for iOS App Development Basics

By Thirumalvalavan

Feb 25, 2019

It is a good course to learn iOS.

By Han M

Dec 20, 2015

Good course

By 党文亮

Dec 3, 2015

OK

By Siew W N

Jun 22, 2016

The lectures are much better than Module 1 BUT still too thin on information required to complete the final assignment. I probably spent 30 hours in all completing the assignment because I had to spend so much time looking up material that was not covered in the lectures. A lot of my time got wasted since it is very difficult to figure out the syntax/structure of the language from the very skimpy lectures &/or the very technical Apple documentation.

Also, not ONCE did the instructors participate or respond to the forum discussion so it was not a surprise that the forum was barely used at all.

I am stuck with soldiering on with the next 2 modules since I pre-paid for the specialisation but really I am very disappointed with what I am getting for a paid course.

By Peter P

Mar 28, 2016

Relevant and well organized material when looking at it, but in total it is way too thin. More tips and tricks about Xcode as a tool would have been nice. Some of the videos are pretty unrehearsed. One of the lecturers hesitates and stutters a lot.

As for the final assignment. Being reviewed by only three persons is too few. One of my reviewers had problems with his Xcode environment and couldn't run my submission. Guess how he graded me. The other reviewers had no problems, luckily.

There is almost no help to be found in the discussion forums, which seems pretty buggy. There are no TAs and the staff doesn't seem to be very active either.

I'm sure the course will improve in the future. It's at the time of writing the only Swift/Xcode/iOS MOOC on Coursera.

By Gummadavally S

Feb 10, 2016

Course is really helpful, but definitely need an improvement.

-Lot of information is Missing.

-Need to be more clear in the lectures.

-Similar course named iOS App Development for Entrepreneurs by UCI is constructed in much better way than this. Please take a look at it and try to make changes.

-Udemy courses are more helpful, however i always prefer to learn with Coursera because of its reputation. So, please teach more stuff and help students to make most out of it.

-The assignment was really challenging and interesting too. My humble request is to MAKE A VIDEO OF THE ASSIGNMENT WITH ALL BOUNS AND PUBLISH IT AFTER THE DEADLINE, that would be really helpful.

By Emre C G

Feb 23, 2021

I liked and enjoyed the course.

I have Xcode version 12.3 and the files of the course are not working with the latest version. Someone who is learning the basics of iOS app development can not fix these compatibility issues by themselves. The documents should be updated accordingly to the new versions or the necessary instructions should be given to fix these issues. I can not complete the final assignment due to this problem.

By Tante K

Jan 8, 2017

The instructor Jack looks very skilled in iOS, but is not very skilled in organizing his thoughts. Lot of sentences are changed halfway, making it frustrating and very hard to follow along.

As in part one there is a steep chasm between the final peer assessment and the presented theory. Components required for the final assessment are introduced in part 3 of the specialization, which is to say a little late.

By James M O

Jun 17, 2016

It was good but I would really appreciate it if MVC was tackled in more detail. Also, I wish there was a video about UICollectionView. There were materials online about it but none of them was helpful for this this course's project.

It was also a bit confusing to follow some sequence. Some codes were added then removed then added again. The explanation was sometimes confusing too.

By Sam B

May 8, 2016

There are no notes for the course and the structure is quite loose. There are no assignments besides a final app. The time frame is difficult to keep up with, if you're not a full-time student. You'll spend time looking stuff up and re-running videos. If you've never had a course using Xcode, this will be a steep-learning curve.

By Nick A

Mar 14, 2016

Thank you.

With all my respect to authors, I skipped Parham again and found a few errors, for example statements like "if bool == true" and layout related errors in the "starter" app at the end of the course.

By Jeff H

Apr 11, 2016

Constraints were hard to understand even after re-watching the videos. I think more time could have been spent on the videos and more information could have been relayed to the students.

By Yvan B

Mar 9, 2016

A big improvement on the first course. Still, the material is not enough or you should have to do small exercises to prove that you understand the material. But progress is there.

By abdoelrhman

Dec 8, 2015

This could've been better, but i understand that you want to minimize time of videos, but at the end it lacks many information about delegates and protocols and so on

By Luis O

Dec 10, 2015

Much better than the first course on the specialization. More structured, easier to follow. The final assignment was challenging but not out of reach.

By Torje L P

Mar 27, 2016

needs weekly code tests

needs more quiz questions

needs more usage samples - e.g. autolayout/specific UI components gotchas

By Robi P

Feb 22, 2016

I was expecting something more in depth for methods and functions on swift

By Mohammad A

Dec 2, 2015

The quality of the course is not as I expected from a Coursera course.

By José G M

Mar 19, 2016

El curso no está bien planeado ni explicado

By LORENZO A L Q

Feb 15, 2018

Must think on updating to

By Ankit A

Sep 24, 2018

please update

By Adhi P

Sep 19, 2018

Outdated

By Diego A R R

Sep 27, 2016

Honestly I cannot believe that this course won't allow people to go an extra mile to make something better and learn more than what course was designed for. How is it possible that I try to do something different and better than what I was requested to do and because of that I got bad gradings because it was different even though it met the projects requirements? I left a complaint and this is the response from one of the mentors "john f davis replied: all I could say is keep your personal touch in your GitHub and submit the nonpersonal touch version to be graded."

How is this going to allow the students to learn more if they are going to be graded badly if they do? If we are not allowed to work on something greater? I'm disappointed with the peer grading system but even more with this kind of attitude from a "mentor".

By Maxime V

May 3, 2016

The course and the knowledge provided is OK. But the peer correcting is really bad, it takes tool long, some people are cheating and if you're unlucky you may not be corrected at all and fail the course

By Matteo L

Nov 22, 2015

Better than the first course of the specialization but the concepts are still explained not clearly