Chevron Left
Back to Cybersecurity and the Internet of Things

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cybersecurity and the Internet of Things by University System of Georgia

4.4
298 ratings
73 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! You may have heard about the Internet of Things (IoT). But you may also have wondered about what it is. Or for that matter, what does it mean to you or an organization. This course is for you if you are curious about the most recent trends and activities in the internet capabilities and concerns about programmed devices. There are complexities and areas of necessary awareness when the industrial sector becomes connected to your home. Security policies and practices have not yet caught up to the internet capabilities of some of our most common products. The “connected home”, “consumer wearables”, or even an employee’s HVAC system may cause an unanticipated threat to your business environment. You will explore current security and privacy related concerns in each of these areas. Every module will include readings, videos, case studies, and a quiz to help make sure you understand the material and concepts we talk about. This course offers a place to learn, reflect, and plan for a smart community approach to IoT. Portions of this course may seem extremely technical in nature. That is because the “things” in IoT represents engineering. Try to grasp the concept in that case....

Top reviews

PK

Jan 23, 2017

This module gave me basic understanding on the IoT concepts and the relative security issues associated. It gave me confidence in the field and steps to learning more about this topic.

WV

Sep 03, 2016

It is always a good to experience the excellence of the delivery in this course. Great materials with real life experts experience and analysis. Thumbs up.

Filter by:

51 - 69 of 69 Reviews for Cybersecurity and the Internet of Things

By andrew h

Sep 08, 2016

Meat we need more meat. Where is the beef?

Recommendation: One question what should a medium to small business do after a IoT hack? Walk this through as an exercise. This question can be part of a whole program exercise.

By Sitaram K

Apr 18, 2017

The course is well organized with enough reading materials.

By Sreenivasulu S

May 14, 2018

Expected more on Cybersecurity space related to IoT! But not much included in this coursera!

By Yash

Mar 14, 2018

It is more about Internet of Things than Cyber Security

By Ankur S

Sep 26, 2016

Contents where we are referring to the statistics of 2012 should be updated.

By Carlos G D B

Aug 25, 2016

Grate Course, this lectures are very interesting and importan for understand the IoT World

By Parameswara R

Jul 29, 2019

very useful and informative.

By Nikhil S

Feb 27, 2019

Reading material is too much which can be consolidated in a presentation format so that it is easy to understand the concepts. Video content is helpful and easy to understand.

By yahya t

Feb 02, 2017

Weak....

By Francine S

Dec 26, 2016

Some good content however it is too reliant on reading a lot of white papers and articles. Some of the readings are very good, however a number of them are out of date for example 2012 in a space that has already rapidly evolved since then. I would have liked to see more examples of how people are exploring ways to address vulnerabilities and activities for cybersecurity

By Yash N

Nov 15, 2017

nice course

By andrew f

Feb 01, 2017

Eh.

By Ronald S

Dec 11, 2017

I really wish we would get out of this "read a white paper and ask me 10-20 questions on it" thing. First, that is academically lazy, and does not demonstrate mastery of content. Second, if you want people to understand IoT, then make them DO something with the knowledge. The course has interesting materials, but the exams and quizzes show a level of academic laziness that you would not see in industry. If I taught a class like this at my company, I'd get yelled at.

By Zack L

Feb 13, 2017

There was some really great information presented, but mixed in with tangential and unimportant sources (I don't care about the fashionable aspects of IoT!!)

By Demetrio S

Jul 18, 2017

I'm disappointed and I wouldn't recommend it. Lot of IoT, little Cybersecurity, the title of this course is misleading.

Some interesting reading, some really old (2011-12) for a technology evolving so quickly.

By Travis B

Oct 20, 2016

This is a great course if you have literally no idea what the 'Internet of Things' is, and if you find using a smartphone challenging.

By BALAJI V

Dec 30, 2016

Cyber security is hardly covered in course. IoT as well is supporting product marketing. Coursera s losing it's quality..

By Suman M

Jun 08, 2017

Please do have more enriched content and interviews , videos than very monotonous research material papers which are dated.

By Matt A

Oct 06, 2016

Very little real content or information.