Chevron Left
Back to Software Architecture for the Internet of Things

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Architecture for the Internet of Things by EIT Digital

4.3
stars
191 ratings
59 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you how to design futureproof systems that meet the requirements of IoT systems: systems that are secure, interoperable, modifiable and scalable. Moreover, you'll learn to apply best-in-class software architecture methods to help you design complex IoT and other applications. Lastly, you'll come to understand the business impact of the technical decisions that you make as an IoT system architect. You'll learn all about software architecture in the next 5 weeks! In the first week, you'll discover why having a well-designed architecture is important and which challenges you might come across while developing your architecture. By the end of the second week, you'll already be able to write your own requirements! In the third and fourth week, you will learn how to correctly write quality attributes and quality attribute scenarios for a specific case. In the last week, you'll learn to describe your own patterns and tactics and see how they're used in an Android framework....

Top reviews

MH
Sep 15, 2017

I learned a lot through this course and was able to apply some of my learnings to my current work. Definitely would like to recommend this course!

IK
Apr 21, 2020

It was a very good and comprehensive course especially for those who want to work on IoT based projects and not have much knowledge of software

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 56 Reviews for Software Architecture for the Internet of Things

By chandrakanth p

Jun 12, 2019

good

By Johanna K

Sep 10, 2017

The course gives a nice glimpse on how systems can be planned and documented. I liked the questions between videos, because they highlighted the important points and helped me understand the topic better. Videos were high-quality. I liked that the important points were shown as text in videos at the same time as the professor or instructor talked about the topic. That gave me both visual and auditory stimulus and thus helped me learn the topic more efficiently. The quizzes asked about important things and gave really good feedback for both correct and incorrect answers. The reading tasks were otherwise correctly timed, but reading the ADD paper took me more like 2-3 hours than promised 20 minutes. As said, the course gave a nice glimpse to one type of planning and documenting the system, so it feels bit exaggerating to promise the students to become software architects after the course. But this is one step forward that goal, thank you for this course!

By Chathura R D S

Jan 27, 2017

In terms of Theory for General Software Architecture this Course is a good refresher for a person who is working with Software Architecture already.

The Course could have more focused on IoT specific scenarios compared to Generic Software Architecture. What i recommend is to change the course title and have a separate one for IoT specific matters.

If the presenters can provide more practical examples that will help remember how and where we can apply these scenarios.

Overall this course content is good and interesting to watch.

By naveen t

Feb 17, 2017

Good : It is a very concise course with each week session providing references to books for learning more in depth. Overall I am very satisfied and glad to take this course.

Improvements: A lot of information squeezed into short videos. Students would benefit more if there are a bit more videos covering all topics in depth not just refer them to chapters in a book. Some questions are little bit ambiguous. I think reading the book along with this course is very important to understand clearly and apply it at work.

By José C C

Nov 5, 2016

The course covers a wide range of aspects about Software Architecture, even beyond the scope of IoT. The peer review assignments help to put into practice some of the concepts, which may seem to be quite abstract at first glance. An improvement suggestion would be to provide more exercises to work on the case study presented in the last units, in order to take advantage of the additional material provided.

By OLIVRIN G

Jun 14, 2017

A solid course which brings methods and examples to qualify and quantify requirements and their attributes.

Modifiability and interoperability for instance are applied to IoT.

Tradeoffs and techniques in architecture design and evolution are well explained.

Good background reading material.

Homework is quite difficult to understand and do.

By Khánh N

Nov 1, 2016

The course is almost focus on the SA for traditional software , not too much example, theories and miss some important core components of IoT architecture and especially is security that is also most important quality attribute for IoT project

By Jersey B

Nov 14, 2016

Excellent course as an introduction and overview of generic software architecture concepts. It would be great to get more in depth information about IOT specific patterns and technologies from the architecture trade-off perspective.

By Felipe C

Jul 12, 2017

Good overall course on software architecure with an emphasys on ADD and a little about IoT. Would like to have dug a little deeper and maybe have some more practical exercises.

By Roosvelt S O

Aug 10, 2018

Pros: The content is relevant, you receive valuable and extense info properly summarize. Cons: lack of participants for reviewing the multiple assigments.

By Thu H T

Nov 23, 2020

Useful course, but some content a little complicate. Better if can give us more detail for 1 project from the beginning

By Ligang S

Sep 6, 2017

This lesson is a very good guideline of Quality Attribute Driven Software Architecture design.

By Rinaldo F

Apr 27, 2017

Very good course and material. Can be downloaded and read again .

By aditi j

Jun 11, 2017

Good Course , however can have more information on architecture

By Rasika R D

Dec 2, 2019

IT IS GOOD COURSE . I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE .

By nandini b

Feb 1, 2021

Essay to Complete the course

By Ahmad S

Oct 14, 2016

Good, but not so deeply good

By Karthik S

Jun 5, 2017

A very designed course

By Dr. N K

Jul 11, 2020

nice course

By Nehalkalal

Jun 4, 2020

good

By Mohammed S I

May 17, 2017

For someone like me who is new to Software Architecture, this course gave some basic understanding.

I expected the concepts to be explained more effectively. I hardly understood the DYAMAND example given at the end of the course.

By Freek W

Aug 8, 2016

For someone who's been a senior software engineer for a bunch of years, the topics on design patterns and tactics could have dug a bit deeper.

By Mikhail K

Apr 5, 2019

Too much theory and very little practice.

By Yiling L

Oct 5, 2020

This English course was not easy to understand for me.

Besides, I hope it would have been more interesting.

By Mohamed A

Jan 16, 2017

I didn't learn a lot from this course. It didn't explain technical IT architectures of IoT.