Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
11,060 ratings
2,837 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

Filter by:

2251 - 2275 of 2,804 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Federico E

Nov 3, 2015

This is a well taught introduction, especially for those who need a general view of what is needed for designing an IoT device.

By Medapati K A R

Jul 30, 2020

I think there should be discussion forum because it was very hard for me to do the peer review assignment in the module 4.

By Muhammad W

Nov 5, 2018

It was a good course, although the evaluation could be done with better assignments that can actually challenge the skills

By George H M

Jan 23, 2021

This course provides a good overview of the different components related to the Internet of Things and embedded systems.

By Kostas T

Apr 26, 2020

IT was nice but very basic. Maybe it should focus more on the setup of an IoT Device. The professor was very good though

By Shivam S

May 1, 2020

The part of week 3 and 4 looked tough to me. I think it should have explained more. Otherwise course was worth the time

By Anushka T

Jul 14, 2020

it was pretty good course. i liked the starting 2 modules. but still i feel last module could have been a bit better .

By Blast

Aug 9, 2020

It was a great course, but it needs a minimum knowledge in electrical circuits and the internet to go with smoothly.

By Lokendra s r

Apr 29, 2020

It was very tough to understand fundamentals of Computer Science Engineering but here it was explained very nicely.

By Daniella A

Nov 7, 2015

Nice introduction to the IoT world. Course contents are a bit repetitive and lessons could have been a bit shorter.

By Hrushikesh P

Jun 1, 2020

A good course for beginners. Should've included some practical related stuffs like Arduino coding and interfacing.

By Ken D

Oct 8, 2015

This course gives a broad overview of what the Internet of Things is and the components that comprise IoT devices.

By YASH S

Jan 8, 2021

Very nice course for IoT

Not very good for embedded but learn a lot of advanced things related to embedded here

By ali i

Jul 29, 2020

content was very good, kindly do add some more practical examples to make it more interesting and challenging.

By farhana a

Dec 24, 2019

The instructor is great and the reading material is very helpful. I would just recommend giving pdf notes too.

By Marcel F

Jan 17, 2017

It is good introduction for students that don't have previous knowledge in the field. Instructor is also good.

By Salim J

Jun 1, 2020

Week four syllabus was too particular, including one iot project would have been more interesting in week 4

By A V N

May 15, 2020

The explanation is supported with practical examples and interesting assignments.Overall,a very good course!

By Abhijeet B

Oct 12, 2015

Really crisp content as introduction to world of IoT. MANET's, network layer sessions are very informative.

By Joshua O

Feb 5, 2021

Great course. Well structured with excellent videos that provide useful and relevant introduction to IoTs.

By Siddhant J

Jun 29, 2020

It has been a fruitful experience. The only thing which I felt was missing was a little more explanation.

By Shreya S

Apr 8, 2020

It is a good comprehensive start for a novice. The assignments are decent and involve proper application.

By Marcos P P J

Dec 23, 2016

The topics sometimes are very superficial, containing little information. But at all, the course is good.

By i160514 M H

Jul 13, 2019

It's a good course for beginners who want to know about Internet of Things i would totally recommend it.

By Amanillah m

Aug 30, 2020

the course and content is great but its all theory and no practical means no coding so sometimes boring