Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
12,042 ratings
3,056 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

Filter by:

2901 - 2925 of 3,047 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By SAMALA N K R

Jul 10, 2018

good

By kathimamatha

Jun 30, 2018

nice

By Hemanth_Nair

Jun 22, 2018

good

By MORLA K

May 12, 2018

Good

By Makireddi D K

May 2, 2018

Good

By srujan r

Sep 16, 2016

good

By anuranjan k

Jun 28, 2016

nice

By Honey P

Feb 4, 2021

Nyc

By Hareesha B N

Jul 21, 2020

4.8

By HARISH J

May 7, 2020

..

By Shailendra P S

Jun 30, 2018

no

By Bogi J

Aug 26, 2020

.

By Mohsinuzzaman c

Jul 27, 2020

i

By HARISH D S - E

May 26, 2020

.

By Hendy S

Aug 22, 2019

G

By Alan C

Feb 18, 2019

G

By ihn@ucn.dk

Mar 10, 2018

A

By Sam B

Oct 22, 2015

I thought the content was great, but I thought the assignments were too onerous. I did the first one, but I didn't feel like I learned from it and peer feedback was very slow. I looked at the other assignments, but I thought they only asked me to put to paper things I was already thinking about anyway. Given the untimely and low quality of peer feedback on the first assignment, I didn't feel like I'd learn anything from completing and submitting any assignments. I refuse to buy a webcam for Coursera (I have a phone with that capability but the Coursera app doesn't support it for identity verification), so I can't get a certification anyway. I thought the content was interesting, but too basic to pay for. The major value I see in the certification path is extensive feedback on the capstone project, as I thought peer feedback came too late and wasn't extensive enough to be valuable. I do think the instructor does a good job of presenting the content

By Pratik P

Jun 12, 2016

Reviewing process is quite slow, thus you have to wait until someone review your assignment and grade it, even if you complete this course in just 1 week but you can't pursue certificate in just 1 week because review of assignment 3-4 days minimum for each one.

Coursera should improve that problem, but overall teaching quality was great.

By Niki L

Jan 21, 2016

A good course for somebody who knows absolutely nothing about the presented subjects ( like networking, what is embedded software etc. ). Everything is explained in a way your grandmother could understand it.

If you are somewhat familiar with them and are looking on information on what IoT exactly is, this course isn't really for you.

By Gauri

Jul 2, 2020

https://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/3PYHR7MJEeqOIw54cDeJWQ PLEASE SOMEONE REVIEW MY ASSIGNMENT FOR WEEK 1 SO THAT I CAN COMPLETE MY COURSE. I HAD SUBMITTED MY ASSIGNMENT 2 DAYS BEFORE THE DEADLINE AND STILL IT HAS NOT BEEN GRADED AFTER 2 WEEKS. PLEASE HELP PEERS !!!

By Christian

Feb 21, 2016

Don't get me wrong, this is a good course, the teacher obviously knows his stuff and delivers the information in a good way. It gives you what you need to know. But I expected more. A wider grasp on things, additional readings, quiz’s, related articles, links and so on. Maybe not mandatory but in addition to what already is there.

By Andreas G

Apr 10, 2020

Nice and easy introduction to IoT.

It is very basic though and depending on your level of existing knowledge this may be somewhat disappointing.

Good delivery by Prof Harris and it really is to recommended if you are a true beginner.

For anyone looking for in depth technical details, go elsewhere.

By WILSON P J

Dec 5, 2016

The professor lecturers were great! I enjoyed watching the his videos. However, theres's still room for some improvement. For example, I would add /more/ technical info at the video slides and also a /lot/ of literature related to IoT and embedded systems.

By Dev P

Sep 14, 2021

I wish we had a written summary by the end of every lecture. It was sometimes hard to grasp some new stuff because we heard about it once and then never again. I don't recollect some new stuff that was taught. Otherwise a good course for beginners!