Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
12,057 ratings
3,057 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 3,048 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Vijay B

Mar 27, 2020

It was very good experience to learn from coursera. I love the way of teaching of sir. He has explained everything nicely.

By Ehab U R

Nov 21, 2017

a very good intro for the beginners to the world of IoT and Embedded system . The instructor teaching style is marvellous

By Brad T

Nov 20, 2017

Fun and educational. Has professional benefits and also has great potential for future student projects with my daughter.

By Savion R

Jan 22, 2016

I am in week 2 of 4 of this class thus far and have enjoyed every moment of it thoroughly; its exactly what I anticipated.

By Deleted A

Dec 1, 2020

IT WAS VERY INTERESTING COURSE, I HAVE LEARNT BASICS OF IOT AND SOME OF THE REAL TIME APPLICATIONS OF INTERNET OF THINGS.

By PIYUSH K

Sep 25, 2020

I learned about IOt devices and embedded systems.it improved my knowledge about network protocols and how internet works.

By Don R

Mar 21, 2018

Solid introduction to the IOT world. Professor really knows the subject, and has a great style and good information flow.

By BOPPE B V S V K

Jul 1, 2020

Good with neat explanation. But if there are more video explanation than Power point explanation then it could be better

By Md I M

Jun 1, 2020

This course is well organized and great to learn about IoT. Good content and assignments make this course up to the mark

By Mazin A

Apr 12, 2017

good course. it would be even better if you can provide a printable materials of the course. like the power point slides

By BIDHAN D

Aug 4, 2020

Learned a lot things about IoT and Embedded Systems. This is the best online course which I have done . Thank You !!!!!

By MAUSAM M

Jun 11, 2020

Faculty was extremely good and the way of explanation was also amazing.

I got lots of knowledge with clear understanding

By Ankit s

Jun 6, 2020

Very good course for beginners. All topics are covered properly and after this you have good knowlege of working of iot

By Ishan W

May 28, 2020

The course provides in depth knowledge while making us understand the practical application of the Inter net of Things.

By Mogith P N

Jun 27, 2021

one of the best introductory course to grasp the basics of IoT and embedded systems, prof ian harris was remarkable .

By JITEN S

Sep 22, 2020

It is a very good course for a beginner. As a newbie to this field it helps to understand the required basic concepts.

By Avinash S

Aug 11, 2020

Amazing course and I really loved the way the things are explained so simply just like an story, it is a great course.

By Mukhtar H

May 30, 2020

This Course gives a very good view to the learner about IoT devices and embedded systems in a very simple a clear way

By Parvathy S

May 20, 2020

Perfect for beginners. The presentation was on point and this course has definitely piqued my interest in the subject.

By Bhargav R G

Jul 21, 2019

The course is very good. The instructor way of explaining the concepts is good.Learnt a lot of things from the course.

By hassan j

Mar 25, 2019

This course indeed help me out to understand the basics of IoT embedded systems and Thanks alot to coursera community.

By Philip C

Mar 10, 2017

Excellent course if you're new to the topic. The professor describes the concepts in a clear, easy to understand way.

By Georges-Emmanuel P

Sep 26, 2016

Step by Step from scratch.

Very good lectures, presentations and explanations given by Prof. Ian G. Harris...

Thanks!

By Ramesh B J C

Apr 22, 2016

Brilliant. Simple, straight to the point delivery. Interesting and encouraging assignments boosts enthusiasm.

Thank you

By Alberto C Y

Nov 29, 2015

Very interesting and instructive, ideal to start in the world of Internet of things for people who have not yet known.