Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
10,452 ratings
2,685 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,652 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Atul D

Aug 15, 2017

Brilliant. Covers fundamentals of IoT and Embedded Systems. Must for anyone to embark on IoT Journey.

By Chetan M

Feb 9, 2016

Very nice introduction, needs a bit more depth as most of it already familiar to everyone now a days.

By Riya P

May 28, 2020

Nice and enjoying by joining this course.This is really very helpful in our carrier and in Job also.

By Ricardo A d C S

Sep 6, 2017

Excellent course. It will provide you with the essential knowledge to understand the IoT revolution.

By Robert H

Mar 22, 2016

Not only very interesting but also an instructor with entertaining way of communicating the content.

By K S R

Aug 25, 2020

Excellent Course.

Excellent Content delivery, Assignment and concept of reviewing other assignments.

By Dileep A

Jun 4, 2020

very informative course and easy to study using the study materials provided..especially the videos

By Amane S R

May 20, 2020

It was wonderful!! I learnt all the things that I won't gained it from anyone..Thank you coursera!!

By Rahul M

May 15, 2020

Very Informative course and thanks to the instructor who taught me valuable and interesting things.

By Tiago C

Aug 9, 2016

I've been learning so much this topic.

The instructor has a lot of knowledge and explains very well.

By Alexander P G

Nov 22, 2020

This course is quite complete and prof. Harris explains clearly and he explains a lot of examples.

By Haastrup A I

Nov 17, 2020

It was an awesome moment learning from seasoned and knowledgeable teacher, a whole lot was learnt.

By ARYAMAN K

Oct 8, 2020

Loved it. Everything was explained in a simple manner and Sir managed to keep it quite interesting

By khinzaw o

Jul 1, 2020

This course is appropriate for the learners for new technologies such as IoT and embedded systems.

By Karan S

Mar 12, 2020

A great course even for beginners. It covers all the basics of the Internet of Things. Recommended

By Rishabh P

Nov 5, 2019

Excellent content, the coach is amazing and pretty much everything about this course is excellent

By Sven R

Sep 10, 2020

Good course. Even Im not newbie in this topic, it was very interesting to see professor lectures.

By Foorkan C S

Jul 5, 2020

It was very good and informative .specially it is very much helpful to the untrained eye .Thanks.

By Ashis G

Jul 1, 2020

The assignments are the best aspect of this course coupled with Dr. Harris's engrossing lectures.

By Sai V K M

Jun 5, 2020

The course is so good and very interesting lectures helped me to to better understand this course

By Deepanshu B

May 15, 2020

I learnt much about how the Internet of things work and what actually it is. Thank you, Coursera.

By Jay

Dec 10, 2018

A very good introductory course for the foundation of the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By GANDIKOTA S T

May 13, 2018

VERY INTERESTING COURSE..BASICS AND KEEN IN EXPLANATION..I GOT COMPLETE INFORMATION ON THIS CORSE

By Yung W

Aug 30, 2016

Very good intro to IOT and embedded systems with short videos. Definitely boost my understanding.

By SANTHOSHKUMAR P

Jul 15, 2020

Awesome lectures, Peer assignments very nice . I have gained some knowledge through Assignments