Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
11,882 ratings
3,022 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

Filter by:

2401 - 2425 of 3,012 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Sandeep S

May 6, 2020

learnt to use wireshark network analyser. intructer is very good, his pronounciation is very well, i can understand its words very clearly.

By Kevin P

Jul 16, 2020

This course is an introduction, as its name indicates. It is pretty basic and offers a general overview of IoT. The teacher is very good.

By SIVA S K

Jun 2, 2020

please once check the week 4 assignment we could not match the given requirements as we we're not able to get Http Files in the wireshark

By John G

Feb 6, 2017

Very gentle introduction to IoT. The topics covered are fine and the instructor is very good at explaining and presenting the material.

By Chinmay R

Oct 4, 2016

Pretty nice course for basics. Doesn't exactly go into the programming side, but gives you basic background information for IoT things.

By Iván R A B

Jan 2, 2017

Very good course! But they need create more interactive activities and videos for explain theory concepts and show more real examples.

By Darren C

Apr 24, 2021

Course instructor is relatable and easy going. Examples could e updated to more recent ones if a rerun of this course is envisioned.

By Supun D D

Dec 5, 2020

Good for introduction course. I give five stars if this course include at least small amount of Arduino programming . Nice teaching.

By CHIRAG M

Dec 19, 2019

Instead of peer review, a more sophisticated evaluation scheme can be employed so as to test the true learning of the course bearer.

By Pushpanathan G

Aug 25, 2020

To understand the basic of IOT device this course is good. My suggestion is can be add some practical demo using Proteus software.

By Pranav S

May 27, 2019

The course is helpful for those who are not working in embedded field as it covers the basics of embedded systems and networking.

By Animesh S

Feb 10, 2017

Very Good Course. But everybody should get the opportunity to submit the quiz at least, even if we get don't get the certificate.

By PRAKASH P

May 4, 2020

This is better course for upcoming generation persons. Because most of the device has based on Internet of Things now a days.

By Anand S

Sep 27, 2018

Nice explanation but videos are of very short duration. Just touching the topics is not enough if we want to do a specialization

By Tomás C

Sep 9, 2018

Very good explanations, but if you have some knowledge about networks or embedded systems, the course will be very basic to you.

By chandramani m

Jun 3, 2020

Course was very good but need to some practical video with raspberry pi or Arduino device and any project related to this topic

By Srihari A

Sep 27, 2018

Nice course to begin with. Instructor did a great job with this course. Normally, basics courses are boring, but not this one !

By Federico E

Nov 3, 2015

This is a well taught introduction, especially for those who need a general view of what is needed for designing an IoT device.

By Khalid W S D

Jun 6, 2021

Useful introduction to IOT. should continue to attend next related courses to start dealing with the hardware and software.

By Medapati K A R

Jul 30, 2020

I think there should be discussion forum because it was very hard for me to do the peer review assignment in the module 4.

By Muhammad W

Nov 5, 2018

It was a good course, although the evaluation could be done with better assignments that can actually challenge the skills

By George H M

Jan 23, 2021

This course provides a good overview of the different components related to the Internet of Things and embedded systems.

By Kostas T

Apr 26, 2020

IT was nice but very basic. Maybe it should focus more on the setup of an IoT Device. The professor was very good though

By Shivam S

May 1, 2020

The part of week 3 and 4 looked tough to me. I think it should have explained more. Otherwise course was worth the time

By Anushka T

Jul 14, 2020

it was pretty good course. i liked the starting 2 modules. but still i feel last module could have been a bit better .