Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
10,452 ratings
2,685 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 2,652 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Ankur V

Mar 11, 2019

This Course provide you the knowledge regarding IOT, Embedded System. This course is very useful and informative.

By Mariana B d S

Sep 27, 2020

This course is really great! The classes are very well explained and in a very intuitive way. Thank you so much!

By Hari P

Mar 18, 2018

It is one of best course for an IOT beginner very nice and kind Mentor.The structure of the course is very nice.

By JAGANATH P M

Sep 11, 2020

Prof. Ian Harris was highly enthused and motivated throughout the course work, which made the learning exciting

By Devang P B

Jun 21, 2020

This course is very good. I liked this course very much. I will definitely recommend this course to my friends.

By KARANAM V V

Jun 16, 2020

This course is very much helpful if you are an IoT enthusiast. Great lectures by Prof.Ian Harris.Good guidance.

By Pruthvesh D

Sep 13, 2018

If you are an IoT beginner, this course could actually help you get started with the theoretical aspects of it.

By Md. M H E

Jun 3, 2020

Professor Ian is amazing . He explains things so clearly. I look forward to some courses on networks from him.

By Ian D

Jan 7, 2020

The course clear very well the basics of IoT and Embedded systems. Highly recommend this course for beginners.

By Manish M

Jun 18, 2019

It is just basic i need to other courses to really understand the importance of this course in embedded field.

By Abhishek D

Jul 20, 2017

Great course to start working on IoT's and embedded systems. Instructor made this course exciting and amazing.

By praveen k k

Feb 29, 2016

It will helps every body who want to enhance skills related present growing technology,and thanks to coursera.

By Richard L

Apr 7, 2017

Provided a great beginning into IoT NPD devices with joint software and hardware project requirements needed.

By Omar S F

Jun 27, 2020

Thank you Professor / Ian Harris

it was a very good introductory course with helpful quizzes and assignments.

By Abhishek K

Jun 3, 2020

Prof. Ian Harris is a good tutor in my opinion. His genuine ways to make learning things made easier for me.

By JUNAID P M

Mar 25, 2020

amazing course sir. just the intro made me want to just go into this course and learn more and more and more

By Suresh K R K

Aug 9, 2019

Overall Course and topics , narration ,assignments were good. I refreshed some topics and learnt new things.

By SARAN K

Jul 12, 2020

it is very help full for my academics .In this course, i have learnt about introduction about IOT devices.

By Khin T M

Jun 14, 2020

I've learnt more about embedded system, microtrollers and protocol stack. This improved my knowledge a lot.

By Karthik K

Jun 11, 2020

This course was an interesting and wonderful course. Helped me learn the world of IoT and embedded systems.

By Tanaya P

May 7, 2020

Prof. Ian is amazing. I really loved how he explained all the concepts with help of real time applications.

By Rajesh N

Sep 25, 2018

Excellent course for beginners. The lecturer has excellent explaining skills by taking real world examples.

By yusuf

Aug 8, 2020

enjoyed much taking this course , cant wait to finish all the other courses related to this specialization

By Anjoom M

Jun 29, 2020

Very good course as an introduction to IoT and embedded devices. Very good lectures from Professor Harris.

By Aditya W

Jun 7, 2020

I was introduced to new things, the knowledge i get will helps in many things i want to do.

THANK YOU, Sir.