Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
10,705 ratings
2,741 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,710 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Arnab S

Aug 17, 2017

Short and Informative. Very Helpful and interesting course. Loads of information and knowledge shared.

By Mitul M

Jun 27, 2016

Great course! The course is taught in a very organised manner making it easy for anyone to understand.

By Karthic C

May 4, 2016

i like this course very much. It is very much interesting and i hope the specialization will be great.

By Fotis K

Jan 17, 2021

A very good and well organised course! Glad I took part and learnt some new things through the course

By Nikitha A

Sep 7, 2020

This course has been amazing throughout! The examples used to explain the concepts clearly are great!

By Mahesh K

Aug 17, 2020

I spend valuable time from this course. I suggest that everyone suppose to take this types of course.

By UJJAVAL P

Jun 2, 2020

Wonderful exposure about IoT networking technologies. Really great explanation by Dr. Ian Harris sir.

By Juan C M A

May 19, 2020

It is so useful for people that are looking for getting into the main concepts regarding IoT systems.

By s v

May 19, 2020

This information was new to me. With a lot of work to watch and rewatch the lectures, I learned a lot

By yll B

Aug 13, 2018

Everyone who wants to know about Internet of Things and Embedded Systems, guys this course is for you

By Atul D

Aug 15, 2017

Brilliant. Covers fundamentals of IoT and Embedded Systems. Must for anyone to embark on IoT Journey.

By Chetan M

Feb 9, 2016

Very nice introduction, needs a bit more depth as most of it already familiar to everyone now a days.

By Riya P

May 28, 2020

Nice and enjoying by joining this course.This is really very helpful in our carrier and in Job also.

By Ricardo A d C S

Sep 6, 2017

Excellent course. It will provide you with the essential knowledge to understand the IoT revolution.

By Robert H

Mar 22, 2016

Not only very interesting but also an instructor with entertaining way of communicating the content.

By K S R

Aug 25, 2020

Excellent Course.

Excellent Content delivery, Assignment and concept of reviewing other assignments.

By Dileep A

Jun 4, 2020

very informative course and easy to study using the study materials provided..especially the videos

By Amane S R

May 20, 2020

It was wonderful!! I learnt all the things that I won't gained it from anyone..Thank you coursera!!

By Rahul M

May 15, 2020

Very Informative course and thanks to the instructor who taught me valuable and interesting things.

By Tiago C

Aug 9, 2016

I've been learning so much this topic.

The instructor has a lot of knowledge and explains very well.

By Alexander P G

Nov 22, 2020

This course is quite complete and prof. Harris explains clearly and he explains a lot of examples.

By Haastrup A I

Nov 17, 2020

It was an awesome moment learning from seasoned and knowledgeable teacher, a whole lot was learnt.

By ARYAMAN K

Oct 8, 2020

Loved it. Everything was explained in a simple manner and Sir managed to keep it quite interesting

By khinzaw o

Jul 1, 2020

This course is appropriate for the learners for new technologies such as IoT and embedded systems.

By Karan S

Mar 12, 2020

A great course even for beginners. It covers all the basics of the Internet of Things. Recommended