Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
12,048 ratings
3,057 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 3,047 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Kevin P

Feb 21, 2016

It is a perfect course for who want enter in the today's new technological trend that IOT - Internet Of Things. Join this course for learning basics of IOT.

By Nikhita J

Sep 21, 2020

It was immense knowledge gaining ,all was about brief ,understandable content , now i can easily understand the iot in embedded systems working. thank you!

By Sakenaveeti S

Jul 3, 2020

This is very introductory couse. This course will help what embedded systems are and how they are useful. I recommend to learn this course who are beginers

By Daniel V A

Apr 26, 2020

Suitable for beggineers, all the concepts were clearly explained. At the end of this course one can get knowledge about IOT and basic skeleton of the same.

By Deva D

Jul 23, 2016

The course content and intro about IoT is very good and interesting. This course will provide an opportunity to explore new generation intelligent devices.

By Chaitanya

May 16, 2021

i think for basics its very good enough and he will explain in good manner about what we have to choose ,describes clearly about iot and embedded systems

By hasnaa m

Jan 16, 2018

I wanna thank the professor, his explanation is so simple make me understand every word he says,I really hope to do good in the quizzes and assignments .

By Chandrasekar S

Mar 1, 2017

I had a great time doing this course. It was really informative and practical. I think I have constructed a good basics for learning further IOT concepts.

By Juan C L M

Sep 12, 2020

Very good course about microcontrollers and embedded systems as the core of IoT. If you want to discover this exciting world, this is the place to start.

By MAMIDI P K

May 8, 2020

as a beginner, it really helps me to learn some new things.The professors explanation was good and excited to learn more courses in this specialisation

By KAUSHIK S K

Feb 6, 2020

This is a very good platform for students all over the world, such a great opportunity for underprivileged people. you guys are doing a very good work.

By Navin K

Jun 16, 2020

Easy explaination and this course is very helpful if you want to start from scrap and assignments and quiz will work as extra benefits for the student

By Muhammad A N

May 12, 2020

This is wonderful course. Lectures are constructed perfect. This course enables everyone lighten up his/her mind with new technologies regarding IOTs.

By Venkatesh P

Mar 31, 2020

It is very useful course and explained the IoT device with real life example. Clearly brought the difference between embedded systems and IoT devices.

By Allian R

Apr 27, 2016

The lectures give you a good overview of the material, and the assignments help you solidify your understanding of embedded systems in the real world.

By JM

Oct 22, 2015

A great course for an introduction to IoT devices. I found the instructor spoke in a clear and engaging voice and kept the topics covered interesting.

By aditya k

May 31, 2020

This course was very helpful to identify the basics of IoT devices and the working processes of the devices. I learn a lot through this course.thanks

By Sachidanand S

May 19, 2020

I loved this course as it provided complete information in simple voice .This course encouraged me to learn further and complete projects on my own.

By Prasad K

May 11, 2020

The Overall Content and the flow of the course has been amazing. Prof. Ian has been clear in his deliverable and makes the learning more interesting.

By Luigi M

Nov 27, 2017

Very interesting course as introduction. Particular nice are topics as Embedded Systems and Wireshark. The professor's explanations are very clear...

By Vanessa d O V

Dec 13, 2016

The material is interesting as well as the lectures. Also, the method of evaluation is very good, as it allows the users to interact with each other.

By Meryama N

Dec 7, 2015

Professor is awesome, he explains the material very well, providing many examples and repeating keywords... I would love to take every course of him

By Sri K R A P

May 2, 2020

Really Professor Ian Harris did very well, by explaining complex or difficult things in an easy and simple way. Peer reviewed assignments are good.

By Y R

Apr 28, 2020

It is a wonderful course which helps to know much information about IOT and embedded systems. Thank you coursera for providing such a great course.

By doodi v s r k

Dec 29, 2019

This course is exceptional in everything,it offers quality learning and well explained by the respected tutor.Looking forward to remaining courses.