Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
12,059 ratings
3,058 reviews

About the Course

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Top reviews

ME
Sep 17, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

PK
Oct 26, 2020

This course is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

Filter by:

2401 - 2425 of 3,048 Reviews for Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

By Godswill I

Jul 8, 2020

Great course on the introduction to IoT. I was only recommended by my school to take just this course in the series but I'll complete the specialization because I love the lectures. That's how good it is!

By Farheen A R

Aug 6, 2020

Nice course for beginners to get a brief idea about what exactly an IOT device is. Why do we use IOT devices and also it gives a good description on various technical terms we hardly get to understand.

By Gaurav V

May 29, 2020

Key points were mentioned regarding Connectivity. Also need and selection microprocessors were told in addition to merits and demerits of IoT application in real life. Suggested to go for the course

By Anish M

Nov 9, 2019

The course covers the basics of the Terms which are used in IoT systems and introduces you to some networking terms. Not a lot of hands-on stuff. Expecting a lot of stuff in the upcoming courses.

By Carlos E C V

Jan 25, 2017

This course does a great job introducing terms of embedded systems and IoT. Although the week 4 about internet protocols needs more lessons and lectures to get clear ideas before the final work.

By haridas P

Mar 19, 2021

Some amount of high level programming also could have been included (Arduino/Rasberry). The introductory video which show cased the lab gave an impression that such things will be covered..

By Nitin N

Jun 20, 2020

Comprehensive coverage of basic terminologies and an introduction to network protocols necessary to understand IoT and Embedded Systems. Serves as a good base to develop further knowledge.

By Tarun P M

Jul 5, 2020

Overall the course was good, But the only limitation which I felt was that the instructor was teaching in a very fast pace. So I had to repeat viewing certain videos with a new concept.

By Liu W L A

Jul 5, 2020

It is good to understand more about the IOT and embedded system as well as internet. As IT industry is changing everyday, the course gave some idea of the new things of the world.

By Mathew W C

Aug 23, 2018

Great overview. A little basic, but most likely a solid foundation for individuals with absolute zero IT experience/knowledge. Regardless, a good course. Thanks for the effort.

By Himansu Y

Jun 12, 2020

Best course For start your journey Towards IOT & EMBEDDED SYSTEMS

GOOD THING ABOUT THIS COURSE IS TO START FROM BASICS SO EVERY ONE EASILY UNDERSTAND ALL THE DETAILS OF THE COURSE

By HuangChao

Jun 4, 2018

This course covers some fundamental and basic concepts and practice about embedded systems, which can help you access the world of IoT more easily. Professor is good at teaching.

By Ziad E T H

Feb 10, 2020

i need to see everything that you describe

for instance, if you are talking about IP core so u wanna see

i think i would be great to provide some links and resources to study more

By Joseph F

Jul 8, 2020

Excellent course. Easy to follow with plenty of insights. The projects were occasionally confusing- possibly due to updates in software that change how features are accessed.

By SAURAV K

Apr 25, 2020

I like this course it enhance my basic knowledge in various fields like embedded systems, ADC, DAC , operating system, microcontroller etc. Thanks for teachings Mr. Harris.

By TELAGAM U

Sep 3, 2016

It is an Excellent course. First i will thank to coursera for provide these type of courses.Students must get a very good knowledge when they did attend the all sessions.

By Akash K

May 6, 2019

Course contents should have been broader to sync with Live examples. Yet, profession is so experienced in minimizing every concept to understandable slides. Thanks.

By Pushpdant M

May 21, 2020

This course actually just give introduction to internet of things you not supossed to thing with this course

you started building Iot device and become Iot expert

By Pablo S S

Aug 27, 2016

This course has been in overall complete, I feel there should be more practice, If you do this course don't expect practicing, only learning and having quizzes.

By Jaiyam S

May 29, 2016

This course provides a very good introduction to Internet of Things for beginners. However, the topics are not covered in much depth and feel a bit superficial.

By Billy G R

Aug 28, 2019

The course was very nicely scheduled and thanks to Prof. Ian Harris the content was easy to understand. Even for me being a non-computer background student.

By Mainak M

Mar 21, 2021

This course was really nice for beginners and concepts taught were crystal clear and very precise. Recommended for people new to embedded systems and IoT.

By Sandeep K R

Aug 27, 2020

"It is a top qualitycourse. Keep going, we need this type ofcourseto improve our studies. Excellent. Thank you!!""Well done. Good course. Excellent tutor"

By Gideon S

Nov 26, 2020

It was great and the lecturer was very knowledgeable. But I didn't like that he says a lot of unnecessary things and sounded almost incoherent sometimes.

By Lakshay J

Jul 18, 2018

Course is really great. It gives student a basic understanding of everything in embedded systems and IOT and Encourage user to dive deep into this stuff.