Chevron Left
Back to Israel State and Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Israel State and Society by Hebrew University of Jerusalem

4.7
stars
267 ratings
73 reviews

About the Course

Israel is a country that draws a lot of public attention around the globe. Nevertheless, both those who support Israel and those who are critical of its geopolitical standing and policies, usually have a very limited knowledge about the Israeli society and its political system. This course presents Israel from multiple perspectives - political, social, economic and cultural - in an attempt to expose the learners to a cutting edge academic research on the country. Each of the 13 sessions is focused on one aspect of the Israeli society. Every session starts with a general introduction of the issue at hand, hosting one expert or more, who share their most recent studies and insights on that specific field. Every 15 minutes, or so, the students are asked to answer an informative quiz of comprised of a single question. Upon the completion of each class, an online chat will be opened. Students studying for credit are expected to participate in it, ask relevant questions and answer questions about the required readings for this class. Students will graduate from this course with a better understanding of the Israeli society, better knowledge of the Israeli history, politics and economy, and better acquaintance with the varying groups of which the Israeli society is comprised....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 30, 2019

well and thorough explanations of important topics that allows us to understand Israel State and Society.\n\nI also didn't find the course biased which is a good thing.

BD
Jan 18, 2017

Very informative, and engaging, videos. There are however no links to useable reading texts, which is a shame. But the content of the videos are of incredible value.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 70 Reviews for Israel State and Society

By Ekaterina

Jun 11, 2017

It was an interesting course, especially week 13. I didn't like the background on video and sometimes the quality of the video. Please, change it, it is so hard to watch this crazy blue wall for an hour and more.

By Afaque R A

Mar 28, 2017

Except for the last lecture on Jerusalem, I loved each and every lecture in the course. Also, the quizzes should have been a little longer, i.e. with more questions, at least 3-5 questions for each week.

By Mary E

Dec 26, 2020

One of the most informative courses I've taken. If you really want to know what Israel is all about this is definitely the course to take. It will open your eyes and mind about Israel. Highly recommend.

By Diego d R V M

Apr 8, 2020

I really loved this course! THanks Coursera, thanks the HEbrew University of Jerusalem for this opportunity. I will keep on learning and hold this diploma as an award! Thanks again!! Diego da Rocha

By junko y o

Feb 2, 2020

It is very well understanding for Israel society and political movement by only 14 hours. It is best lecture until now for Sate of Israel

By Leonard B

Oct 27, 2020

An impressive general coverage of Israel - its' origins, its' development and its' evolution into the modern state.

By Daniel S M

Dec 22, 2019

Thanks for the course, helped me a lot. Almost all of the lecturers were unbiased (except week 8), that's good!

By Waad A

Jun 5, 2020

Nice way of explaining the historical information, all Professors are nice and teaching nicely.

By Hannah L

Nov 16, 2020

Vey informative and shows a number of different aspects of the society, and how it formed.

By Wiryanta M

May 28, 2020

Thank you very much. I learned to understand Israel, the country, and its culture.

By Kaiser O

Mar 24, 2017

Well made and really amazed by the effort of objectivity done by the teachers

By LUIGI S

Jan 12, 2021

Amazing course, very professional and detailed video. Excellent experience

By SERGIO F B

Jan 28, 2017

Achei o curso muito bom, contêm informações relevantes e qualificadas.

By Tricia K

Oct 27, 2020

This was a very interesting course, very well organized and thorough.

By Konstantinos L

Mar 20, 2021

Excellent organization, very good guest lecturers, enjoyable course!

By Jose R R T

Apr 3, 2021

exelente curso , muy buenos instructores , un tema apasionante

By muniba m a

Nov 4, 2020

النظر إلى اسرائيل من زاوية أخرى لكن لن تغير من نظرتنا شيء

By Olaf D

Apr 1, 2017

A very, very interesting course. I enjoyed every minute!

By Clax D

May 7, 2020

A deep analysis of what Isarael and its society is.

By Dzina L

Jun 15, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much! Thank you!

By Marcus J

Aug 13, 2019

very thorough and informative.

By Fernando A L A

Jun 6, 2020

Fantastique! Merci beaucoup!

By JOHN Q

Jun 4, 2017

Interesting course. Thanks.

By Charis C D

Apr 9, 2020

Very insightful course!

By Winston A W

Nov 26, 2020

Excellent, thank you.