Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
13,304 ratings
2,287 reviews

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

DS
Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

DG
Dec 4, 2020

An absolutely engaging and challenging feat that I am so proud to have completed. I hope this opens new door and better job opportunities so that I can better enhance my future. Thank you Google :)

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 2,308 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Brian J

Jul 9, 2018

This course was so much fun while i was learning so much. I loved that every week there was something always funny i would catch and laugh at.

By Gayle L W

Feb 25, 2020

This was a very good course that significantly enhanced my general knowledge, understanding, and confidence in areas relating to IT Security.

By Kenneth W J

Dec 29, 2018

Google please bring more of these courses. Excellent courses and very knowledgeable. This was exactly what I was looking for.

By Галкин А В

Sep 4, 2018

A good, detailed course, I am glad that I completed it, new knowledge and skills have raised my professional level and expanded my education.

By Shahid A

Aug 10, 2021

This Professional certificate was awesome it was very effective containing all the information and all the hands on exercise and quick labs

By Nikhil V K

Apr 15, 2020

Wonderful course. It helped me get in-depth knowledge of security fundamentals to their practical implementation in today's IT organizations

By Noman A

Sep 18, 2021

Great Course, learned a lot from it. Perhaps more labs would have been even better. As I was very impressed with the previous courses labs.

By Brett R

Feb 17, 2021

This was my favorite course throughout the entire Google IT cert. The instructor was highly knowledgeable, concise, & clear. Excellent job!

By Jeremy R

May 17, 2020

This was the best course so far, it brought everything from previous modules into an excellent perspective from a cybersecurity standpoint.

By Neeraj H

Apr 27, 2020

One of the Best course by Google. Thankyou so much for teaching us different ways to secure our home network and Skills needed for the Job.

By Richard O

May 13, 2019

This course is power packed and an eye-opener. It arms you with the state of the art security concepts. I definitely recommend it to anyone

By Khalid K U

May 23, 2021

The contents were organized very professionally and made it easier to understand. The trainer knowledge and pronunciation was outstanding.

By Joetta S

May 9, 2021

I learned how to have good security for my computer, wifi router and phone. Also, a lot of ways to have security in a business. Thank you.

By Cathy E

Mar 25, 2021

Excellent course of study. I would highly recommend this Google IT Scholarship Program to anyone willing to devote time and effort to it.

By Soham S B

Aug 26, 2020

This course was great, I liked the way google teaches things and let's no one un-answered to any questions we might face in this learning

By Branly F L

Sep 3, 2019

One of my best courses and one of my best teachers was in this course, IT Security Defense.

Thank you very much Professor and Coursera..!!

By Michael E

Feb 12, 2021

Very interesting and comprehensive. It gave me a great overview of what IT Support is and prepared me perfectly for a change in my career

By ousmane d

Oct 5, 2020

Google is the best in the matter of the IT domain and this course has given me a depth understanding of IT security form zero to mastery.

By Denis J V

Dec 1, 2020

Bastantes temas interesantes y el enfoque que en un escenario real del departamento de TI lo hacen un excelente curso, full recomendado.

By Nahue A

Oct 24, 2020

Excelente curso! adquirís un conocimiento muy importante de la seguridad informática. sinceramente estoy muy satisfecho con este curso.

By Joy R

Sep 21, 2018

I learned a lot in this course. The instructor was very easy to follow and explained things well. I would take additional google course.

By Erika H

Sep 17, 2021

I​t was not easy, but certainly worth it. The "Pandemic" made me realize the importance of a more technology neccessity for the future.

By Braulio M d M

May 30, 2020

Excellent! Through a technical language, but using simple didactics, he manages to achieve the goal of teaching and preparing for work.

By Jay J P

May 26, 2020

This Course proved to be very helpful.It has enlightened various regions of my understanding which i could have not achieved on my own.

By DHANDHUKIA R

Mar 3, 2020

This course really helped me learn basic of how to use security and how to apply learned skill in real life through practical exercise.