Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
16,285 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DS

Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

Filter by:

2476 - 2500 of 2,749 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By TSean G

Apr 11, 2021

I am excited about the completion of this course of instruction as it marks to completion of the program.

By Megha S

Jan 16, 2021

Insightful training on security from basic. Useful if you want to make a career switch in cyber security.

By Godwin I

Oct 20, 2020

A very great IT course. Thank you Google and Coursera for giving me this kick start into the IT world.

By Christopher M

Oct 21, 2018

Overall, great. But some of the videos need updating. There were some suggested readings but no links.

By David N

May 9, 2018

Who knew computers were so vulnerable. Excellent course to learn how to secure your IT infrastructure.

By Nicolas C

May 26, 2021

V​ery good training to gain IT knowledge, I only wish there would have been more practical projects.

By Mark W

Feb 12, 2018

Decent introduction to IT security. Goes over a lot of terminology and practices to secure systems.

By Emad A

Jan 18, 2022

tthecnical data should be put in text formate, saying them in front of a camera won't really help

By Andrew W

Oct 16, 2019

Aside from The Bits and Bytes of Networking, this was the most challenging, and rewarding course.

By Nyi N S

Dec 5, 2020

Good foundation for IT Security. Highly recommend and very suitable for IT support professional.

By aderito c

Oct 15, 2020

very interesting. i will recommended to my friends and people i know are interested in security.

By Hernani D

Sep 12, 2021

Em alguns vídeos as legendas simplesmente não funcionaram e os testes estavam em idioma inglês.

By John P R

Jan 2, 2021

Some of the lessons had too much material.. overload. Maybe a few more lessons should be added.

By SYED A M

Dec 18, 2019

I had no knowledge of security but this course has provided me the basic knowledge of security.

By PATRICK N T

Sep 23, 2020

A bit difficult but very interesting. have to review the lessons again a good number of times.

By Francisco D D G

Sep 30, 2019

basic complete review of normal policies and technologies in an enterprise setting. very good.

By Kelenda A

Jun 19, 2019

Very common sense social instructions. Technical portion to reinforce the social was helpful.

By Bryce M

Jun 30, 2022

A very good course with all explanations but often things were not very clear but managable.

By Jason

Jun 9, 2020

I made it!. I may forget a lot of this, but at least I can sat I sat down and completed it.

By Endia D

Mar 22, 2019

The google console is extremely glitchy and delays or inhibits completion of the course.

By Michael F T D O T N

Aug 27, 2020

It was a difficult course, which needed some more presentation format but i enjoyed it

By Mario E S J

Jun 25, 2020

Falto temas sobre ciencia de datos o inteligencia artificial aplicado a ciberseguridad

By Kseniia K

Jan 18, 2020

in general it's great and contains a lot of information, but could be better organized

By Shannon C

Aug 1, 2019

Informative but hard. A rubric prior to finishing the final project would be great!

By Tony R

Oct 21, 2020

I think the exams could be made better. The information and videos were excellent.