Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
16,220 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DS

Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,740 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By John G

Jul 2, 2021

The guy who's reading this course is a lot more interesting than the people in the 3rd and 4th google IT Support Professional Certificate's courses.

By chris v w

Dec 28, 2020

Yeah! I made it! Hard work but due to the support and clear lessons it was surely manageable. In those five months I learned a lot. A real eyeopner.

By AUGUSTO J E S

Dec 5, 2020

Estoy muy contento de conocer esta plataforma ya que he aprendido infinitamente, lo que mas me agrada es que van al punto. Gracias COURSERA y GOOGLE

By mcvean s

Jun 27, 2020

It is a really good course to learn about the fundamentals of IT security and a really good head-start towards gaining more knowledge in this field.

By Xiaoguang S

May 31, 2020

I like the topic what i have learned from this lesson, but i think we need more trial to understand and remember it, especially the firewall policy.

By David C

May 24, 2020

I love this class, challenging, but the way they explain everything makes it easy to understand! Keep practicing afterward and continue the journey!

By Michael P

Jul 24, 2018

Really enjoyed this course and the learning process. Thank you for offering this course series. Worth the money and it's been a lot of fun learning.

By D R

Feb 16, 2021

It was a lot of input but absolutely worth it! I did learn so much new things and how vulnerable we can be if we don't practice a internet safety!

By Carl R B

Jul 6, 2020

A very good course and it has opened up my curiosity to go further in depth. I will consider other IT related courses which will allow me to do so

By Steven C

Sep 30, 2019

I learned a great deal about IT security during this course. I had no idea how complex the framework of IT really was prior to taking this course.

By Christian R

Mar 5, 2019

Valuable information on every aspect of IT security. I wish the course could make a practice lab in a windows environment and not only on Ubuntu.

By MOHAMMADREZA P

Apr 24, 2020

It is really useful course that all IT support need to get it. you can learn many things about security. I definitely recommend it to all of you.

By Dominic J W

Aug 1, 2022

Overall, it was an excellent course. The primary frustration was with the minor glitches and hiccups that confused and prevented my progression.

By Roderick V

Nov 13, 2020

this is a very nice and very good course to take, though i am a novice but i learn a lot of things specially in the simulations through qwiklabs

By Steven B

Oct 29, 2018

Gives you a good set of information and ideas about IT security. The host was good and the material was good, it was a very good course overall.

By Michael M

Dec 15, 2020

Great Course, learned a lot, finally have a much better understanding of how things work, and feel it will definitely help further my career...

By Suhasnee G

Apr 20, 2022

Very interesting course and at each course i have been learning about new things. So thank you so much for allowing to gain this IT knowledge.

By Jonathan C

Jul 8, 2019

Best course out of all of them! This guy actually doesn't sound like he is reading off of a teleprompter and he knows what hes talking about!!

By addison m a

Oct 2, 2018

A must for anyone starting out in IT for basic understanding of the IT world around us. The skills and knowledge you learn here are invaluable

By Gabriel G

Aug 31, 2018

Material was well explained and easy to understand. Those who push themselves and manage their time may finish this course in the first week.

By Brian J

Jul 9, 2018

This course was so much fun while i was learning so much. I loved that every week there was something always funny i would catch and laugh at.

By Gayle L W

Feb 25, 2020

This was a very good course that significantly enhanced my general knowledge, understanding, and confidence in areas relating to IT Security.

By Kenneth W J

Dec 29, 2018

Google please bring more of these courses. Excellent courses and very knowledgeable. This was exactly what I was looking for.

By Галкин А В

Sep 4, 2018

A good, detailed course, I am glad that I completed it, new knowledge and skills have raised my professional level and expanded my education.

By Shahid A

Aug 10, 2021

This Professional certificate was awesome it was very effective containing all the information and all the hands on exercise and quick labs