Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
16,220 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DS

Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 2,740 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Jakie R

Sep 23, 2021

​Very knowledgeable course, I recommend this course to any that has a desire to expand their learning.

By GLEN B

Mar 9, 2021

Learned a lot in this particular course! Kudos to the presenter. The delivery of the content is great.

By mari m

Feb 15, 2021

This was so interesting and I hope to learn more in the future. Now I am going to get my resume ready.

By Evan B

Aug 21, 2020

Amazing Course. However I do wish we went a little more depth into the algorithms used for encryption.

By Saif J

Jun 26, 2020

Great Course with So much information and practical knowledge that can enhance your Professional field

By Chris F

May 10, 2020

I'm better prepared to secure my home network and start learning more about how to protect businesses.

By Andre B

May 13, 2022

I LOVE THIS COURSE. I NOW KNOW HOW TO HANDLE SPYWARE, MALWARE, AND RANSOMWARE.

THANKS FOR THIS STUDY.

By David E P Q

Sep 6, 2020

I have acquired a vast amount of knowledge on security and the different attacks that compromise data

By Nihad S

Jun 21, 2020

This is a professional course, i learned a lot of things about IT security and gained more experience

By Shakira S

May 14, 2020

This was the most interesting and best laid out course with the best intructor of the specialization.

By Angel J C V

Jul 15, 2019

This is a great experience and remarkable teaching. I was able to refine my skills and beyond. Thanks

By Vanessa B

Sep 7, 2021

Great lesson and progression in the course to touch on all the pertinent topics needed for basic IT.

By Harold R J

Jul 23, 2021

​this course really helped me understand computers so much more than I did before, thank you so much

By Ahmad A

Mar 14, 2021

its really fun and exhausted experience but there's a lot of things i could learned from this course

By Satwik D

Jan 26, 2021

A very intuitive and quite-in-detail IT security course for beginners. This is 1-Course-handles-All!

By Emel R

Jan 1, 2021

Great course for the beginners. Instructor did a great job of presenting the information. Thank you!

By Beatriz J

Jul 11, 2020

A healthy and secure workplace brings a better family and a ventilated communities around the world.

By Dwight E

Jul 3, 2020

Very informative! Provides all the fundamentals and more! This course is setting you up for success!

By Anthony C

May 24, 2022

There was so much more information than I thought there would be in this course. I learned so much!

By KINYUA M

Apr 1, 2022

It is comprehensive. The videos do have a lot of content, be sure to take some breaks to absorb it.

By Arturo G

Aug 17, 2021

Very interesting and complete course, but the lack of visual aids really hurt some of these videos.

By FESTUS A A

Aug 14, 2021

This was an excellent training. The method of teaching of the tutor was really great and fantastic.

By Kamanzi O

Jan 5, 2021

This course is hard and many but be strong and work hard because you will achieve what yoou deserve

By LEONEL Y V M

Nov 29, 2020

This is very usefull and now this is very interesting for the use of security growing in the world.

By Nshimiyimana J D D

Nov 5, 2020

thanks for evrrything Google , let me hope that i will find job , related to my career! ITsupporter