Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
12,842 ratings
2,222 reviews

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

DS
Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

DG
Dec 4, 2020

An absolutely engaging and challenging feat that I am so proud to have completed. I hope this opens new door and better job opportunities so that I can better enhance my future. Thank you Google :)

Filter by:

2001 - 2025 of 2,223 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Clay C

Sep 7, 2018

I would like more questions during the course. During the videos so that I can learn better. Atleast one per topic or definition.

By Mark H

May 3, 2018

Good coverage of material. Important things to understand.

I still found some topics to be confusing, even after re-watching them.

By Alberto C

Apr 30, 2021

Good beginning information, although it would have been beneficial to get more hands on experience on tackling security issues.

By Richard K

Apr 20, 2021

I have a bit of a challenge but all same I have been able to complete it. I will have to review more of such and work out more.

By Muhammad A

Oct 6, 2019

I would strongly recommend, when lecture is being played, show more of the process as animated instead of teacher's appearance.

By Kiera L C

Feb 21, 2018

Great course!! Easy to understand. Already knew most of it, just filled in some gaps. Instructor was funny and spoke clearly

By Aaron C C

Apr 18, 2019

I would have liked more hands on activities in this course. Other than that, there is a ton of information. Good course.

By Andrew G

Sep 3, 2019

There were some dead links in the readings that were used, but other than that I found it enjoyable and educational.

By Brad S

Mar 21, 2018

Description for the final assignment was too vague. Passed it on the second try but the target was not very clear.

By Abhinav K

Feb 27, 2021

I learned a lot of new things from this course which I was not aware of . it helped me to upgrade my skills.

By Adam C

May 26, 2020

Overall pretty enjoyable. Some of the quizzes in this section were challenging , but I suppose that is good.

By Alexis U R R

Jun 15, 2020

It was a good courser but, no well enough. I guess it could have less concepts and more practice exercises.

By Shivam K

Apr 28, 2020

Thank you google for this wonderful course! It provides a detailed overview of cyber security fundamentals.

By Tuang T

May 8, 2019

Lots of concepts, need more graphics and or graphics to stay on longer while instructor explains the topic.

By TSean G

Apr 11, 2021

I am excited about the completion of this course of instruction as it marks to completion of the program.

By Megha S

Jan 16, 2021

Insightful training on security from basic. Useful if you want to make a career switch in cyber security.

By Godwin I

Oct 20, 2020

A very great IT course. Thank you Google and Coursera for giving me this kick start into the IT world.

By Christopher M

Oct 21, 2018

Overall, great. But some of the videos need updating. There were some suggested readings but no links.

By David N

May 9, 2018

Who knew computers were so vulnerable. Excellent course to learn how to secure your IT infrastructure.

By Nicolas C

May 26, 2021

V​ery good training to gain IT knowledge, I only wish there would have been more practical projects.

By Mark W

Feb 12, 2018

Decent introduction to IT security. Goes over a lot of terminology and practices to secure systems.

By Andrew W

Oct 16, 2019

Aside from The Bits and Bytes of Networking, this was the most challenging, and rewarding course.

By Nyi N S

Dec 5, 2020

Good foundation for IT Security. Highly recommend and very suitable for IT support professional.

By aderito c

Oct 15, 2020

very interesting. i will recommended to my friends and people i know are interested in security.

By John P R

Jan 2, 2021

Some of the lessons had too much material.. overload. Maybe a few more lessons should be added.