Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
15,572 ratings
2,601 reviews

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DS

Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 2,624 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Wei-Chun V Y

Mar 13, 2022

This is a very informative course, explaining lots of introductory concepts, and it helps me get into the IT field.

By Jade H

Jul 11, 2019

The course was very informational and helpful. I am very thankful for this course and excited about the next steps.

By James N

Mar 21, 2019

I enjoyed this course. Setting up the company IT infrastructure was challenging and really made me think. Thank you

By Kymbat O

Jun 11, 2018

I would recommend this course for every modern user of computers as it gives the basic knowladge of educated usage.

By Dave C

Jan 12, 2022

Holy acronyms batman! This course definitely took me the longest to complete but was incredibly informative a fun!

By Viktor K

Oct 21, 2021

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it. The content is well organised and focused on practical situations.

By Bhanu S

Sep 27, 2021

This course teach you everything you need to know about basic IT to Advance Defense against the digital dark arts.

By tanvir i

Mar 23, 2021

Lots of the learning methods and new things I have never imagined that I could learn. Best platform for new learns

By julien n

Oct 25, 2019

c'est vraiment un cours très intéressant pour les connaissances de base sur la sécurité informatique. Great course

By Hayley H

Jan 25, 2019

I loved the instructor! He made the difficult material more fun with great teaching habits and puns along the way.

By Aleksandra V

Sep 7, 2018

Awesome. I loved detailed overview of the security and threats. And also the play on the titbit from Harry Potter.

By Mihlali M

Feb 1, 2022

It was informative and quite a learning curve for myself esspecially on the networking side and security as well.

By Bola K

Jun 1, 2020

This is an amazingly important course that taught me quite alot about IT security. Thank you for the opportunity.

By Rosemary P

Nov 28, 2019

It was an excellent course that had a higher emphasis on having learn the material as opposed to getting a grade.

By Clint M

Sep 4, 2019

The final was a little difficult and was a little overwhelming, but what it taught me will help me in the future.

By La T C

Jan 7, 2019

Security is the field that I would like to pursue. This gave me a look into the various areas that I can go into.

By Obaro O

Sep 28, 2021

Learning has really been fun, challenging and interesting for me. I learnt a lot. Thanks to Google and Coursera!

By Saketh V

Oct 18, 2020

I have learnt the basics of security required and to be followed not only in the IT industry but in my own life.

By Krishna T M

May 19, 2022

Does require interactive approach when explaining complex concepts like WPA2, perhaps more animations would do.

By john r

Dec 16, 2020

I Really enjoyed this course, it was easy to stay engaged with so much interesting information being presented.

By Sourabh N

Aug 27, 2020

Hurrey i completed the course, and i have learned a lot of things here, now i can start my own company as well.

By Kim R

Jun 17, 2020

I felt that this was a very informative course and definitely opened my eyes to security procedures and issues.

By Jorge C A F I

Jun 8, 2020

REAAAALLY GOOD. I really like this course. Is really complete and use all the concepts previously learned! .e.e

By Jeff D

Apr 3, 2020

Great course to learn terms and concepts, those things that are the building blocks of a great security system.

By Danielle B

Mar 11, 2019

This course was much more in-depth than I expected. It was definitely challenging, and I learned a great deal.