Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
22,235 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

OA

Jun 30, 2023

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

SM

Feb 28, 2024

I loved the whole experience beginning to end. I came in already having a BA from state university. Well organized, well produced, and combined with note-taking this course is a no-brainer. Go for it!

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 3,556 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Jocgelis G R

Jun 25, 2020

very impress with the way the course is designed. I will add more mini quizzes in the video just to grasp the material a bit better. specially when you are been bomb with so much information. but it was good.

By ANUBHAV M

Jan 11, 2019

One of the most useful and informative course i have come across so far. Really enjoyed learning from great instructors from Google and would love to learn from them in any such courses. Simplicity at its best

By Deanna B

May 15, 2024

I don't know how much I learned but I think I have learned the basics and they made it very easy to learn. I am confident that I will get a job and I have already recommended this course to a lot of people.

By Eugene J

Dec 14, 2019

I liked this course very much and I learned a lifetime worth of things where security is concerned. This course should be part of a training requirement before actually hitting the floor of your new position.

By Khalil N

Mar 21, 2021

This was my favorite course in series of Google IT Support Certificate , I really refreshed my security concepts and strategies and how to improve in any organization. everyone and everywhere needs security!

By Ram D

Aug 23, 2020

I had gained a lot of technical knowledge rather then i expected. I hope this course will be the key to success to every learners who wants to make their carrier in IT field. Thank you coursera team for all.

By Timothy A Y

Aug 1, 2018

Excellent course. There is a great deal on content in this class. The final project was a great summative testing tool. The final project process solidified the information for me. Great learning experience!

By Matthew R D

Feb 12, 2018

Difficult content with a good teacher. Some moments were hard to parse (albeit comprehensive), although Gian's reassurance that the high-level overview mattered more than the individual steps was heartening.

By Shane B

Jul 2, 2023

Fantastic course with so much to learn. This is the very basic fundamentals but very essential fundamentals that anyone wanting to get in to the IT industry needs to know. Thank you so much ofr this course!

By Michael S

Sep 30, 2018

Awesome. I'm a laid back slacker dude IT guy who's politically on the other side of this area WHICH IS WHY I benefited from the course. Will certainly be hardening one or two networks this year as a result.

By Alex K A D

Apr 2, 2021

I am very happy to be part of this course, It has really shaped my thinking on IT Security and it is going to help me secure myself against the bad guys...Thanks to Google and Coursera for this opportunity

By James C

Sep 23, 2020

This was a fantastic course. There is a lot of good information packed into it. Don't be nervous about the amount of work that it looks like. It was very straight forward and very easy to pay attention to.

By elvin p

Sep 17, 2020

Excellent Course, Discusses in detail the most popular attacks in use by malicious actors today, even though these are very basic. They are the most common, therefore i would highly recommend this course.

By Danny C

May 27, 2020

Been a long journey but i learned a lot from this course. I hope that all the time and effort I put in will pay off. this was a very good course hope everyone else enjoys and learned from it like i I did.

By Rama K R

Apr 10, 2020

This Course is Pretty good!!! It makes us walk through all the key concepts of Security, right from the critical infrastructures to the end-users. Excellent stuff from Google. Thanks to the instructor!!!

By Gaddis, D

Jul 11, 2019

This was an awesome course, I learned so much more about how to protect all of the devices and networks that I will be utilizing. The Google team was very professional with all of the material presented.

By Carlos G

Mar 27, 2023

The course is designed for beginners and provides a solid foundation in the fundamentals of cybersecurity, making it an excellent starting point for anyone interested in pursuing a career in the field.

By Mike M

Jun 18, 2018

I enjoyed this course. The instructor was funny and the material was new to me. If you don't know anything about security, I feel that this course at least familiarizes you with the concepts and terms.

By Daniel T

Aug 17, 2023

A very comprehensive look at IT Security. I've learned everything from encryption and decryption to whitelisting, and how it pertains to real-world scenarios. Very useful to learn when it comes to IT.

By Nathan B

Aug 22, 2018

Good course! A lab using some of the tools like Nessus, OpenVAS or Qualys, and a lab demonstrating

penetration testing or vulnerability scanning could help learners better visualize these processes.

By Yogesh G

May 11, 2023

It's a great study experience to participate in program. I received certificate from Google to upgrade knowledge and online certification. i.e. IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By SIRAJUDEEN A G

Nov 25, 2021

An absolutely engaging and challenging feat that I am so proud to have completed. I hope this opens new door and better job opportunities so that I can better enhance my future. Thank you Google

By Ma'murjonov O

Apr 28, 2024

Which types of skills should you include in your resume’s skills section? Select all that apply. 1 балл whitch one Data-related skills Soft skills Interpersonal skills Technical skills

By Luzdary S

Sep 28, 2019

Fue muy interesante eme encanto, pude aprender muchas cosas que no sabia y todo esto va ser muy util para todos los trabajos que encuentre de ahora en adelante, gracias cousera. Gracias Google

By kiran A

Nov 21, 2023

This course provides a basis for developing safe onlne envronments. It helps understand the security issues and safe surfing.I liked going through the course. It helped me understand things