Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
22,423 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

DS

Invalid date

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

LS

Invalid date

Fue muy interesante eme encanto, pude aprender muchas cosas que no sabia y todo esto va ser muy util para todos los trabajos que encuentre de ahora en adelante, gracias cousera. Gracias Google

Filter by:

3451 - 3475 of 3,581 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Arthur A

Jun 16, 2022

g

By Sharita G

Jan 29, 2022

By Dayci R

Jan 23, 2022

i

By 7HAKUR

Dec 7, 2021

I

By Tuoyo A

Sep 14, 2021

S

By Narendra V

Aug 15, 2020

h

By Charles J

Oct 20, 2019

-

By DeVaughn H

Mar 26, 2021

I appreciate all who tried their best to make this course, but it just didn't work out for me as well as i wanted. I feel like i didn't retain much information, and that a lot of words and topics were thrown at me so quickly. There were virtually no useful or practical things to do to help us learn hands on either. There were also a lot of things that were not explained properly in depth and that are skimmed over. There are even things mentioned in previous lessons or sections that we don't learn about until much later, but is also glossed over a bit. I dont mean to bash the instructors and the other people behind the scenes who put this together, but at a certain point, i honestly just downloaded the text from the videos to teach myself better. Some videos is someone just reading the text with no prompts or diagrams for 7+ minutes, and videos that have prompts are...almost useless to be honest. I appreciate the attempt at diagrams, but they're not really useful to follow along that much. Anyway, there's more to unpack but my fingers hurt lol. There was some good, like i learned a lot of cool stuff, even tho little portions of the information wasn't useful to my graded quizzes. I hope this course works out for any others that wanna try it. its good to get your feet wet in IT.

By Todd R

Jan 6, 2023

I like the part about how tcp/ip works the most. The security stuff was a bit over my head. I worked with printers years ago and used to see issues with laptops that couldn't print quite often. I read online that Jewish vocational service has a program where they say you need google IT and they can get you a job, but the economy isn't so good anymore, so that may no longer be true. I used to fix printers at work for 12 years and occasionally diagnose a bad laptop for IT. Maybe it's beyond the technology, but they need to put a bad pc in front of the students online and tell us the problem , so we can diagnose it. I used to see corrupt operating systems that stopped printing, laptops not getting required updates and extremely slow pcs with full hard drives. They need examples of broken pcs. I even saw a pc that spat out gibberish on startup. The bios on the motherboard was corrupted somehow.

By Manuel S

May 31, 2020

-Not very well structured; probably you could categorize better the topics of weeks 5 and 6. For example, the steps of incident handling are not very clearly differentiated: I assume they are detection, contention, correction, and testing... but I could also set analysis and recovery as separate steps.

-Some topics include too much in-depth information, like different forms of authentication, making it difficult to discriminate important information and technical details. Also, the way they are presented makes difficult to differentiate which of them are intended for authn., for authz. or for both.

-Final project evaluation was disappointing. I spent several days working and researching just to find out that I could had input "lorem ipsum" in the textbox to get approved. I expected some specific feedback or peer reviews like in other courses.

By Jacob T M

Jun 25, 2022

I loved this course! I feel bad giving three stars because the material was obviously 4 stars/maybe even 5 stars!

What needs work:

He is why I did not give it an additional star: The quizes were too lenient. There should be some kind of punishment or drawback to failing too many times, other than having to wait 24 hours to try again. Also, I think a larger question pool that questions for quizes are pulled form would be better so students can't just retake the same quiz and pass it that way.

And maybe remove the step-by-step in the qwiklabs.

What was great:

The host and the information presented.

The aditional readings.

What would be nice: A list of all the further readins at the end, or maybe even a printable sheet with organization names and their duties and maybe a "cheat sheet" with commonly encountered software/command line tools

By Dylan P

May 6, 2021

I found this course experienced issues similar to the The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking course. The content covered is mostly fine. There seems to be a tendency to cover too many concepts at once, then to either gloss over complicated concepts or to focus on them for a significant portion of the module. I found this often meant I was stuck in certain areas.

This was not helped by the quizzes which sometimes have poorly worded questions and ambiguous answers. Even in content I felt confident with, I often had to repeat quizzes due to lack of clarity in the questions and/or answers.

Overall, it is worth completing this course. I found it to be the most frustrating course out of the five IT courses. The content is worth learning and I hope the course can be reviewed to provide a better learning flow.

By rick c

Mar 11, 2020

I understand that the course only meant to serve as a jumping point but some retrofit is needed in terms of preparation and course work. Some areas are too vague and doesn't allow significant resources other than what is suggested on wikipedia and similar sites. Not alot of people tend to complete readings as a resource considering that they are paying for it each month as well.

Work on improving word assignments. Often times its too vague and doesnt provide enough details or the requirements/limitations. Provide a sample submission or document, this i'm seeing people strugglign with because they still dont understand the concepts laid out by the course.

By Herambh R

Mar 20, 2020

More animation would be appreciated as it helps in understanding like how the hardware and even software works as just by reading it doesnt help much anyhow i have to google it again to understand it in a better way. And i even think that explanation was not up to the mark as it lagged in the detail explanation it was like he explained things just from the surface like in wep he didnt explain like how eavesdropper is able to watch on communication between access point and user with shared key and in the same topic he didnt explained why we need two same encryption message to recover the shared key

By Eugene E

Dec 21, 2020

The course content and material was well prepared but I would strongly suggest this in the future delivery of the course. I personally suggest going more in depth of those terminology rather than just briefly explaining them in just 6-10 mins video should help more for an individual with 0% knowledge on IT security. It wasn't so much of challenge to me because of my pervious experience with IT security but newbies would definitely find it hard to follow in the course perfectly. Just my own thoughts.

Thank you

By hidenori n

Nov 11, 2020

Too much of camera work and the shot of instructors, who is reading the texts. The texts sounded like more in a written-format, which is a little bit hard to understand by listening to the instructor. The visual slide should be presented longer while the instructor is explaining the material. More slides could be utilized to help us understand complicated terms, systems and protocols. Also that way, I think it would be easier for the learners to memorize via visual in addition to the aural discussion.

By Letitia H

Aug 17, 2022

This course could have used smaller sections with more practical guidance. The videos mainly consisted of 1 person talking to the camera with a blast of a huge amount of information. This course at times was quite unbearable to get through. I understood some security concepts and the final project section with a rundown of how to implement the security controls for the organization was the one section where I feel it could help in real-world scenarios.

By Richard H

Nov 29, 2019

Overall this is a decent overview of security topics. I think the videos could be improved - there are too many 'talking heads' and not enough diagrammatic explanation. Also, the transcripts vary in places from what the speaker is saying - I suspect they are being created automatically.

I had no problems with the online labs, although I think that some instructions might cause learners difficulty whose first language is not English.

By Cory P

Nov 24, 2021

I feel like there is still a lot more to learn. This course covers a little bit of everything but not very in depth. I believe I will continue to get my CompTia certs, as those are a lot more in depth. This course felt like a good preview of what a career in IT is all about, however I do not feel confident enough in my knowledge yet to begin a career.

By palesa j m

May 15, 2021

I was looking forward to this course yet it was very disappointing that the instructor's delivery of the course was from a textbook. very hard to understand the content delivered unlike the previous courses in this certificate, not enough practical exercises as well, and feeling like i need to find and do another security course elsewhere

By Mareo J

Jun 29, 2020

Even though it shared a lot of information I believe that it needs to be updated with current and more relevant material. The instructor read off a lot of information that was given to him obviously but it needs to be a little better. I hate to say that I actually lost interest half way through the course.

By Gabriele G

Mar 3, 2019

Technical details on encryption algorithms and cypher methods to secure a network/IT infrastructure; Antivirus/malware detection and prevention; Disk encryption and growing a security-oriented company culture; All these aspects are interesting and useful to know from the Tech support role POV;

By Daniel W

Aug 24, 2022

Good information, but the when you get an answer wrong on the quizzes it tells you to go back and read a certain part of the chapter. But the videos and information isn't listed the same when you're looking at an overview of the course so it's difficult to find what video need to review.

By Markéta N

Oct 7, 2022

This course, unlike the courses before, lacked visuals. Some of the concepts could have been explained better...I rewatched the videos to understand these concepts better, but that didn 't help. Eventually, I found much better explanations on youtube or other websites.

By Matthew C

Aug 26, 2019

you really should use more animations in order to convey an abstract or conceptual point. when looking up the different types of encryption on wikipedia, they do a better job demonstrating it. where as, you guys do a better job of explaining the encryption process.