Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
22,423 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

DS

Invalid date

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

LS

Invalid date

Fue muy interesante eme encanto, pude aprender muchas cosas que no sabia y todo esto va ser muy util para todos los trabajos que encuentre de ahora en adelante, gracias cousera. Gracias Google

Filter by:

3476 - 3500 of 3,581 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Avril C

May 23, 2021

It's a good course, but not very comprehensive; they lay a lot of terms on you one right after the other and barely explain each one. Learning material is subpar at best as well; visuals are few and far between and many aren't properly marked or explained.

By Aglaia F

May 15, 2019

I was expecting a little more in depth coverage of the topics with labs to go with them. I think this course should be split in two and maybe earlier courses like the first and second course could be coalesced into one since they contain less material.

By Eduardo J G G

Apr 20, 2022

Sadly I did not enjoy the last module of this Certificate.Even thought all the information was important and interesting,the examples were lacking and the introduction to the knowleadge learnt in a real-life situation were barely there.

By Toni N

May 23, 2021

Enjoyed the clear presentation on the subjects. Did not care for the jumping back and forth from windows to linux. Felt that a more linear approach would be better for new learners. Also it does seem that the labs need to be updated

By Amer K S

Jun 13, 2020

This course was completely different than its predecessors in terms of mode of delivery. A lot of narrative descriptions, lots and lots of boring definitions and less practicality i.e.: supplemental reading in the form of videos.

By Josue G

Jan 30, 2023

if you have ADHD be ready to READ, take a lot of notes and watch the videos a bunch of times. it was more difficult for me unlike all the reviews i saw about it. glad i did it hopefully i can find a job now!

By Jan S

Sep 23, 2019

This course would greatly benefit if more practical exercises were included. The theoretical background was broad and well presented, but the shortage of actual exercises made it too transitory

By Ilias P

Mar 14, 2019

It's a great course! The only thing that isn't so good for me is the final project. You'll have to wait for someone (another student) to view and grade your project. And this takes some days!

By Abdullah J

Oct 22, 2020

The Course is amazing but lacks a lot of visual presentation and too much data to process without any supplemental material that visualizes the process sometimes.

Otherwise good course

By Eman A

Oct 26, 2021

A lot of unimportant and difficult information and details and a lot of things that cause confusion,, there is very little practical duties without learning it its lessons

By Matheus I

Sep 29, 2021

Some parts of it are very technically dense without much need for this level. Longer and more frequent quizes would be helpful, as well as labs and other exercises.

By Sheldon D

Oct 3, 2023

Spelling of my name is wrong on my certification I worked so hard for, and I have reached out multiple times before I was even done with the professional cert.

By Obinna N

Aug 27, 2021

I learnt a lot from the course. But the training materials can be improved to become more explanatory and easy to understand.

By Abdlrahman A

Jul 25, 2020

This is a heavy material that needs more diagrams and animations to simplify other than thi it`s very awesome and beneficial

By Darrean ( )

Jul 25, 2018

To long to grade stuff, going to have to give a poor review based on that , however the learning material is nice.

By Misel F

Feb 24, 2021

Could be more hands-on. Some stuff feel basic. A solid try by google to convert cheap-hands into future IT roles.

By Hank H

Jul 27, 2018

Would have liked some labs and more detail about services. VPNs, Reverse Proxies. IDS, IPS, all that jazz.

By Shek M T

Apr 8, 2022

The instructor just regurgitate keywords but does not take the time to explain any of the keywords.

By Deleted A

Jan 30, 2018

I thought they would Teach like security on different OSs and how to protect them, more hands on...

By WILLIAM B

Feb 14, 2023

The program would be better if the student has hard copies of the material to reference for test.

By A Q

May 11, 2023

I really learned a lot.I am capable to accomplish many tasks now.

This is such a Grace

By Alexandra B

Dec 21, 2023

Very tehnical, dont think i could have a job like this. hard to understand

By Ngoc Q P

Mar 23, 2020

There are a few of questions that had ambiguous answers (in my opinion)

By Ncholas L

Dec 29, 2023

Only decent because I got it for free from my local community college

By Rafael F

Aug 6, 2022

Poderiam incluir mais materiais práticos ao invés de tantos vídeos.