Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
22,286 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DT

Aug 16, 2023

A very comprehensive look at IT Security. I've learned everything from encryption and decryption to whitelisting, and how it pertains to real-world scenarios. Very useful to learn when it comes to IT.

Filter by:

3526 - 3550 of 3,563 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Rath P R H

Jun 13, 2021

Little bit difficult but I still can do it well and passed all of this course.

By Nicholas P

Apr 12, 2021

Good for someone who is a self learner and would like minimal hands on.

By samer s

Dec 12, 2022

I found it less data-info organized related to the previous courses.

By Piyaphong P

May 22, 2020

It was extremely difficult for me to understand.

By Naja M P

Jun 19, 2019

more specification when it comes to assignments

By Kingston W

May 7, 2024

i dont like cousera im glad its over

By Jeffrey H

Apr 2, 2018

Better than module 5

By Reginald G

Feb 22, 2023

Windows labs

By Daniel R

Jul 4, 2023

I am writing to express my disappointment and frustration with the Google IT Support Professional Course. As a student and customer, I had high expectations for the course, but unfortunately, my experience has been far from satisfactory.

Firstly, I found the virtual machine to be quite glitchy, which hindered my learning process. Additionally, I was dissatisfied with the explanations provided throughout the course, as they often seemed to miss the mark.

Moreover, the Operating System section did not meet my expectations, and one particular lab in the first section proved to be problematic. Despite my efforts, the lab never opened for me, yet I was surprised to find that I received a grade for it. Furthermore, I was informed that I exceeded the allotted time for the lab, which only added to my frustration. This situation reflects poorly on both Google and Coursera, and it is disheartening to encounter such issues.

Overall, I strongly believe that significant improvements are needed in the course. The Qwiklabs sections, in particular, were aggravating and not conducive to the learning experience, especially for individuals with busy schedules like myself. It is disappointing to find that the course did not cater effectively to the needs of adult learners.

Considering these factors, I must regrettably assign the Google IT Support Professional Course a strong D-. I hope that this feedback will be taken into account to enhance the course's quality and address the various issues that hindered my learning experience.

As a dedicated student and customer, I trust that you will take these concerns seriously and work towards creating a more satisfactory learning environment for future participants.

By Deleted A

Mar 31, 2023

Dear all,

I am writing to share my unfortunate experience with Coursera, an online learning platform that claims to offer a wide range of courses to help individuals advance their careers. I completed a course on this platform, but to my dismay, I received a certificate with my name misspelled. Despite reaching out to their support team multiple times, I did not receive any support or help to rectify this issue.

In addition to this, I found that the platform offers no real value. Anyone can access the contents of the courses on YouTube, and since Coursera does not provide genuine certificates, there is no real difference between watching the courses on YouTube or paying for them on Coursera.

I do not recommend anyone to waste their time and money on Coursera. The platform claims to offer a lot, but in reality, it offers nothing but fake advertisements and no support. It is disheartening to see a platform with such a large user base not provide adequate support to its students.

In conclusion, stay away from Coursera. There are other reliable and legitimate online learning platforms available that provide genuine certificates and offer real value to their students.

By Anthony R

Jul 19, 2021

Of all the courses, this was honestly the best one. However, most courses are filled with mistakes and errors, the modules don't work well, the information is outdated, and annoying jokes and liberal politics are forced on the student. This course should in no way be labelled as preparation for the CompTIA A+ exam. In information and conciseness, this course is far worse than Professor Messer's free YouTube series. The only thing this is good for really is the badge and credential, though I'm still not sure how much benefit this provides.

By Saba S

Jan 6, 2022

Hi, This is the same issue from over 6 months until now not solve so please solve it as soon as possible. When I'm in the "Partitioning and Formatting a Disk Drive in Linux" Lab I pushed "Start Lab" button I get this message: Sorry, your quota has been exceeded for this lab. I asked for help from the Help center but I got worthless help so I tried again and again and this is what I got after all: {"status":500,"error":"Internal Server Error"} So now What should I do?

خسرت نقودي بسبب إهمال المساعدة.

By Travis G

Oct 20, 2021

My review is the course isn't finished and Coursera isn't up to the task of hosting. I paid to be a beta tester.

A good bit of the labs didn't work and I can't even retake the last exam to finish the course. Coursera's support staff has assured me an engineering team will be looking into the issue eventually.

Is there good information in it? Yes. But could I do it over, I would do a slurry of CompTIA certs instead.

By Jai P N

May 11, 2022

Course contents are not bad. However, it is not easy to get certificate due to technical glitches in Coursera. In addition, there is no direct contact to share our problem and there is no resolution.

Why students have to suffer? I am not satisfied with services provided by Coursera. If I would have a option to give zero star, I must given zero sar but cursur doen not allow me to do this.

By Nick F

Oct 24, 2021

It is just a primer. This will get you a job in the chat-box helping people perhaps. Very unhappy worst $40 I ever spent. I have had zero job responses even from employers since taking this course. If Coursera can find me a job in this field granted the chat-box is all it qualifies you for then I will re-write this review.

By Tarek S

Jan 9, 2022

The course severely lacks visual aids and it is delivered in a robotic fashion that is not inspiring nor clear. At times the course felt like learning "vague security concepts" from an audio book. This is not how IT courses should be presented or narrated. The course format needs to be revised from the ground up.

By Sarah M

Jan 12, 2022

Finished all courses, did not recieve credly badge. Big waste of my money. I paid for this course because I needed the ACE credits. Now I still need to pay for a college class as well. Lazy on the part of the course administrators.

By Justin C

Aug 20, 2023

This is the worst course I have taken on your website so far. A ton of information and different terms being thrown at me very quickly without going into any real detail. I feel I have learned nothing.

By Hazen L

Jul 28, 2020

WHY my Cert is "Google IT Support", NOT "Google IT Support Professional Certificate"?

This chapter many thing is not must to know. All the course is Wide and Deep.

By ILYA S

Aug 1, 2023

Instructor was not relatable at all, spoke only using acronyms, motivated me to do self learning the whole time.

By Hala E Z

Jul 4, 2023

Linux Labs don't work. I have reached deadlines and I have to pay again and The support team are still trying!!

By Theodore J D

Mar 12, 2019

just horrible through and through.

did not learn a single thing.

no redeeming qualities what so ever.

By Michael W

Sep 26, 2023

cant open the assignment "rejected" video says coursera is down for maintenance only on this task

By Brenda C

Mar 24, 2023

I got confused and cant seem to understand the [job Id] part and after that

By Joshua S

May 2, 2021

heavy on definitions but not implementation