Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
12,585 ratings
2,186 reviews

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

DS
Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

DG
Dec 4, 2020

An absolutely engaging and challenging feat that I am so proud to have completed. I hope this opens new door and better job opportunities so that I can better enhance my future. Thank you Google :)

Filter by:

1951 - 1975 of 2,179 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Shubham s

Jun 26, 2020

One of the best course conducted by google and on coursera platform loved the course and was a very fantastic experience. That's all Thank you coursera

By Wales B N

Apr 6, 2020

Great and Interesting. There's always room for improvement. Thanks Google Coursera. I appreciate a lot for this opportunity and I look forward to more.

By Kelly P

Feb 8, 2019

I would have liked more opportunities for labs and to learn how to implement the security infrastructure systems rather than do peer-reviewed papers.

By Ryan D

May 9, 2021

I found some of the class acronym and discussion heavy. More graphics and real world examples may have made the material a little easier to digest.

By Jayprakash T

May 26, 2020

Practical things are less but course for theoritical knowledge in working of the things are excellent....speaker is good for explaination

By Nazmul h j

Dec 1, 2020

Entry level course with lots of topics explanation. overall very supportive lectures. More practice lab scenario will be very helpful.

By Mortimer L

Mar 11, 2019

Though this course is at the introductory level, it is quite intense. Great tutors, excellent labs and decent extra reading materials.

By Christopher C

Aug 26, 2018

The teachers were awesome. Some of the labs were faulty and didn't give good explanations, but the information in general was awesome.

By Richard

Jun 16, 2020

It was a hard and fun ride. I'll be sure to revisit this course for a refresher as it did all the introduction of what being an IT is

By Valerio D R

Sep 7, 2018

Very good course. Maybe some more practical examples would be nice, like placement and setup of hardware components in the network

By Clay C

Sep 7, 2018

I would like more questions during the course. During the videos so that I can learn better. Atleast one per topic or definition.

By Mark H

May 3, 2018

Good coverage of material. Important things to understand.

I still found some topics to be confusing, even after re-watching them.

By Alberto C

Apr 30, 2021

Good beginning information, although it would have been beneficial to get more hands on experience on tackling security issues.

By Richard K

Apr 20, 2021

I have a bit of a challenge but all same I have been able to complete it. I will have to review more of such and work out more.

By Muhammad A

Oct 6, 2019

I would strongly recommend, when lecture is being played, show more of the process as animated instead of teacher's appearance.

By Kiera L C

Feb 21, 2018

Great course!! Easy to understand. Already knew most of it, just filled in some gaps. Instructor was funny and spoke clearly

By Aaron C C

Apr 18, 2019

I would have liked more hands on activities in this course. Other than that, there is a ton of information. Good course.

By Andrew G

Sep 3, 2019

There were some dead links in the readings that were used, but other than that I found it enjoyable and educational.

By Brad S

Mar 21, 2018

Description for the final assignment was too vague. Passed it on the second try but the target was not very clear.

By Abhinav K

Feb 27, 2021

I learned a lot of new things from this course which I was not aware of . it helped me to upgrade my skills.

By Adam C

May 26, 2020

Overall pretty enjoyable. Some of the quizzes in this section were challenging , but I suppose that is good.

By Alexis U R R

Jun 15, 2020

It was a good courser but, no well enough. I guess it could have less concepts and more practice exercises.

By Shivam K

Apr 28, 2020

Thank you google for this wonderful course! It provides a detailed overview of cyber security fundamentals.

By Tuang T

May 8, 2019

Lots of concepts, need more graphics and or graphics to stay on longer while instructor explains the topic.

By TSean G

Apr 11, 2021

I am excited about the completion of this course of instruction as it marks to completion of the program.