Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
12,882 ratings
2,232 reviews

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

DS
Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

DG
Dec 4, 2020

An absolutely engaging and challenging feat that I am so proud to have completed. I hope this opens new door and better job opportunities so that I can better enhance my future. Thank you Google :)

Filter by:

2176 - 2200 of 2,232 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By hidenori n

Nov 11, 2020

Too much of camera work and the shot of instructors, who is reading the texts. The texts sounded like more in a written-format, which is a little bit hard to understand by listening to the instructor. The visual slide should be presented longer while the instructor is explaining the material. More slides could be utilized to help us understand complicated terms, systems and protocols. Also that way, I think it would be easier for the learners to memorize via visual in addition to the aural discussion.

By Richard H

Nov 29, 2019

Overall this is a decent overview of security topics. I think the videos could be improved - there are too many 'talking heads' and not enough diagrammatic explanation. Also, the transcripts vary in places from what the speaker is saying - I suspect they are being created automatically.

I had no problems with the online labs, although I think that some instructions might cause learners difficulty whose first language is not English.

By palesa j m

May 15, 2021

I was looking forward to this course yet it was very disappointing that the instructor's delivery of the course was from a textbook. very hard to understand the content delivered unlike the previous courses in this certificate, not enough practical exercises as well, and feeling like i need to find and do another security course elsewhere

By Mareo J

Jun 29, 2020

Even though it shared a lot of information I believe that it needs to be updated with current and more relevant material. The instructor read off a lot of information that was given to him obviously but it needs to be a little better. I hate to say that I actually lost interest half way through the course.

By Gabriele G

Mar 3, 2019

Technical details on encryption algorithms and cypher methods to secure a network/IT infrastructure; Antivirus/malware detection and prevention; Disk encryption and growing a security-oriented company culture; All these aspects are interesting and useful to know from the Tech support role POV;

By Matthew C

Aug 26, 2019

you really should use more animations in order to convey an abstract or conceptual point. when looking up the different types of encryption on wikipedia, they do a better job demonstrating it. where as, you guys do a better job of explaining the encryption process.

By Avril C

May 23, 2021

It's a good course, but not very comprehensive; they lay a lot of terms on you one right after the other and barely explain each one. Learning material is subpar at best as well; visuals are few and far between and many aren't properly marked or explained.

By Aglaia F

May 15, 2019

I was expecting a little more in depth coverage of the topics with labs to go with them. I think this course should be split in two and maybe earlier courses like the first and second course could be coalesced into one since they contain less material.

By Toni N

May 23, 2021

Enjoyed the clear presentation on the subjects. Did not care for the jumping back and forth from windows to linux. Felt that a more linear approach would be better for new learners. Also it does seem that the labs need to be updated

By Amer K S

Jun 13, 2020

This course was completely different than its predecessors in terms of mode of delivery. A lot of narrative descriptions, lots and lots of boring definitions and less practicality i.e.: supplemental reading in the form of videos.

By Jan S

Sep 23, 2019

This course would greatly benefit if more practical exercises were included. The theoretical background was broad and well presented, but the shortage of actual exercises made it too transitory

By Ilias P

Mar 14, 2019

It's a great course! The only thing that isn't so good for me is the final project. You'll have to wait for someone (another student) to view and grade your project. And this takes some days!

By Abdullah J

Oct 22, 2020

The Course is amazing but lacks a lot of visual presentation and too much data to process without any supplemental material that visualizes the process sometimes.

Otherwise good course

By Abdelrahman A M

Jul 25, 2020

This is a heavy material that needs more diagrams and animations to simplify other than thi it`s very awesome and beneficial

By Darrean S

Jul 25, 2018

To long to grade stuff, going to have to give a poor review based on that , however the learning material is nice.

By Misel F

Feb 24, 2021

Could be more hands-on. Some stuff feel basic. A solid try by google to convert cheap-hands into future IT roles.

By Hank H

Jul 27, 2018

Would have liked some labs and more detail about services. VPNs, Reverse Proxies. IDS, IPS, all that jazz.

By Deleted A

Jan 30, 2018

I thought they would Teach like security on different OSs and how to protect them, more hands on...

By Ngoc Q P

Mar 23, 2020

There are a few of questions that had ambiguous answers (in my opinion)

By Daniel M

Dec 4, 2019

kinda rough with a lot of info that you will need to go over again

By Tania L

Feb 12, 2021

Not enough hands-on practice just a bunch of terminology.

By Emmett H

Mar 30, 2020

It was a ton of information but I got the most of it.

By AbdAllah A A H

Oct 30, 2020

the course was long and hard to focus in every thing

By Quanbin S

Oct 10, 2019

this course has too much information but less lab.

By Lonnie M I

Jul 20, 2020

was not hard enough after the first 2 courses.