Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
stars
2,883 ratings
771 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

RB

Aug 3, 2020

This course will provide all basic information of android and it will also help you to understand the fundamental of java which is used in android. It really help me to improve my skills in android.

SV

Jun 27, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 774 Reviews for Java for Android

By SUMIT R

May 30, 2020

provide better understanding of java for android with quiz and assignment..most experience faculty teach us...thanks..to coursera

By Ashutosh K

May 31, 2020

Topics were deeply covered, good organisation of the contents in the MOOC. Assignments were also interesting and outcome based.

By CHANG-WOO K

Dec 21, 2020

It is a good start for everyone to learn android. Simple examples and concise explanation were very good to build a good base.

By Yasser R

Sep 10, 2019

This course is awesome for anyone who wants to kick-start learning Java for Android and to dive into the world of programming!

By Ayush M

Sep 7, 2019

I learn a lot about java in this course and that will surely help me to have a good concept and base building block n android

By adefunke A

Mar 12, 2017

It was quite educating and challenging, it made me explore other coding options and see the importance of commenting my work.

By Margaret P

Sep 30, 2016

I feel I have really solidified my understanding of Java basics for the purposes of learning the Android development platform

By ABHISHEK S

Aug 1, 2016

Course was really good.

If someone is not having any coding experience then also he can learn with the help of these courses.

By Ali M

May 23, 2020

Awesome course and well done material that can help you put your feet on the right road to become a good android developer.

By Salma E G T

Jul 8, 2019

El curso esta genial, muy buen material, pero aun no me califican mi calculadora sera que me puedan ayudar a calificarla :(

By Shahbaz Z

Jan 17, 2018

Great course , excellent teachers , got many things related to java for android. which help me to gain more skill in java .

By tammam k

Nov 23, 2020

VALUABLE INFORMATION, BY TAKING THIS COURSE YOU WILL TAKE THE FULL PICTURE & ADVANTAGES OF JAVA SPECIALLY GENERICS AND OOP

By Shrihari K

Sep 2, 2020

Excellent course I have ever seen. I have gained the in-depth knowledge of Java programming with Object Oriented Concepts.

By Janhavi S

Jun 4, 2020

Great course imparting deep knowledge on Java for android programming making it a cake walk to develop android apps now.

By prateek c

Sep 24, 2020

I Love this course and have also recommended my friends regarding this course, please continiue bringing such courses.

By Sucharitha V

Aug 2, 2017

The quizzes and assignments are well designed to strengthen the basic concepts. Good course to work upon Java basics.

By Manisha D

May 18, 2020

It was good programming experience. I liked android programming. Need to do more advance courses in java for android

By Amrathesh

Feb 3, 2020

This course helped me to develop some cool apps,Thank you coursera for giving me the finacial aid for this course.

By Sitaram K

Nov 3, 2017

Very detailed course design and very systematic lecture delivery. Gery grateful to the team, thank you very much.

By SIDHARTH V

May 25, 2020

This course provides a brief understanding of Java from basics and how it is implemented in Android development.

By POOJAN V

Oct 2, 2020

It was great experience completing all the moocs and the assignments where i learnt a lot of amazing concepts.

By Shuhrat J

Apr 20, 2018

Currently I don't know how about the second MOOC , but the first MOOC are so usefull and enouth for beginers.

By kush m

Sep 3, 2020

This course is great for beginners who want to learn coding from scratch and implement it in app development.

By Sajjad A

May 26, 2020

Very interesting course. All the professors have very vast knowledge and experience about Android development

By Jonathan L

Nov 29, 2017

Excellent course! Hands on, variation in training methodology, excellent organizational structure. Well done!