Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,707 ratings
1,404 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,396 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Yi-Chia C

Feb 11, 2016

Great opportunity to learn java and put it into use to solve the real world problems. But it's a little hard for people who haven't learned java at all, but only learned C#.(object-oriented programming).

By Harshad B B

Apr 25, 2021

The course was well structured but I feel the content could have incorporated more concepts. I feel like there's so much basic JAVA that's not covered. But otherwise the teachers did a great job.

By MAYUKH S

Jun 9, 2020

I found it easy because I had some previous experience in java. But in some parts the things were not explained properly. That may cause problem to people who are new. Over all Good experience.

By João T

Feb 26, 2019

A basic practice approach for solving problems with a 7step formula for any kind of problem set, for any kind of programming language you use. A very basic approach to JAVA syntax and semantics.

By Jeongryul K

Sep 2, 2018

The Assignment explanations are little bit tricky. However, I love the professor's explanation, and I learned a lot about Java Programming. I really appreciate to learn from very nice professor.

By Weiqi Y

Aug 23, 2017

definitely not for beginners with 0 background. But it was just good on me. (make sure you know something about any kind of programming language first, or this course could be challenging )

By Michael V

May 13, 2020

Instructors are very clear & examples are helpful. The example data for assignments sometimes did not match the assignment examples. This is a good introductory course for Java programmers.

By Emil E

Jul 28, 2021

The start is confusing and I don't feel that the structure of java programs is well explained. However, the course is overall very good and once you get past the basics, is very rewarding.

By Federico C

Dec 12, 2018

The course and the instructors are very good, especially for people who have a minimum experience in programing. Consulting other resources (e.g. the Oracle Java Tutorial) might be useful.

By Aistis R

Oct 22, 2015

Thank you for the course, the only improvement i could think of is to improve contents for non English speaking people. E.g. You say decimal places, we say numbers after comma.

Thank you!

By Kailash B

May 6, 2020

Java programming course was great , I really Liked it but one thing I don't understand is why BlueJ software ? why not any other IDE such as esclipse ? beside it was really Helpful : )

By Venkat R M

Jul 31, 2021

this course will be little bit tough for begginers!. try to go for other course for begginer stage of javaa. and come to this course and you will gain more knowledge from this course

By Jean O

Mar 20, 2019

Great course. coming back to review this as it has made great impact on my everyday coding. Been a while since i completed it but it is arguably some of the best content on JAVA.

By Surajit B

Aug 6, 2020

Got a good learning experience from coursera. The best expeience what i got after completing the course that is the challenging part of the excersises..thanks to the professors.

By Ankur

Jul 2, 2020

this course is not enough for programmers but all teachers are good but Miss Susan H. Rodger is not explain properly but overall this is good for me ...Thanks Duke@Coursera

By Yanislav Y

Nov 1, 2020

I successfully finished my course, but i have a problem with my certificate. The name of the university is just missing. I will be gratefull, if you could fix the problem.

By Aditya B C

Jul 10, 2020

The overall course is very good. I face only problem in second week. last problem (Part 4) which I feel difficult because no any explanation is given about that problem.

By Pawel D

Nov 13, 2015

Interesting, but some assignments needs to be double checked. In my opinion some of the presented material is teaching poor coding practices for the sake of simplicity.

By akash v m

Apr 13, 2020

Great experience!

During the course session i have gain lots of knowledge about debugging as well as improving the skills to learn more details in terms of CSV ,etc..

By Sumit K

Jun 2, 2020

There was some technical problems during the examinations..!! But overall helped me alot :)

Thanks to all the team members its been an honor to learn from ya'll . :)

By Kaido K

Sep 24, 2020

I understand that repeating is mother of knowledge, but maybe there was too much repeting in the quizes. Basically everything, at the end was loopig over the files.

By Sachin k

Mar 14, 2017

Very good videos .. assignments were tough and few were confusing especially in strings .. I was challenged and got through the quiz with 100% which was satisfying

By Christopher D

Mar 4, 2020

The course provided a well paced and logic approach to introducing progressively more complex problems. I look forward to the new course in the specialisation.

By David S

Dec 18, 2015

In general a well made course. However, I do not yet see the advantage of using BlueJ over e.g. Eclipse, as most people won't work with BlueJ after the course

By Vijayalakshmi R

Dec 26, 2019

I like the way this course explained the building of logic from algorith,.But i didn't like week1's quz about geometry.Because i am not the fan of Geometry.