Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
5,754 ratings
1,201 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM
Oct 15, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 1,182 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Pawel D

Nov 13, 2015

Interesting, but some assignments needs to be double checked. In my opinion some of the presented material is teaching poor coding practices for the sake of simplicity.

By akash v m

Apr 13, 2020

Great experience!

During the course session i have gain lots of knowledge about debugging as well as improving the skills to learn more details in terms of CSV ,etc..

By Sumit K

Jun 2, 2020

There was some technical problems during the examinations..!! But overall helped me alot :)

Thanks to all the team members its been an honor to learn from ya'll . :)

By Kaido K

Sep 24, 2020

I understand that repeating is mother of knowledge, but maybe there was too much repeting in the quizes. Basically everything, at the end was loopig over the files.

By Sachin

Mar 14, 2017

Very good videos .. assignments were tough and few were confusing especially in strings .. I was challenged and got through the quiz with 100% which was satisfying

By Christopher D

Mar 4, 2020

The course provided a well paced and logic approach to introducing progressively more complex problems. I look forward to the new course in the specialisation.

By David S

Dec 18, 2015

In general a well made course. However, I do not yet see the advantage of using BlueJ over e.g. Eclipse, as most people won't work with BlueJ after the course

By Vijayalakshmi R

Dec 26, 2019

I like the way this course explained the building of logic from algorith,.But i didn't like week1's quz about geometry.Because i am not the fan of Geometry.

By WenHao Y

Nov 2, 2017

I have no prior programming experience beside the 1st course of this specialisation. It can be quite challenging at times but it's not impossible to finish.

By Umeshkumar S

May 28, 2020

It's very interesting courses are available in this platform. I am very your expert for his solving skills and mediation in program solving. Thank You...

By Douglas B

Feb 9, 2018

Helpful in learning the basics of Java strings, classes, data types, etc. Semi-interesting projects and assignments and quizzes that test your code well.

By Ashish S

Jan 6, 2016

Love the course structure, very simple. Teachers start with simple concepts and eventually solve real life problems, which sound very complex otherwise.

By Mona A

Jun 10, 2020

well it was a good course the only problem was this Bluej it didn't work on my linux i hope in the future you'll replace it for a better experience

By Shafiq I

Apr 24, 2020

A very well curated course with challenging assignments (I had a hard time completing them though), but learnt the basic well. Enjoyed throughout.

By Mujtaba Z

Oct 28, 2020

Some coursework had vague or confusing descriptions for methods. A lot of methods were also quite similar to others, leading to repetitive code.

By Ayyakutti A

Dec 10, 2017

Good flow, but the supporting document reference are very poor. Very hard to follow. Keep simple English difficult to understand in many Quiz.

By Tyler B

Aug 23, 2017

Week 2 is rough, quite frankly it's just a poorly implemented mess of frustration, but if you stick with it the second half is really solid.

By KABWE L A

Dec 22, 2017

Maybe, you should let us manipulate more the file, because the dukes library is doing much. But, in general this cours was interesting !!!

By Vivek K

Sep 7, 2019

It is good for beginner.It's provide me lot of basic knowledge of String.I have enjoyed too much.

Last week of work was so interesting .

By Musa M N

Dec 24, 2016

Incredibly comprehensive learning package which makes learning and skills acquisition easier. Kudos to the creators and instructors

By Beat N

Jul 13, 2020

I liked the content and the presentation. One input, though: I really would like to learn about unit tests early in the program.

By Stanislav S

Dec 9, 2017

Nice course, even though the 1st week assignments are not that good, but the rest of the course I enjoyed every single minute.

By Gabriel T

Feb 6, 2016

Great course and delivery!

If only there would be more help in the forums by assistants or tutors it would have gotten a 5 star

By Abhishek R

Mar 13, 2019

Great course! Sometimes the guidance was a bit confusing but after enough looking over my notes I was able to do it properly.

By Soumyajit P

Feb 18, 2016

Good course and quite unique approach... could have been more interesting and fun! Video presentation is too geeky at times.