Chevron Left
Back to English for Journalism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Journalism by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
2,192 ratings
736 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 12, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA
Feb 18, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 722 Reviews for English for Journalism

By natalia d p

Jun 8, 2020

This course is excellent. Yo can learn vocabulary, grammar and principles about journalism. All of them with good technology tools.

By Anastasia D

Nov 11, 2019

Thank you for such informative and interesting course. Wish I could continue it with new tasks and information. Very good teachers!

By Peter S

Mar 27, 2021

Great course, really enjoyed it.

One of the most interesting MOOCs I followed. Well made, excellent mixture of theory and exerices.

By Aygul A

Dec 9, 2016

It was a very nice and educational course for me. The exercises were fun and entertaining at the same time. I highly recommend it!

By Prabhu V

Sep 6, 2016

Ir is very wonderful course and it very valid course in India not only in india all over world journalist it 4th pillar of society

By Sakura M

May 18, 2017

It was my first time to complete online courses. It was competitive for me but I can tell I definitely improved my English skill.

By Paula M C A

Sep 19, 2021

I loved the course! Very complete, well explained. I liked the methodology, the quizzes and that not everything was peer review.

By Shahid S

Nov 2, 2018

I love this course. Very much practical. I thought internet courses would not be that much practical. But, it proved me wrong.

By zaidouni m

Apr 2, 2017

excellent cours ,dans lequel on apprend en plus de l'anglais pour journalisme,les bases du journalisme ,et c'est passionnant.

By Juan C L

Sep 26, 2016

English for Journalism by University of Pennsylvania has been an excellent program. Unhesitatingly recommend it. Thank you!!!

By Phuc H

Sep 11, 2020

Thank you so much. The course is very smart, with alot information and very useful for me. Hong Nguyen, VNExpress, Vietnam.

By María V

Aug 15, 2017

Excellent. I will like to purchase the course in order to have the certificate, Is that possible even though I finished it?

By Madeha l

Oct 30, 2016

I really liked the course its both useful and entertaining, i would recommend it for any one who's interested in journalism

By Anah C D R

May 31, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course, especially the use of English in journalism. Thank you for this experience/journey!

By Natalia

Jun 24, 2021

Muy bueno el curso, sirve mucho para practicar el idioma. Es sobre periodismo pero también podría ser de interés general.

By Worawan S

May 22, 2020

I wanna say thanks for this course. Thanks all the professors and the team for your hard work. Couldn't be more thanksful

By Iva V

Jan 4, 2017

Very useful course for people who are not sure in their English and has just started to work in the sphere of journalism!

By Emad K

Mar 26, 2017

This course to help you understand the basic processes of consumption and contributing to traditional and digital media.

By Jumhela J D

May 16, 2020

This course provides a lot of information and accurate and challenging evaluation. Thank you so much to the whole team.

By Williane S

May 5, 2018

Recomendo bastante o curso para quem quer atualizar os conhecimentos na área do jornalismo e evoluir na língua inglesa.

By Luisamaría T S F

Apr 18, 2017

A wonderful learning method for those who want to become professional writers and online reporters... 100% recommended!

By Noemi B

Apr 5, 2018

I have really enjoyed the course. It had a very easily understandable content, lot of activities and language quizzes.

By ana b

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent course. Very glad to participate in this interesting course. Congratulations for my teachers, great job!!

By Anh T

Nov 29, 2017

The course is very useful.

It helps me very much in writing, reading, listening and especially, Journalism Principles.