Chevron Left
Back to English for Journalism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Journalism by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
2,060 ratings
689 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 12, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA
Feb 18, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 667 Reviews for English for Journalism

By Anah C D R

May 31, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course, especially the use of English in journalism. Thank you for this experience/journey!

By Worawan S

May 22, 2020

I wanna say thanks for this course. Thanks all the professors and the team for your hard work. Couldn't be more thanksful

By Iva V

Jan 4, 2017

Very useful course for people who are not sure in their English and has just started to work in the sphere of journalism!

By Emad K

Mar 26, 2017

This course to help you understand the basic processes of consumption and contributing to traditional and digital media.

By Jumhela J D

May 16, 2020

This course provides a lot of information and accurate and challenging evaluation. Thank you so much to the whole team.

By Williane S

May 5, 2018

Recomendo bastante o curso para quem quer atualizar os conhecimentos na área do jornalismo e evoluir na língua inglesa.

By Luisamaría T S F

Apr 18, 2017

A wonderful learning method for those who want to become professional writers and online reporters... 100% recommended!

By Noemi B

Apr 5, 2018

I have really enjoyed the course. It had a very easily understandable content, lot of activities and language quizzes.

By ana b

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent course. Very glad to participate in this interesting course. Congratulations for my teachers, great job!!

By Anh T

Nov 29, 2017

The course is very useful.

It helps me very much in writing, reading, listening and especially, Journalism Principles.

By Abrahamyan G G

Aug 18, 2017

A informative and logically constructed course. Thanks to this course, I learned a lot of new and useful information.

By Rofiat A

Jun 16, 2020

This course was really an eye-opener for me. I've learned, relearned and unlearned a lot just by taking this course.

By Zanos A

Apr 9, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, thank you for the opportunity to learn some new things completely different from field

By Bárbara

Dec 13, 2016

Me ayudó bastante al momento de ejercitar mi oído para el inglés, tiene varias clases relacionadas con la gramática.

By Mário K L P

Sep 17, 2020

It was very good. Objective, simple, didactic and very pleasant. I liked very much. Congratulations to all of you!

By Jackson K M

Jul 23, 2019

The course has been very educative and with this knowledge obtained, i will wonder my scope of work in journalism.

By Иванова М Д

Mar 26, 2018

an excellent course for those who want to improve their basic knowledge of English and learn more about journalism

By Lucia M

Mar 25, 2017

It was an amazing introduction, and as a graduated journalist this refreshed a lot of things that I use everyday.

By Zack T N

Apr 3, 2021

Very knowledgeable course, short and concise for the beginners learning journalism and English at the same time.

By Tatiane d A C

Jun 28, 2020

O conteúdo sobre jornalismo é básico para quem já fez a graduação, mas vale muito pelo vocabulário e exercícios.

By tareem a

Nov 24, 2020

Wonderful course! I'm trying to find another course exactly like this they explain everything so well. Love it!

By Alabi G

Sep 17, 2020

It was an exciting study period . Thank you coursera for such a timeless opportunity to getting such knowledge.

By Abdul H

Aug 8, 2017

Really helpful, I have received a lot of information, knowledge of Journalism from these lectures and articles.

By Fabrizio M C

May 4, 2018

A very complete and informative course by excellent instructors. Recommend to anyone interested in journalism!

By Sonal P

Aug 22, 2020

It was a whole lot of new experience for me and it was amazing to be out there and learn what I wanted to❤️😇