Chevron Left
Back to Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
515 ratings
147 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Emerging Trends and Technologies in K-12! This course will help you evaluate and implement technology in the most useful way within your virtual classroom setting. We will discuss the possibilities and challenges of using technology in fully online environments, although many of the ideas can be applied to blended and traditional environments as well. This course is focused on emerging trends and technologies, specifically for K-12 instructors. Most of the content will be aimed at high school-aged students in the U.S., or ages 13-18 in other countries. Due to the nature of some of the internet-based technologies, young students are required to be 13 or older to participate. That said, many of the examples we discuss can apply to younger ages. This course is focused on virtual education. In other words, blended or fully online teaching and learning experiences. Nevertheless, you can apply the concepts to a traditional class, adult education, and higher education. Lastly, please note that many of the examples will be U.S. based. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: • Define educational technology's role in supporting the virtual environment. • Identify and evaluate existing and emerging technologies for virtual course instruction or curriculum development. • Use collaborative learning tools to design and assess learning activities. • Use game-based strategies to deepen student engagement in virtual courses. • Research, evaluate, and employ open content in virtual education. • Debate the role of MOOCs in virtual K-12 education....

Top reviews

CO
May 15, 2021

It gives me insights about the emerging trends that we may use in teaching. It also give me the list of possible OER and MOOCs that I can visit to get instructional materials to aide me in teaching.

DP
Jul 29, 2020

Maybe for me there wasn't so much new ideas but I count myself as advanced in ICT field also ;) But course is build up really well and this resource pdf-s in every week are especially good ...

Filter by:

126 - 144 of 144 Reviews for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

By Raheema M R A

Oct 16, 2020

Interesting but final quiz was taugh

By Preeti J

Sep 28, 2016

Informative but difficult course.

By Tania K

Sep 20, 2020

Lots of good tips and resources

By Alwielland B

Jul 14, 2020

very challenging course.

By Mr A K

Jun 4, 2020

very satisfied

By Dr. M K

May 24, 2020

Good course

By Dr. S D

May 21, 2020

Very good.

By Ranjan M

Jun 1, 2020

good one

By Chia C L

Nov 19, 2016

Good le

By Sheetal P

Dec 3, 2018

this course is mainly completely theoretical. I wish the instructor should some practical training as well, where the learners would be asked to share their experiences after finishing a task. For example, what they find different in twitter after using Facebook, or given a situation, which tool would they recommend over the other and why, etc. Even the assignments could be more on choosing a right tool, rather than recall level questions.

By Brenda M

Jul 6, 2020

The information in this course was really interesting, but the instructor brushed too quickly over topics that are assessed in the final quiz. For example, the instruction on the suggested use of leader boards in gaming (week 3) was seriously lacking. Overall, try not to cram so much in to the course, but rather focus more on the meaty aspects of the trends and technologies covered.

By Stefan R

Jul 12, 2020

this is very K-12 specific, a little more info about higher ed would have been nice. the interviews with the lecturer feel a little bit like trying very hard to change a video format without a need for that, the lecturer could have just answered these questions herself or provided a FAQ section in writing instead. Overall a good course, maybe my expectation was a little different.

By Leslie K

May 29, 2016

Better than the first, but it looks like each element was created in a single day. Some segments were repetitive and dragged on, though the instructor seemed both personable and knowledgeable. When the ONLY visual is the instructor, it gets hard to watch. An interesting model of both what to do and what not to do in creating your own online course.

By Kirsten H W

Nov 2, 2016

The class was informative, but the delivery of the material was less appealing. Much of the material could have been presented without so much of Melissa's presence and waving hands. It was very distracting. More visuals of the sites, tools, and ideas would have been better.

By Quiche A L

Nov 22, 2020

Good information, timely and applicable. But presented in a very hard to access way - long sections of prose.

By Timothy S

Jun 12, 2020

Lessons are good, some resources are outdated and don't work.

By Rita M

Mar 2, 2018

Mostly theoretical/background information about the use of tech in the classroom.

By Lucinda H

Jul 1, 2016

most of it you can't do unless you pay for it. - not sure I can even click 'complete' for the course. so not really a MOOC. - no option for collaboration.

Videos had useful content about 50% of the.

Week 4 resources was by far the best and most useful.

By Regina J

Nov 24, 2019

It sounds like one is reading a script and doing so poorly. Additionally, you complete the assignments for peer review, but no peer reviews, and you cannot review a peer.