Chevron Left
Back to Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
656 ratings
203 reviews

About the Course

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Top reviews

AB
Jul 2, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH
Aug 29, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 200 Reviews for Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

By Ulrich H

Jul 18, 2020

Great course. It has given me a map of philosophy that will enhance my future study of the discipline.

By Nahor L d S J

Dec 27, 2018

Esse curso ampliou meus conhecimentos sobre o filosofo dinamarquês. Minha experiencia foi fascinante!

By Rissa F

Aug 31, 2017

Learned a lot from this. Enjoyed the pacing and overall flow of the different topics in this course.

By Adriano A P d C

Jan 3, 2016

Great! I definitely recommend it. I'd do any other course from these group, specially on Kierkegaard!

By Muhammad A

Aug 28, 2016

This is a challenging but immensely rewarding course on too many levels to even begin listing.

By Indraj

Jun 6, 2021

A great platform for educating the people , learned scholars and fair way to get the course.

By Uilson C

Sep 5, 2016

Excelente Curso! Aulas muito interessantes e conduzidas com muita propriedade pelo Professor!

By Sandra F

Feb 17, 2017

This course is excellent, brings a lot of knowledge, reflections and is super interesting.

By Michal K

Dec 21, 2020

Very happy with this course. Professional and entertaining way to learn about philosophy

By J R T

Jan 13, 2016

Quite good! the production is superb and the script also meticulous. Worth any minute!

By Mollee P

Feb 21, 2016

Good preparation. In-depth explanation. Wild ranges of resources. Very impressive.

By Deleted A

Dec 22, 2015

Excellent Course, learned a lot, hope the person gives more courses in the future

By Dan

Jan 12, 2018

A must for anyone who is confused about the changing world we are living in.

By Mark L

Mar 1, 2016

excellent structured approach- interesting lectures, reading and assignments

By Alexander B

Jul 1, 2018

Thus ist Just fantastic! Very interesting and thoughtful course. Thank you!

By jesus m t m

Feb 11, 2017

It´s a great course, I have never enjoy a course like this never before.

By Aditya C

Jul 13, 2020

this course is like a gold mine! extremely insightful and encouraging!

By AOUDI Y

Jun 15, 2020

Great Lecture. Thanks to Professor Jon Stewart for this amazing course

By Nuno R

Nov 27, 2020

Thank you for providing this great exposition, with such good will!

By Tirna R

Sep 9, 2017

A brilliant course --- lucid, comprehensible and very interactive.

By Renato S

Jan 20, 2016

What a course! Fascinating, compelling, Thanks for the opportunity

By Leon H

Sep 25, 2020

Interesting and challenging course with relevance for modern day.

By Gabriel A

Mar 20, 2020

Deeply interesting, well documented video ! I strongly recommend

By DHARMENDRA K S

Aug 24, 2020

I want to buy this certificate so I tried but failed so help me

By Stephen R

Oct 16, 2018

Great lecturer. Insightful material. Enlightening paradigm.