Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,393 ratings
354 reviews

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA
Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC
Mar 15, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 353 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Dzmitry L

Apr 2, 2019

I like it, thanks

By Ruslan K

Dec 25, 2020

Very good course

By Tiago A

Jun 17, 2020

E

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

By José E C R

Aug 18, 2019

Great course !!

By Ali S

Jun 30, 2019

Just PERFECT...

By Kaustubh P

May 9, 2020

Simple awesome

By Puneet V

Sep 12, 2020

It's awesome!

By Vadym N

Mar 31, 2020

Excellent !!!

By Lucas K

Apr 24, 2019

The best one.

By Jesus

May 22, 2019

Great course

By Toivo S

Jan 1, 2021

Really good

By Christian

Dec 5, 2019

just great

By ayoub l

Aug 3, 2019

thanks <3

By Alexey E

Apr 23, 2019

very good

By PAPPURAJ B

Sep 22, 2020

Best one

By Kardashov F

Jan 20, 2020

awesome

By Saber E h

Mar 6, 2019

So Nice

By Ahmad e D

Nov 6, 2020

🔥🔥🔥

By walid w

Dec 11, 2018

great

By Korrakot T

Jun 6, 2020

good

By Mykhailo V

Jan 12, 2020

nice

By Andrii V

Jan 18, 2019

cool

By Josep G F

Nov 22, 2020

I liked this course but to be honest, I found that the assignments were a little difficult to understand due to the concepts they were related with. The last assignment related to the Fifteen game, it was a little complicated to understand how to get the parity of a permutation. Situations like this made the exercise a little frustating because I understood the Kotlin concepts but it wasn't enough to finish the assignments. Probably like in the real life problems :)

Just wanted to let you know, just in case can help in some way to improve the way how the assignments are provided. Maybe explain a little further about some extra concepts or something else.

Thank you for this great course!

By Alexander L

Oct 30, 2018

In terms of provided content this course is great. Provided knowledge is definitely useful for almost any Java developer. Content is greatly structured, assigments are pretty cool.

Hovewer, there is some problems with presenting and plaform: Sometimes speaker is too slow (My usual speed on this course is 1.75x) and mumble. Subtitles also not helping (at least in weeks 4-5 when I listening them). Kotlin Playground can be marked as completed only on second attempt for some reason.

Problems are not critical, so I still recomend this course.

By Pablo V

Dec 2, 2018

The course was very interesting, however, I have to say that most of the knowledge I gained it in other places like stackoverflow website. I also consider that the course was a bit hard to catch if you are not practicing Kotlin day to day. I have been studying Kotlin as an Android developer for about 3 months and some stuff were difficult to understand, I guess a person with zero experience would have pulled his hair out. As another feedback, I would have liked being more close with the staff.