Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,681 ratings
419 reviews

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA
Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC
Mar 15, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 421 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Lucas K

Apr 24, 2019

The best one.

By Jesus

May 22, 2019

Great course

By Chittumadugula J

Jan 4, 2022

nice course

By Carlos R

Jan 31, 2021

Excellent!!

By Toivo S

Jan 1, 2021

Really good

By Christian

Dec 5, 2019

just great

By firebase _

Oct 28, 2021

pro level

By Ranto N R

Mar 28, 2021

Very good

By ayoub l

Feb 16, 2021

thanks <3

By Alexey E

Apr 23, 2019

very good

By PAPPURAJ B

Sep 22, 2020

Best one

By Kardashov F

Jan 20, 2020

awesome

By Saber E

Mar 6, 2019

So Nice

By Ahmad e D

Nov 6, 2020

🔥🔥🔥

By Islam A

Feb 17, 2021

Great

By walid w

Dec 11, 2018

great

By Korrakot T

Jun 6, 2020

good

By Mykhailo V

Jan 12, 2020

nice

By Andrii V

Jan 18, 2019

cool

By Arman Z

Jul 22, 2021

I

By Michael S

Mar 13, 2021

I enjoyed this course. It gives a pretty good view into the more useful parts of the language and definitely makes a great case for a Java developer to become a Kotlin convert. My only complaints about this course are in regard to the GameOfFifteen assignment. The README on what they are looking for points to a web version of the game and basically says to implement an isEven function to check if a permutation is solvable and then implement the game interface to get everything working. The problem is this: I implemented my game just the way the web game works - specifically, my game chose a random cell to be the empty cell upon initialization, just as the web game did. I also set up my "hasWon" state to be the case where the numbers are in order AND the empty cell is in the bottom-right position, just as the web game seemed to be showing. When I ran the tests on my project, they failed. I had to do a debug deep dive to find that the tests are expecting that hasWon can be true regardless of the position of the empty cell, as long as the numbers are in order and to find that the tests expect the game to always initialize with the empty cell in the bottom-right position. It was easy enough to fix my game to match their tests rather than the example game, but I lost some time unnecessarily to this. It would probably be helpful to others who take this course if a couple simple notes in the README were added to indicate that the game should initialize with the empty cell in the bottom-right position and that the game is won if the cells are in ascending numerical order regardless of the position of the empty cell.

By Stephen P

Jul 17, 2021

O​verall, great course that accomplishes what it promises. I learned how to develop in Kotlin relying on already knowing Java. Pros: The videos are clear and concise, with high "signal-to-noise ratio". Tests during the videos were on point and exposed common misconceptions people commonly have when learning Kotlin. The solution videos after completing the weekly projects were helpful in making working code more efficient and readable. Cons: The instructions for Week 3 incorrectly specified what was required, leading me on a wild goose chase for several hours. There were only solution videos for weeks 1 to 3. It appears nobody monitors the discussion forums anymore. There's questions asked 2 years ago with many "me too"s, but no response from staff.

By Josep G F

Nov 22, 2020

I liked this course but to be honest, I found that the assignments were a little difficult to understand due to the concepts they were related with. The last assignment related to the Fifteen game, it was a little complicated to understand how to get the parity of a permutation. Situations like this made the exercise a little frustating because I understood the Kotlin concepts but it wasn't enough to finish the assignments. Probably like in the real life problems :)

Just wanted to let you know, just in case can help in some way to improve the way how the assignments are provided. Maybe explain a little further about some extra concepts or something else.

Thank you for this great course!

By Alexander L

Oct 30, 2018

In terms of provided content this course is great. Provided knowledge is definitely useful for almost any Java developer. Content is greatly structured, assigments are pretty cool.

Hovewer, there is some problems with presenting and plaform: Sometimes speaker is too slow (My usual speed on this course is 1.75x) and mumble. Subtitles also not helping (at least in weeks 4-5 when I listening them). Kotlin Playground can be marked as completed only on second attempt for some reason.

Problems are not critical, so I still recomend this course.

By Pablo V

Dec 2, 2018

The course was very interesting, however, I have to say that most of the knowledge I gained it in other places like stackoverflow website. I also consider that the course was a bit hard to catch if you are not practicing Kotlin day to day. I have been studying Kotlin as an Android developer for about 3 months and some stuff were difficult to understand, I guess a person with zero experience would have pulled his hair out. As another feedback, I would have liked being more close with the staff.