Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,343 ratings
338 reviews

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA
Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC
Mar 15, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 337 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Timoleon

Apr 7, 2020

Great course, great videos, great assignments. Five stars! Although I would like this course to have solutions for the last assignments.

By JAI G

Jul 6, 2019

make assignment slightly simple and clear . i recommend course developer team to make this course one step down for better understanding

By Javier M R

May 1, 2019

I have really enjoyed this course. It's a good way to improve my skills and I believe is going to be my next main programming language.

By MD A H Z

Dec 22, 2018

I would like to thank the instructors and Jetbrain to provide such an great course. This is the best kotlin course for java developers.

By Agustin A

Jul 20, 2020

the tests for the assignment of week 4 and week 5 were not exhaustive enough, the were passing even though the game was not playable.

By Sam H

Oct 30, 2018

Really comprehensive course. The exercises push you in a way that solidifies the lectures in a non-trivial way. Highly recommended.

By Sachin R

Jun 6, 2020

Few really nice things were covered in this course. Kotlin extensions, the lambdas and kotlin's powerful inbuilt lambda expressions

By Guillermo

Apr 12, 2020

COmpleto y profundo. A veces resultan muchas referencias nuevas en comparacion a Java, pero tomando notas puedes avanzar facilmente

By Shahab A

May 19, 2019

learning Kotlin was always something that I couldn't do it on my own, with this course I finally understand how things work and why

By Julian F B I

Feb 23, 2020

Is great course. Is not only great for learning Kotlin but teaching concepts like extension functions, high order functions, etc.

By Ood T

Jul 11, 2020

We can learn many way to Kotlin in your daily task , and make your code more clear than before.

It worth to pay your time on it.

By ATRI D

Apr 23, 2020

It was a nice course with some awesome mentors, It is good for beginners who want to join the kotliners from the Java background

By Andrei

Aug 24, 2020

Amazing! Waiting for Kotlin Pro course with coroutines! Thank you very much for such informative and still quite short course!

By Philipp M

Sep 8, 2019

Awesome course, I liked it a lot. Particularly that you added an emphasis on Kotlin style and good practices was very helpful

By Vijay M

Apr 5, 2020

Very good course to get started with Kotlin for anyone with some programming experience. Looking forward to advanced course.

By Mario L

Mar 18, 2020

Excellent course with challenging assignment. I got good understanding of the language and the reasoning behind it's design.

By Vikrant K

Nov 9, 2019

Course was great with explanations and examples.

Although I had lot of trouble submitting assignments with Edu tool on Linux.

By Csaba C

Aug 19, 2019

This corse is a great one. You'll learn the basics of Kotlin with some tips and tricks, showing what you can do with Kotlin.

By Sebastian T

Sep 13, 2020

I really liked that after some problems they give you a possible way to solve it. Looking forward the next Kotlin course !

By WANE K D

Jan 20, 2020

This is amazing. A learn a lot and the power of the lotin language. Then i will use kotlin to develop Android application.

By Isaev I

Aug 25, 2019

The lectures and the practical tasks are very good. Can't wait for more advanced course (especially one about coroutines).

By Hamza A K

Oct 21, 2019

It was a really good course for Kotlin. As an Android developer I've learned so many new features which I can use now.

By Achim B

Dec 1, 2018

I definitely like the course. Many thanks to Svetlana and Andrey and JetBrains. Looking forward to new Kotlin courses!

By Sebastian B

Jul 19, 2020

A very good course with very good explanation. Now I am able to dive deeper and start using Kotlin for real projects.