Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,910 ratings

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA

Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC

Mar 15, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!

Now I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 467 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Kusumakar D

Apr 5, 2020

The course is very well structured and introduces new concepts at a good pace. Perfect for a beginner.

By Shenghan G

May 19, 2019

Nice content and nice assignments. Wish you will have new course related to co-routine related topics.

By Bavo B

Aug 28, 2019

well explained, great way to excercise with real-world code, fast feedback via unit tests and grading

By FACUNDO F

May 20, 2020

Excellent course. The videos are of a suitable length, and the practical exercises are interesting.

By Tobias A

Jan 8, 2020

Very nice integration of the practical exercises using IntelliJ IDEA EduTools. Well done JetBrains!

By jimi s

Nov 16, 2020

Tough course, with an overwhelming degree of satisfaction after successfully completing each tasks

By Dweep J

Apr 21, 2020

I did this Course to try to understand deeplearningai's Device Based Models course. Great content!

By Riadh M

Dec 25, 2020

Good course. Tests are hard but interesting.

Thank you for the excellent effort doing this course.

By Ruth M

Dec 7, 2020

love it. only thing I find sad is that there is no video for the solution of the last assignment

By Amir A

Sep 3, 2019

assignments were too hard and not related to Kotlin learning but teaching and concept was great

By Puneet G

Nov 27, 2021

It is a very good course, I will recommend those younger than me and who wanted to learn Kotlin

By Ewald H

May 29, 2020

This was a great, thorough introduction to Kotlin and worth a look if you have Java experience.

By Nitish S

May 1, 2020

A well Defined course for Kotlin Newbie. I liked it the way they delivered the content. Thanks

By Germán L

May 31, 2020

The course was great, I learned a lot with you guys. Thank you very much Svetlana and Andrey

By Mouaad A

Nov 3, 2018

Great course, I completely recommend it for every kotlin beginner with some Java background.

By Rodrigo J V

Oct 10, 2022

Very good course with examples, in depth explanations and exercises so you keep invested.

By Wojciech M

Apr 8, 2020

It's good to know that there is no magic under the hood in all kotlin language constructs

By Eliezio O

Feb 4, 2019

Excellent approach to teach Kotlin, always showing how the compiler works under the hood.

By Ignacio C M

Dec 21, 2021

Great course, goes very in depth on how to adjust to Kotlin from a Java perspective :)

By kevin m

Sep 12, 2020

Muy buen curso, estaria muy bueno algunos subtitulos para los que no hablamos ingles.

By Cornelis A S

Oct 7, 2019

Excellent course. Good build-up and pace. The assignments are useful and fun as well.

By Việt L

May 24, 2020

As Kotlin is a new language to me, I find this course very informative. Recommended.

By Беляков Л А

Sep 8, 2019

Т.к. это мой первый курс и не с чем сравнивать, ставлю 5. В целом, довольно неплохо.

By Igor D

Aug 15, 2019

The best course ever. So well explained and so much fun doing the assignments. 10+++

By KAMALNATH P

Oct 8, 2020

Awesome course, the instructions were concise and to the point without being boring