Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
5,210 ratings
1,584 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

NZ
Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

ZY
Oct 10, 2018

Teachers are great. The course is fun and informative. I love this specialization. I look forward to completing all the courses as soon as possible. I highly recommend this course and specialization.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,544 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Nancy E M

Jan 18, 2016

Absolutely brilliant course. Covers a wide range of language acquisition techniques through the years and the advantages and disadvantages of each, as well as how each one may look like today, what has been kept, and what my be modified and how for use in today's classrooms.

By Paulina V

Apr 27, 2020

This is such an important course giving you an overview on history of teaching ESL. I would definately recommend Coursera and this TESOL course to anyone who interested in teaching ESL. Looking forward for next coursers from Arizona State University and Coursera. Thank you.

By hilda m

Nov 26, 2020

Studying with Coursera has been a great journey for me. It has given me the opportunity to recognize my shortcomings in teaching and upgrading my teaching skills/techniques as well. I want to thank everyone- our mentors, my peers and of course Coursera for the big help.

By Marina F

Mar 9, 2019

I really love this course from the get go. Again lovely graphics, engaging teachers and very useful information. Thank you for the sharing this knowledge at such a slow price! I hope education because more accessible like this in the future. Thank you for leading the way.

By Xu H

Nov 17, 2016

From this online course, I have a better understanding of theories of second language acquisiton. The techniques in this course are quite inspiring for me. In my future teaching, I will try more techniques from different theories to help my students learn English better.

By ALHASSAN H

Apr 28, 2021

really this course is amazing! I have learned a lot about the theories of second language acquisition. now I have a deep understanding of these methods, which is going to help me a lot in my future career. I am so grateful to Coursera and the instructors of this course.

By Rakhmonova M

Sep 26, 2020

At university we learned all approaches that we learned during the course. However, I did not have full information about them. Now I learned many new things and I discovered new teaching methods for myself. I really want to share them with others! Thank you very much!

By Cynthia D

Jan 8, 2021

The truly was one of the best academic courses thatr I have taken. It provides plenty of material during the session, as well as readings, and allows prep for exams. Fully prepares me to understand so far what I am getting into. Great teachers, great tech. Excellent.

By Renee H

Aug 2, 2017

I'm so grateful of this program. I'm glad that I passed and grateful of receiving financial support and internet based condition. I already share information about this program who wants to get Tesol Certificate. Thank you so much for this program. And please keep C

By Marlen J A

Jan 9, 2021

I have enjoyed this course a lot! The time dedicated to the production is incredible and there's a lot of content explained in such a friendly and entertaining way. I would love to take this course again and I will continue until I have finished this specialization.

By Nova R D R

Jan 28, 2020

As a new language teacher, this course is suited for me. I learned so many things from the approaches and techniques used back in 1880 up to early 80's. I can apply some of the techniques I learned as long as it is aligned to the needs of my students. Thank you ASU!

By Elif A

Apr 26, 2021

I have learned about teaching second language methods throughout the history with an enjoyable and interesting point of view. The construction of the videos and lesson contents were amazing and I appreciate everyone's effort. Thanks very much on such lovely course.

By Xiaosheng O

Feb 16, 2021

This is the best Tesol course for language teachers. This Chapter II is very informative regards to second language acquisition teaching methodologies. All the theories are detailed and useful. Thanks all the teachers' hardworking and contribution on this course.

By Clyde M

Sep 3, 2019

This course expands and expounds on the general information of the first in this specialization. It provides a good grasp of teaching history since 1880, with an emphasis on choosing a style of teaching independent from one specific style. Well-presented materials.

By Hema R

Jun 28, 2016

I could relate well to this course. As a Language Trainer, I have worked upon and devised several strategies explained in the Communicative and Comprehension Approaches. The purpose of teaching has become more meaningful....Kudos to Dr. Shane and his team mates..

By Jenny s

Apr 18, 2016

This is the frist time that I have enrolled MOOC course online, I have to say it's awesome, I learned a lot From ASU, this course is impressive and useful, Dr. Shane is the best tutor I've never seen who makes the class so interesting and I am eager to learn more.

By Oiday H M

May 31, 2020

Es muy útil, posee muy buena información. Este curso, como parte del programa completo para la certificación, es muy bueno, pues ayuda centrar los objetivos que uno como profesor(a) de un segundo idioma tiene que tener para cumplir apropiadamente con su trabajo.

By ylcalderon@gmail.com

Feb 2, 2018

It is really iinteresting and important to know the theories that lead the teaching and learning process in the field of learning a new language, and in here we have a very good tool to know what to apply and where to do so. Thanks for everything you taught me.

By Anselm C

Feb 9, 2016

I appreciate i have got the teaching course. and I have have learnt a lot of teaching methods and pedagogies such as Grammar Translation Approach, Audio-lingual Approach and so on. The most important thing is that it's not just a course but stimulation to me.

By Ashraqat E

May 25, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. Now, i have a clear understanding of every approach and how to use it and apply it in my classroom to gain effective result in teaching and improving student's language . Thanks for the effort. The course is exceptional.

By William X

Jun 29, 2017

Great, five stars. Since learned history of language learning and teaching, I had a new angle to think and practise English teaching. It is very helpful for me, seems my brain get a new fresh air. the world is diversity, different purposes, different methods.

By George L

Sep 15, 2020

Very interesting to learn how teaching theory has changed and the "back & forth" of language theory from one time frame to another. This peaked my interest to delve deeper into the theories to see what techniques and tools I might use to enhance my teaching.

By Nikita S

May 30, 2020

Thank you for a very informative, fun and entertaining course. I had a view laughs at Shane Dixon with his acting skits, he is a great teacher and I can tell he has a great passion for what he does. The explanations of the course content is absolutely great.

By Robert D D

Aug 29, 2018

I just can't say enough about this course so far. Historical topics can often seem quite tedious and the staff at ASU, especially Dr. Dixon go above and beyond to make it fun and engaging. I honestly can't imagine another online TESOL course being this good.

By Anna S

Sep 28, 2020

Thank you very much for such an interesting trip through the times! I was pleased to refresh my knowledge of methodology and also grab something new! I wish I had such an informative and easy to comprehend course while studying at University. Thanks a lot!